Customer Reviews for

Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #23)

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Political thriiller and a good read--conflicting agendas of the

Political thriiller and a good read--conflicting agendas of the characters keep you on your toes--Sanford does it again and even has a Virgil Flowers cameo appearance for us readers that have followed the series.

posted by Mikeeman on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need

The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need the character background to get up to speed, it is really annoying for those who have read the series to get the same character and setting background material in every one of the books. It is a waste of t...
The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need the character background to get up to speed, it is really annoying for those who have read the series to get the same character and setting background material in every one of the books. It is a waste of time and serves primarily as filler material. If you go through the book and pull out all the stuff that is background and has been shared in previous books, you will be amazed at how much of the material is filler. Just like food leftovers, the old material has gone stale and is not appealing.

This installment of the Prey series trots out a completely unrealistic number of former characters from the Prey, Kidd and Flowers series. Heck, it got so bad that I was seriously expecting Anna and Creek from the Night Crew to show up.

Also, the constant theme of hiding one's identity by killing anyone who is a link is both trite and simplistic. Quite frankly, I got into the series because John Sandford was able to develop interesting characters with novel thought patterns and actions but the last few books are really getting weak and the large amount of killing is detracting from the story and character development that set him apart as a writer.

This is the book where the Davenport series "jumps the shark" and I can no longer recommend it to others.

posted by GM_likes_reading on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need

    The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need the character background to get up to speed, it is really annoying for those who have read the series to get the same character and setting background material in every one of the books. It is a waste of time and serves primarily as filler material. If you go through the book and pull out all the stuff that is background and has been shared in previous books, you will be amazed at how much of the material is filler. Just like food leftovers, the old material has gone stale and is not appealing.

    This installment of the Prey series trots out a completely unrealistic number of former characters from the Prey, Kidd and Flowers series. Heck, it got so bad that I was seriously expecting Anna and Creek from the Night Crew to show up.

    Also, the constant theme of hiding one's identity by killing anyone who is a link is both trite and simplistic. Quite frankly, I got into the series because John Sandford was able to develop interesting characters with novel thought patterns and actions but the last few books are really getting weak and the large amount of killing is detracting from the story and character development that set him apart as a writer.

    This is the book where the Davenport series "jumps the shark" and I can no longer recommend it to others.

    20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Tedious read, at best

    Right to the point- Boring, Boring, Boring!
    John Sandford, if you're tired of writing the prey books, quit writing them. And those "Kidd" people, what were they doing in there? They didn't fit.
    The Flowers series is a lot more interesting, and I'm disappointed in this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Exciting and fun

    Sandfords ar the top of his game still. Quite a few unexpected other charaters turn up, and are just as brilliant as they were in their own books

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    Political thriiller and a good read--conflicting agendas of the

    Political thriiller and a good read--conflicting agendas of the characters keep you on your toes--Sanford does it again and even has a Virgil Flowers cameo appearance for us readers that have followed the series.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    I have read all the Prey series and the Kidd series as well as t

    I have read all the Prey series and the Kidd series as well as the Flower series. I thought both series had gone off the rails with Mad River and Stolen Prey.I seriously disagree with the reviewer who thinks the series has become too scripted.Silken Prey put the series back on track.I recommend this book to others

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Lucas is as cool and interesting as usual. Just want to say I ha

    Lucas is as cool and interesting as usual. Just want to say I haven't grown tired of the Prey books! Love Lucas!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Good job from Sandford.

    I am a huge fan of The Prey Series and I liked this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    loved reading about Kidd and lauren......we need a new Kidd nove

    loved reading about Kidd and lauren......we need a new Kidd novel!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    I am tired of John Sanford

    Get a new character. Davenport is annoying.

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Actually I would like to have given it a 2 1/2 rating. Where did

    Actually I would like to have given it a 2 1/2 rating. Where did our earlier Davenport books? The ones that had you staying up at night biting your nails waiting for what was coming up next.John, I believe that you are all storied out, if you can't come up with a sit on the edge of your seat book please don't write it. I so love the Davenport books and feel that he has done the character an injustice.I'm sure that once again I will pre-order his next Prey book and then be dissapointed again. I sure hope that I'm wrong.If you are a Prey lover you might want to take warning, even might want to wait until it is in the library or $2.99 books. I was really let down with this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Another good Sanford

    Good story with a lot of old friends. Would like to hear more about how kidd snd lauren are doing. MargeL

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Another good read by sandford

    Loved the book looking forward to when he finally gets tg

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Money

    Way to much money how are we sopost to enjoy the book when we have to spent that much!:(

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    To much mony

    :(

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Long time reader of all the Sandford series. I like the referenc

    Long time reader of all the Sandford series. I like the reference and involvement of Virgil Flowers and was OK with the Kidd connection until the end of the book. I like to "root" for Kidd, but the story with Laren didn't fit well with the rest of the story.


    And I didn't like the way the political sory concluded. I call this book a miss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Vynx

    Ooh.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Some people have no respect for politicians, and in this novel t

    Some people have no respect for politicians, and in this novel the author certainly gives the reader reasons to feel similarly. One character is a Democratic candidate for U.S. Senator from Minnesota who will do anything to win, and does: planting child pornography on her opponent’s computer in his campaign office, and even condoning three murders. In the middle of this mess, Lucas Davenport, a detective with Minnesota’s Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, is appointed by the Governor to determine whether the pornographic material was there because someone had installed it to embarrass its owner, or if it was real.

    Davenport has less than a week to find the truth since the discovery of the material swings potential voters to the challenger. The plot then develops into a relatively standard police procedural, hampered, of course, by the aforementioned murders, which are cover-ups to prevent Lucas from finding out the facts.

    While the story seems a little far-fetched, it is an interesting thesis: Politics is really a dirty business and the author takes the opportunity to espouse what are probably some of his own views along the way. But somehow, the length of the book wore on this reader, and the conclusion was unsatisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Lpg

    So boring! Knew the ending 10 pages in because the authir reveals it! Theres a day and a half I'll never back in my life...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Another great Davenport read!

    As always, John Sandford doesn't disappoint! Another great read, though, surprisingly, a political thriller. If you love the Davenport series, you'll enjoy this new addition. It contains the usual smart and witty banter we've come to know and expect! I love how he has written and continues to write these characters!!! On a side note - I would be remiss if I did not mention that I thought it would pick up where the previous prey book left off (as that ended in a cliff hanger) and it did not. This book was a completely different story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    i think he's getting tired...and the editors aren't spotting con

    i think he's getting tired...and the editors aren't spotting continuity issues like they should...his interview comments about using Soucheray to pen some parts of the stories was revealing...since it'sa ll about the money we'll keep buying them but they just don't give that same rush as following Lucas or Virgil first did. Sorry. Recommend only with reservations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12