Customer Reviews for

The Silmarillion

Average Rating 4.5
( 485 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(336)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

It's the Bible of Middle Earth and the Iliad of Modern Fantasy

What can you say about a book that literally creates an entire world starting with God and the Void, the creation of the angels, the dawn of life and ending thousands of years later after covering the foundation stories for nearly all Anglo-German myths? You'd have to s...
What can you say about a book that literally creates an entire world starting with God and the Void, the creation of the angels, the dawn of life and ending thousands of years later after covering the foundation stories for nearly all Anglo-German myths? You'd have to say it was the work of the world's premiere literary genius. Then when you read it, you'd find that the language matches the material the way harmony complements melody. This is simply one of the most amazing and beautiful books in English literature. The stories and the poetry will stay with you forever. Its sweep is so enormous, it makes Tolkien's own "Lord of the Rings" seem like a campfire story. If you love fantasy, you must read it.

posted by Major_Kelly on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Long and boring.

This book is very hard to get into. It might be better is it is actually read, but to listen to it...very confusing and boring. I didn't even finish it. I love his other books, but this one...too much. It was more like a history book or a documentary.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 486 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    It was different, definitely

    You see, I made the mistake of not reading this before I read Hobbit and the LOTR. So when I read those, I got a bit confused. Anyway, some of the stories are really cool, like Beren and Luthien, and some are really sad(and a bit gross),like Turin Turambar and Niniel. the part that I was most familiar with was of the account of the events with Isildur and the beginning of the third age. Anyway, a great thing to read if you want to get into Tolkien and LOTR.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    The 1st Age

    This work covers the first age of middle earth. If you have read the triology but have not read this you are missing out. It is a prequel covering the background back to the first age which covers the rings history; and how we got to the great confilicts of the third age. The trilogy of the Lord of the Rings covers the third age of middle earth only. This work fills it all in a good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Excellent collection of 1st & 2nd age tales!

    For fans of LOTR, this is an essential collection.
    I say 'collection' for that is what it is. Be forewarned, this is not a singular narrative, like The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit. It is a collection of tales from earlier times, a quintessential back-story to the Hobbit / Lord of the Rings. Not even finished in Tolkien's lifetime, it was compiled and edited by his son. But don't let that put you off; if you appreciate the depth of the other works, you will love this. It spans the beginning of time up to the 3rd age laid out in Hobbit & LOTR, all laid out in epic proportions, in varying styles, some vague & remote, some immediate and passionate.
    Highlights include the two other unions of elves and men, (adding poignancy to the story of Aragorn & Arwen), the rise of Sauron from the servant of Morgoth (first Dark Lord), and the coming of the Istari (wizards).
    These are just a few of the tales that entertain on their own merits and illuminate the many references in the 3rd age works.
    Perhaps not for everyone, yet this almost Biblical style tome will surely please any serious Tolkien or fantasy fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    The Silmarillion

    Tolkien considered this book his best work, and after I read it, I could see why. The book starts off with Illuvitar who created Middle Earth. The Valar are his angels, and one angel who is named Melkor or his more common name Morgoth. The Silmarillion is about how Morgoth takes over Middle Earth and tells how the elves and men fight back. It gives you a very good perspective on Middle Earth. If you are a Tolkien fan, I highly reccommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Definitely NOT for the non Tolkienien roadie.

    Although I am a strong fan of Tolkien's work, I found reading this book to be like having a root canal! Although there are occasional paragraphs that have interesting descriptions, in general, it seems to be the ramblings of the author as he conceptualized his fantasy world, and before he had really organized it and reduced it to a coherent story. After reading it, I am not surprised that he was not able to publish it in his lifetime.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    The Bible of Middle-Earth

    Nerds unite! No, seriously though As a fan of all genres I must say that this book is a fantasy like none before or since! Dune, anything by L Ron Hubbard, and even the Star Wars saga (yeah I said it) all wish they reached this level of imagination, vivid and complete detail, and beautiful prose--with a dash of poetry--but none come close *Amen*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant epic myth - must read!

    Tolkien considered the Silmarillion to be his finest work, and it does not disappoint. A must read for any LotR fan as it expands the world of Middle Earth while containing great stories of its own. In many ways this work has even more depth and grandness than LotR, and more spiritual/Christian parallels. Despite this, though, and contrary to many reviews, this is still an easily accessible book, with characters and stories easily ralatable to and highly engaging. Tolkien has created a fantasy world that has no parallel in any literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Poo poo

    Poo poo

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Beautiful

    My Fiancé and I met when I sat down next to her before a class. She was writing in Tengwar. We bonded over Tolkien, and today, though we're at long distance, we keep close by reading each other this book over the phone every night.

