Customer Reviews for

Silent to the Bone

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Anyone There?

    Silent to the Bone is a spectacular book written by the two time Newbery medal winning author, E. L. Konigsburg. Silent to the bone is the author¿s 13th book. The author is writing in the perspective of a young teen who is on a mission to prove that his friend did not commit a crime and nothing will make him give up! So who was at fault for putting Nikki Zamborska into a coma? Was it Branwell who Vivian the au pair says it was, or was it really Vivian? What actually happened on November 25 at 2:43 p.m.? Branwell dials 911 thinking he is going to be able to tell the operator on the other end of the phone what happens. But when he tries to open his mouth nothing comes out. What is this mysterious boy really trying to say? Was he going to say that Vivian Shawcurt dropped the baby and the infant¿s breathing was funny or was he going to say that he was at fault for putting his baby sister in a coma? So Branwell¿s best friend, Connor is on quest to find out what really happened the day that Nikki was put in a coma. Even though Branwell was unable to speak to Connor, Connor finds ways to communicate with out talking. Is Connor¿s help going to make Branwell Zamborska¿s life back to how it was, or is he going to stay speechless for ever? Accelerated Reader level: 5.4 Accelerated Reader # of points: 7.0 # of pages: 261

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Silent to the Bone for older middle school students - not 6th graders.

    Silent to the Bone is a suspense filled story about a 13 year old boy caught in a web of secrets, shame, and silence. While his baby sister has been gravely injured and he is blamed, his best friend loyally speaks for him and asserts that the incident is more complex than the adults around him initially believe. While the writing is good and the discussion points many, the pivotal plot point of the boy who is struck silent by his shame is that he was sexually used by an older au pair living in the home. This mature material is well handled but is not appropriate for most 10-12 year olds. At earliest 7th grade and probably 8th grade would be best for this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    Best Book!

    This book is awsome. It makes you think, and I couldn't put it down. However, it does seem to take a certain maturity level that some people don't have (including stupid 5th grade boys in my class). But anyone who can read it should.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Hey

    I am reading this book and i cant put it down it drags me into the bool and i cant stop

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Ndhs

    This book sucks the lollipop of awsomeness!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    THRILLER!

    Silent To The Bone= A mysterious tale of friendship, care, and being to quiet for what you've done. This book is a fun to read story for most ages. Once you start reading this book, you will not want to put it down. It is a fantastic mystery on top of entertainment. In this book, two best friends Bran and Connor are just turning thirteen. Connor sees a change in Bran, but doesn't know what it is. One day news of Bran's half sister Nikki being almost dead comes about. She was dropped and got brain damage. Bran is blamed for the situation, and taken to jail. He becomes silent, and no one can find out if he really was the one, or not? This book is very thrilling and every time you pick up the book, you find out another clue. There is only one person that can get Bran to talk, and that happens to be his best friend Connor. I really enjoyed this book and would defiantly recommend this book to anyone of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Great

    I was sure that I was going to enjoy this book because my classmate told me about it. I have just finished reading this book and am trying to buy it now. Please read this book. I believe that if everyone reads this book that we will understand deaf people and children more then we do now.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Super Page Turner

    I read this not to long ago for a report in my seventh grade english class. everyone asked me, after my presentation, where themselfs can find this book. because my recommedations were somehow outstanding. For example: 1-It starts with suspence and mistery right from the beggining. 2-It will always keep you guessing after the chapter. 3-After you make your presiction about what will happen next and you read the next chapter...most of the time your predictions might be wrong, thats how much of a turning point book it is! And just because I am in seventh grade doesn't mean that old persons can't read it either!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    A winner

    I compare this to the famous To Killl a Mockingbird. Both are books that you want start again as soon as you've finished. Both are reflections on society, injustice and the difference of children from adults. They are not alike in all respects, but they are both outstanding books. You don't think you want to read a powerful, slow-moving book? Well, first of all, this is NOT slow-moving. It is full of suspense and even mystery. I guarantee that you will not put this down until you reach page 261. I am a fantasy lover, and I do not usually enjoy 'real-life' books. Yet I had no problems with this story. Do I sound like a commercial? Does it seem too good to be true? Probably. However, this is because it is very good. And I never said it was perfect. It's not. Nothing is. Doubtless you will find parts you do not enjoy when you read it. There is something mediocre in everything. However, I am confident that you will not find too many problems. I only have one last thing to say. THIS IS NOT A SIMPLE BOOK. There are underlying meanings and difficult analogies. But Konigsburg explains all as well as one can explain such pensive reflections. And this is not a boring book either. It is a story you will treasure for a long time to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Hfhf

    Cjfyfhfhhffbfhchg dvc unfdbx chfvfhf dvdd gebfb fhfgjw hffx jr hryf ccdfff ghch e ddd dvdbcbcf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great book!

    This book is a book for ages 7+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great book

    I couldnt keep my eyes off my nook. Questions, theories, and exclaaims raced through my head! This book brought a lot of excitement and i hope to read more books like this. It will be hard for any book to top this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Who????

    Vivian did it good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    MsTennisKid

    Awesome book. Nothing bad about it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Good

    Nice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Great+book

    I+loved+it+%2Cit+was+very+interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    i could not put it down it is so good that is all i can say

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Silent to ths Bone

    Silent to the Bone is a great book. I'm even doing a book report on it! I am into mysteries, and this is one. So if you like mysteries read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Silent to the bone

    I loved this book. But i dont love all the carecters. Vivian i dont like her she is sooooo evil and very mean.Conner and Meagan are incredible people on there jurney to try to cure Brawell. And Branwell is just a brother who loves his sister to much. I enjoyed Silent to the Bone and if you read it i promise you that it is an incredible book and if you dont like it that means you didn't read it correctly

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Outstanding

    This novel is OUTSTANDING n very interesting. it is also page turning, i tink erry1 should read it cuz its really koo.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2