Customer Reviews for

Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #23)

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Exciting and fun

Sandfords ar the top of his game still. Quite a few unexpected other charaters turn up, and are just as brilliant as they were in their own books

posted by Mike_Mick on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need

The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need the character background to get up to speed, it is really annoying for those who have read the series to get the same character and setting background material in every one of the books. It is a waste of t...
The series has become too scripted. While new readers may need the character background to get up to speed, it is really annoying for those who have read the series to get the same character and setting background material in every one of the books. It is a waste of time and serves primarily as filler material. If you go through the book and pull out all the stuff that is background and has been shared in previous books, you will be amazed at how much of the material is filler. Just like food leftovers, the old material has gone stale and is not appealing.

This installment of the Prey series trots out a completely unrealistic number of former characters from the Prey, Kidd and Flowers series. Heck, it got so bad that I was seriously expecting Anna and Creek from the Night Crew to show up.

Also, the constant theme of hiding one's identity by killing anyone who is a link is both trite and simplistic. Quite frankly, I got into the series because John Sandford was able to develop interesting characters with novel thought patterns and actions but the last few books are really getting weak and the large amount of killing is detracting from the story and character development that set him apart as a writer.

This is the book where the Davenport series "jumps the shark" and I can no longer recommend it to others.

posted by GM_likes_reading on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Actually I would like to have given it a 2 1/2 rating. Where did

    Actually I would like to have given it a 2 1/2 rating. Where did our earlier Davenport books? The ones that had you staying up at night biting your nails waiting for what was coming up next.John, I believe that you are all storied out, if you can't come up with a sit on the edge of your seat book please don't write it. I so love the Davenport books and feel that he has done the character an injustice.I'm sure that once again I will pre-order his next Prey book and then be dissapointed again. I sure hope that I'm wrong.If you are a Prey lover you might want to take warning, even might want to wait until it is in the library or $2.99 books. I was really let down with this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Some people have no respect for politicians, and in this novel t

    Some people have no respect for politicians, and in this novel the author certainly gives the reader reasons to feel similarly. One character is a Democratic candidate for U.S. Senator from Minnesota who will do anything to win, and does: planting child pornography on her opponent’s computer in his campaign office, and even condoning three murders. In the middle of this mess, Lucas Davenport, a detective with Minnesota’s Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, is appointed by the Governor to determine whether the pornographic material was there because someone had installed it to embarrass its owner, or if it was real.

    Davenport has less than a week to find the truth since the discovery of the material swings potential voters to the challenger. The plot then develops into a relatively standard police procedural, hampered, of course, by the aforementioned murders, which are cover-ups to prevent Lucas from finding out the facts.

    While the story seems a little far-fetched, it is an interesting thesis: Politics is really a dirty business and the author takes the opportunity to espouse what are probably some of his own views along the way. But somehow, the length of the book wore on this reader, and the conclusion was unsatisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Eksk

    Ik.sjddnzrdkr

    1 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Extus Twilight

    Pounced and the mouse and kiled it with a sharp nip on its neck. Gtg. Clarinet lessons. Sorry!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Icetear

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The overall storyline of this book is good. You have a US senato

    The overall storyline of this book is good. You have a US senator candidate framing the guy she's running against. The characters are good an honest. I especially like the villains, the senator and her two bodyguards. I did not like the character Kid and his wife Loren. Their computer abilities are a little too convenient, like a plot device to allow the author to get out of any touch jams. Another problem is that Sandford developes the two body guards very well. They were so badass I was expecting a good showdown at the end, but like the Kid character, the demise of these two badasses is a little too anticlimatic and convenient.  Overall, this book is a bit of a let down after the last five or six in the series being so good. Typically, Sandford characters and scenarios are both exciting and honest. I'll keep reading. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Good read

    Silken Prey had a good storyline. It was uncomplicated, easy to follow, and cleaned up nicely at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    A Lovely Read

    An exciting finish. I was not sure where it would end until I got into the last two chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not so sure ~~~~

    I have been an avid reader of the Lucus Davenport series; having read most all of them. But I have to admit this book just wasn't up to par. I kept saying; "alright already! get on with it!". To say it dragged on and on was an understatement. The best thing about this book was bringing Virgel Flowers in. The book/story-line didn't really pick up till 1/3 thru. I hate to say Sandford is losing it. Maybe it's just that he's over-done the Davenport series. I thoroughly enjoy his Virgel Flowers series and they are written quite well too. So hopefully, John Sandford will have a come-back and bring back his brilliant writing of Lucas Davenport. I miss the action-packed antics that were so charming to Lucas Davenport!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Love Sandford!

    I love Sandford's books and enjoyed this one but it's not his best. If you're already a fan you'll enjoy it but if it's your first taste of John Sandford, try another of his books; this is not his most exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2