    The wordcraft is absolutely beautiful, and the stories are interesting and meaningful. Tolkien (a very devout catholic) would be very angry to hear me say this, but I prefer it many times over against the Bible as a source of meaning and of meditative thoughts about life and history. Sorry, Tolkien, but a book exists independent of its author once it's complete!

    If you haven't read this book, do pick it up. If you've tried and failed, get a friend or loved one to read it with you, aloud. Make a habit of it, and you'll both look forward to reading together. It really is worth the effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Wow

    Great book guys you gotta read it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A very hard read, but worth it, for a Tolkein fan. I'm 13, but

    A very hard read, but worth it, for a Tolkein fan. I'm 13, but I was able to read it, albeit with some difficulty. It's impossible to keep track of all the names and places, especially when each has 3 or 4 different names for the different languages and nations. I'm definitely going to be rereading it a few times, (though maybe not immediately). I have not even half way grasped the concepts, characters, plots, and places Tolkien has created in this book. Although not half as exciting as The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit, it gives those books more depth and history to look into. This is not the book to read if you want an exciting plot, or good, well developed characters, this book has too long of a timespan to get into character development. But for those who want to learn more about Tolkiens world of Middle-Earth, in addition to the worlds of Aman and Numenor, this is the book. Excellent!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Dwarves death

    Did it talk about the destruction of the dwarves like i heard it did?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Not a troll

    Ihh jjvvibvhghddehfrhffghfjt rhcnrjcnrjvntj rhfecrmldjdvavdhdngn

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    The Silmarillion by J.R.R Tolkien should be considered a history

    The Silmarillion by J.R.R Tolkien should be considered a history book. Tolkien’s development of ten-thousand years of made-up history leaves the majority of people unwilling to finish the book and most likely confused and with a headache. Tolkien narrates the majority of the book, only having a couple of scenes with dialog. The story also shifts points of view several times, discussing individually the large magnitudes of characters that were in the book. This book was not intended to be a light read, and many people are discouraged from reading it when they see the size of the book and the level of difficulty.
    Tolkien makes several biblical allusions in the Silmarillion in order to help develop the story and the world of Middle-Earth. He establishes the creator of elves and men within the first book, and begins to tell the tale of the Silmarils in the Quenta Silmarillion. His use of diverse characters helps to add a three-dimensional approach to the book. Tolkien also describes the characters when introducing them, which helps add diversity to the image that he’s portraying, but can also confuse the reader. 
    Tolkien also used an immense amount of imagery to describe his world and the events that occurred. This worked very effectively, but also caused for some confusion in those who couldn’t understand the colloquial language that he used. There were moments when the phrasing of sentences were difficult to comprehend, and that took away from the pure genius of the book.
    Overall, the Silmarillion is an essential read for any Lord of the Rings fan. It is very well-written and develops the made-up history of a made-up world to perfection. Not recommended for the average person however.
    ~Note: I was forced to write this for an English Project. Don't downvote or upvote plox~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Its very true what they say...!

    Think of it this way. LOTR is a flag flying at half mast with a breeze. But now, the Silmarillion comes along flying with a full gale blowing and shes at full mast. That is the difference. This book is history, but Tolkien never makes it boring. It is the richest boldest sadest lovliest and the most epic powerful writing that you could ever find. Like a needle in a haystack this type of writing is very hard to find. Really this is the essence of Tolkiens heart of writing. If what i have said does not persuade you to atleast borrow this book then I aint sure what would! Yeah you have known Sauron but you have yet to read about his former master and the greater evil

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    To: GARBAGE

    Unlike you, many people admire his work because everything he wrote was intriguing and completly original. Unlike other authors *COUGH J.K Rowling *COUGH who copy his ideas as well as others. By the way, if anyone else is reading this review, it was an excellent story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Do not listen to this ignoramus who called this book garbage, either he did not read this work of literature, or his mind was too small to comprehend this great book by JRR Tolkien, one of if not the best authors of all time. If you enjoyed this book, read the Hobbit or the Lord Of The Rings trilogy. Remember, just because someone does not like something, that does not mean that you will come to the same conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing book from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book by j r r tolkien!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    For Serious Tolkien readers only

    If you are a large fan of Tolkiens works, this is a must read if you are able to comprehend sentences like, Seest thou and dost you knowest that Melkor has declared war upon thy province.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 486 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25