Customer Reviews for

The Silurian Book One: The Fox and the Bear

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite King Arthur of the Ca

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    King Arthur of the Camelot legend was a dark-eyed, dark-haired Silurian as was his mother Igrain and her family before her. "The Silurian: Book One" begins with Arthur's teenage years as he, aged 15 and called The Bear, and his close friend, sixteen year old narrator Prince Bedwyr called the Fox, go into battle against the Germani and Angli foes and win. Arthur suffers a head wound which leaves him with seizures but Arthur nonetheless is becoming a brilliant commander in battle. As his power grows and he is given his own command, Arthur, already rejected by his father Lord Pengragon and taken in by Bedwyr's father, King Pedrawg, fears further rejection. Prince Bedwyr doesn't love battle the way Arthur does and he runs away, hiding for months. However, Arthur rescues him and gets his penalties lessened. As Arthur grows up, he learns that he has actually killed a Saxon king and prizes the beautiful sword he finds during one of his battles. What is next in the young years of the man who would be King?

    Arthurian legends abound in "The Silurian: Book One" and so it must be added to the reading list. With an innate feeling for the language of that long-ago time, author L.A. Wilson gives the reader a good picture of what King Arthur was like as a teenager, growing into the legend he would become in adulthood. Arthur's character as well as those of his close friends Prince Bedwyr and Medraut, Ambrosius, Rhonwen, and Aurelius are all well-created and totally believable. Arthur, despite wounds and fevers, becomes great before the reader's eyes. "The Silurian: Book Two" will be highly anticipated and the same will be the case of any other sequels in what looks to be an excellent series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    different version of the Arturian legen

    Not the Guenevere and Sir Lancelot version, but a story of Arthur's youth and training, of brothers-in-arms, battles, and the day-to-day life of a war host under Arthur's command. It does not glorify war and makes me understand for the first time the bond that soldiers have after going through extreme tests of physical and emotional endurance. I could not put this book down and read deep into the night. Purchased Book Two in the series and am halfway through its 914 page already. I will probably buy Book Three soon. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Couldn't put it down...

    The author obviously did tons of research, which makes this story feel very believable. The tension between the main characters - Arthur, Bedwyr, and Medraut - keeps what could be a long drawn out historical piece moving at a quick pace. And the battle scenes are just... wow. I finished this book when I should've been working, if that tells you anything.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    This book really surprised me. The author did two remarkable thi

    This book really surprised me. The author did two remarkable things. The first was doing an extraordinary job of setting the story in the period of transition between Roman influence and the rise of a British kingdom. Many historians think this period is where the legend of Arthur began, but L.A. Wilson does a superb job of fleshing out the fabric of that time, resettling elements of the Arthurian legends into a specific historical context. The second remarkable thing was re-conceiving the main characters. Arthur is a young, ambitious genius plagued by seizures, Medraut is a tortured and cruel but brilliant and unstable personality, and Bedwyr is melancholic, falling into darkness at times. At first, it sounds strange to a modern reader, but these kinds of personality quirks are truly the stuff of history, and also give the story quite an edge. The dynamics among the three characters are unusual and interesting. You want to see what happens next.

    The writing is excellent and well-paced. Early in the book I thought the characters were going to be shallow, but by the end you realize they were just very young. The increasing complexity in the last chapters of both characters and politics is very promising for the rest of the series. I very much look forward to reading more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    L.A.Wilson has achieved the impossible and given new life to Kin

    L.A.Wilson has achieved the impossible and given new life to King Arthur. Farewell to the golden haired middle manager trying to be good, noble and 'nice'. Here is Arthur the Silurian with 'thick straight black hair and ebony-black eyes', emerging from the darkness of a bitter childhood to win his first battle at the age of fifteen.

    'The Fox and the Bear' is the first in a series which tell the story of the last defence of Britain against the invading Saxons, and of the old gods against the 'misery and sin and guilt' brought by missionary Christians. The books are narrated by Arthur's foster brother Bedwyr, Prince of Gwynedd 'though I always preferred to be called the Fox, the name Arthur had given me when we were boys.I was the Fox and he was the Bear.' It is the Fox's love that helps Arthur to survive the cruelty of his abusive father Uthyr.

    I was completely drawn into this book by the passion and intensity of Bedwyr's words. He gives us the truth of his life - incredible courage, wild rebellion, the horrible intimacy of killing another person in battle, deep suffering, sexual passion and love. For me love is the power of this book. The love between Arthur and Bedwyr, love between fellow warriors facing death on the battlefield, love between parent and child, and sexual love unrestricted by gender.'Love those you are with while you live, and have no care for those who judge you, for the judges do not have to live your life.'

    L.A. Wilson is my favourite author, an artist and a poet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Good story

    This is an interesting story that held my interest. Looking forward to Book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this book, but the characters are just like most men, dense and they can't solve problems maturely. Which make these men very realistic. I would read the rest of these stories but he broke them up into so many different books. And that might break my wallet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    I really felt like i was thete. Great usage of details!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Awful

    I forced myself through the first 94 pages and couldn't take it anymore. The book is poorly written, and the dialogue is shallow and amateurish. The constant whining of the narrative character (Bedwyr) is what finally did it for me, though. Through the last 10 pages of the few I did read, all I could think was, "You want some cheese with that whine?" Juvenile readers who don't mind drama queens might find some use for this book, but adult readers shouldn't waste their time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Exceptional Rendition

    Most definitely not the usual Arthurian legend and at the last bit of book Nine I find myself impatient for book ten which, as the last in the series, promises to be a bittersweet experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Emotional perfection

    This book is one of the best books i have ever read. It makes me want more. This series is impossible to put down. It made me cry more than once and makes me think about life.
    I promise you this series is more than worth your time and you should read it.

    The author really brought the charates to life. Each has their own wonderful and distinct personality that youvwill fall in love with. It is well written and hasbthrilling action scenes alon with some scenes that im sure will touch your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Beautiful and Devastating

    After finishing volume 9 of this series, I know what true beauty and affectiveness this novel has accomplished. I am not an emotional guy and have been known to laugh uproriously at "touching" scenes in some tearjerkers. But I cried like a little girl in places of these books and look forward with longing to the last installment, even though I know it will be emotionally devastating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    enjoyable

    cannot wait to finish the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice read

    Hard to put down. Moving on to Book Two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3