Customer Reviews for

The Silmarillion

Average Rating 4.5
( 471 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

It's the Bible of Middle Earth and the Iliad of Modern Fantasy

What can you say about a book that literally creates an entire world starting with God and the Void, the creation of the angels, the dawn of life and ending thousands of years later after covering the foundation stories for nearly all Anglo-German myths? You'd have to s...
What can you say about a book that literally creates an entire world starting with God and the Void, the creation of the angels, the dawn of life and ending thousands of years later after covering the foundation stories for nearly all Anglo-German myths? You'd have to say it was the work of the world's premiere literary genius. Then when you read it, you'd find that the language matches the material the way harmony complements melody. This is simply one of the most amazing and beautiful books in English literature. The stories and the poetry will stay with you forever. Its sweep is so enormous, it makes Tolkien's own "Lord of the Rings" seem like a campfire story. If you love fantasy, you must read it.

posted by Major_Kelly on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Long and boring.

This book is very hard to get into. It might be better is it is actually read, but to listen to it...very confusing and boring. I didn't even finish it. I love his other books, but this one...too much. It was more like a history book or a documentary.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 472 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's the Bible of Middle Earth and the Iliad of Modern Fantasy

    What can you say about a book that literally creates an entire world starting with God and the Void, the creation of the angels, the dawn of life and ending thousands of years later after covering the foundation stories for nearly all Anglo-German myths? You'd have to say it was the work of the world's premiere literary genius. Then when you read it, you'd find that the language matches the material the way harmony complements melody. This is simply one of the most amazing and beautiful books in English literature. The stories and the poetry will stay with you forever. Its sweep is so enormous, it makes Tolkien's own "Lord of the Rings" seem like a campfire story. If you love fantasy, you must read it.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    A must-read for Tolkien fans!

    More than just back-story for The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, The Silmarillion stands on its own, with many fantastic and, yes, tragic, stories from the mind of J.R.R. Tolkien.

    This has been a favorite of mine for many years, and I recently downloaded the Nook version. My biggest disappointment with this version is the omission of the map. It seems to me that the ebook format has much more potential for hyperlinking than what is currently offered. For example, when a geographical reference is made in the text, hyperlink it to the map!

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Lord of the Rings: A History

    I finally finished this book, after picking it up and putting it down a couple times. Thats the trick, if you can make it through the first 50-80 pages then you will really like the book after finishing it. Those first few chapters are a little hard to read because of all the different names and places etc. But the majority of the book is easy to read and very informative into the background of the LOTR world, before the 3rd Age. It is basically a history of the world Tolkein created for the LOTR series. But there is some action in it, with some great stories of characters more amazing than those of LOTR. It really helped me understand the movies. I plan on reading The Hobbit and then the LOTR series. I recomend this book to anyone who appreciates and enjoys the amazing imagination of JRR Tolkein.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best

    No lies saying this is the Bible of Middle-Earth. If you are a Tolkien fan, than this book is definitely for you. The first page had me extremely intrigued about the beginning of Tolkien's brilliant world.

    It tells of many stories, beginnings, and ends that are captivating for fantasy-loving readers. It is one of my favorite books and I recommend it to anyone interested in adventure and knowledge of Middle-Earth.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LotR fans will rejoice!

    Lord of the Rings fans will fall in love with the Silmarillion. This book takes the reader back to the beginning of time, before Middle Earth as we know it, and gives a whole new depth to the original Lord of the Rings story. There are a lot of new characters as well as new parts of Middle Earth to remember, but the tales will keep you engrossed.

    I can't say enough about this book! This isn't just for Tolkien fans either, all fantasy fans will love this book. I CAN guarantee this will become a favorite part of your library collection!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Glaurung Father of all Dragons

    "And they lie ye that say that we of our part do not honour the valor of foes".

    Having accomplished the errand of his master Glaurung went about laying waste and denying the Orcs their plunder.

    I was going to say something profound but in the face of this work I am reduced to mere plagirism.

    Nothing further.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    A fantastic book, but a novel it is not.

    The book is highly interesting for major Tolkien fans, such as myself. I would definitely recommend it if you noticed the reference's to a past history in The Lord of the Rings. But if you are a casual reader who is looking for another book like The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit then this book is not for you. I began reading this book a long time ago, but had to put it down. I had only read the Lord of the rings once, and was not that interested in the history. But a few months later after I had reread the Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit I picked the book up again and read it. Some of the reviewers here have called this a fantastic novel, it is not. Fantastic it is but I cannot call it a 'novel' as a novel imply s a singular plot with character development. This book does not have almost an character development. To some it may even seem boring. Some the story reads much like a history book, but a oddly interesting and majestic history book at that! If you have read the History of Middle-Earth and haven't had a chance to read this book, buy it. Now.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    A Fun Challenge

    I haven't finished this book yet, but what I've read has been fabulous. It's a fun challenge, like I said before. If you're looking for an easy-to-read Elvish love story, then just rent it from the library and read the chapter on Luthien and Beren. But if you're serious about understanding the details of Tolkien's imaginary world and love detail - like me, then you'll love this. It has been so much fun and now the hinted-at ancient tales in Lord of the Rings are finally making sense - which is so exciting.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Jhgf

    Best book EVER

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Silmarillion, written by J.R.R. Tolkien, is an excellent novel. The book makes the world of The Lord of the Rings so much more life-like when it accounts the history of Middle-Earth, or Arda, and when you realize that many figures in that history are mentioned in other books that take place in the world of Arda. I love how it explains how Sauron came to be and how it mentions elven characters from The Lord of the Rings, which truly makes them feel ageless. In addition, Tolkien put two appendixes in the back of the book. One of them features names and events in the book, and offers page numbers for reference and gives translation of any foreign names. The second appendix has elvish words and parts of names with their translation, possibly so you can go through the book and translate names yourself, or even make your own elvish names. Any true Tolkien fan should own this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Long and boring.

    This book is very hard to get into. It might be better is it is actually read, but to listen to it...very confusing and boring. I didn't even finish it. I love his other books, but this one...too much. It was more like a history book or a documentary.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Great book, ok nook

    If you are a LOTR fan, I highly suggest this book. It can get confusing though so I would suggest a physical book over the nook book so that it is easier to flip back to the index and family trees because it is needed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Gorgeous book!

    The Silmarillion is an amazing story, though not for the literary lightweight.

    But this particular edition is beautiful. It reads well, with large print and fabulous illustrations. It fits with the large, illustrated trilogy and Hobbit editions and they make a lovely set.

    If you like collected beautiful books, then this is a great one to add to your collection.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    By Lifthrasir; Bookmaster

    By Lifthrasir; Bookmaster
    I am an extreme fan of Tolkien, so im going to be a little biast. But, turn away my biast, and youll see that even though its thick, it is truly awesome. Here, we see more allegory: God, cration of angels, heaven, and the earth; also, the rebellion of Satan and his angels. But, even if you arent a religious person like I am; if you love the classics (by classics, i mean Homers Iliad and Odyssey) and if you love fantasy and if you love Tolkien, this book is for you.
    Buy it. Its a great book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Meh...

    I enjoyed learning about the world of Middle-earth, don't get me wrong. I learned a great deal and loved being swept away with Morgoth's reign of terror and lies. I loved how the elves, men, orcs, and dwarves were created. I love how Tolkein created his own little world using only a void and song. However, I do not love how many names are in the book. I believe it to be tedious when I have to stop and pronounce the name every few lines, if not words. Frankly, it just takes too much time to read. However, I do recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning more about Middle-earth and how everything came to be. It's interesting nonetheless. Just.....long.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Tough read

    I am re-reading the series and wanted to read this first. This reads nothing like his books. It's like notes expanded. Good stories, but almost dry. Still worthwhile, perhaps reading it more times will help. Unfortunately the maps and charts that would have help the read, were found at the end of the book. Checking those out as you read might help clarify all the names/places, etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Read

    My penis

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    One of the greatest fiction works of all time

    This book is so wonderfully written and the struggles in the book are so wonderfully thought out and portrayed. This is probably my favorite fiction book of all time, I recently just read it a second time and I think I loved it more than the first. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The beginning of it all.......

    You CAN enjoy Tolkien's later writings without this, but with it you will have a much better understanding of everything that was to come after it. Even though it wasn't published until long after the big hits (The Hobbit, and The Lord of The Rings), it is the "Genesis" of it all! Tolkien's son Christopher has compiled and edited a bulk of JRR's old writings to give us a window into the past. This book has tied up all the loose ends in my mind and given me a much fuller perspective on the later writings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    I couldnt finish the book

    It was dull, it was like a high school text book. Filled with information but no story. Focus your energy on other books.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 472 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24