BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Silver

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My review

This book is... different, but if you like drama and apocolyptic kind of books, then you'll like this. It's a twist on the classic zombie theme. It's pretty entertaining as well.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This YA apocalyptic/horror/sci-fi was definitely fast-paced and

This YA apocalyptic/horror/sci-fi was definitely fast-paced and took place over less than 24 hours. Just don't get too attached to the characters. As stated above, some will live and some will die.

The setting, a secluded boarding school, was perfect for this story. ...
This YA apocalyptic/horror/sci-fi was definitely fast-paced and took place over less than 24 hours. Just don't get too attached to the characters. As stated above, some will live and some will die.

The setting, a secluded boarding school, was perfect for this story. Since there were more students than adults, some of the older kids were shoved into leadership roles whether they wanted them or not. With the boarding school being so secluded, the characters were mostly cut off from any help beyond their school ground walls and had to rely on each other.

Initially, I was disappointed in the stereotypical cast of teenage characters - angst-ridden guy, princess, genius nerd, bully, jealous best friend - but I have to admit, the author went a step further and let the reader see inside the character's minds to gain a better understanding of them and see how they developed by the end of the story.

The explanation for the origin of the infection seemed a little thin, but there were definitely some tense moments in the story and it held my attention. Although I'm not sure if there is a planned sequel to this novel, the ending left it wide open to continue the story.

I would recommend this quick read for people who enjoy sci-fi/apocalyptic books with more emphasis on action.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

posted by tpolen on March 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    This YA apocalyptic/horror/sci-fi was definitely fast-paced and

    This YA apocalyptic/horror/sci-fi was definitely fast-paced and took place over less than 24 hours. Just don't get too attached to the characters. As stated above, some will live and some will die.

    The setting, a secluded boarding school, was perfect for this story. Since there were more students than adults, some of the older kids were shoved into leadership roles whether they wanted them or not. With the boarding school being so secluded, the characters were mostly cut off from any help beyond their school ground walls and had to rely on each other.

    Initially, I was disappointed in the stereotypical cast of teenage characters - angst-ridden guy, princess, genius nerd, bully, jealous best friend - but I have to admit, the author went a step further and let the reader see inside the character's minds to gain a better understanding of them and see how they developed by the end of the story.

    The explanation for the origin of the infection seemed a little thin, but there were definitely some tense moments in the story and it held my attention. Although I'm not sure if there is a planned sequel to this novel, the ending left it wide open to continue the story.

    I would recommend this quick read for people who enjoy sci-fi/apocalyptic books with more emphasis on action.

    This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    My review

    This book is... different, but if you like drama and apocolyptic kind of books, then you'll like this. It's a twist on the classic zombie theme. It's pretty entertaining as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The premise for Silver by author Chris Wooding was mysterious an

    The premise for Silver by author Chris Wooding was mysterious and had me interested in finding out where the novel was headed. I was expecting some sort of generic dystopic novel and was surprised to find that Silver is not your everyday outbreak story. It freaked me out. Terrified me at times and was pretty freaking addictive for a book about a zombie/cyborg virus outbreak.

    Silver is set at a boarding school in the United Kingdom where five different students are all about to face their greatest fears. After being bitten by a metallic bug a student falls under the effects of an unknown illness, only hours after that does he fall into a rabid state. It doesn’t take long for multiple students to succumb to the infection, becoming robot-like zombies, tearing the flesh of their fellow classmates with their teeth. Spreading their disease.

    For teens Paul, Caitlyn, Erika, Adam and Mark this is the start of their own personal hell. Trapped at Mortingham Boarding Academy the students must now find a way to safety without becoming a part of the growing horde that wants nothing more than to kill them or make them join their numbers. Trapping themselves in a building with seemingly no way out the group finds that the world outside may be terrifying but that they should be more afraid not of what’s outside but of what must come next.

    I loved the way that Silver started (with two of the characters getting in a fist fight). And within the first hundred pages I was already hooked I had expected it to be a pretty tame horror novel but boy was I wrong. It’s a thrilling, graphically detailed story that kept me on the edge of my seat. It reminded me of The Walking Dead and definitely kept me interested. This is a zombie novel with a twist, not making us see the mindless undead but instead mechanized humans who have been forced to merge with technology. Silver is innovative with an insanely consistent pace.

    Apart from that, Silver is also very well written. The way that the novel plays out, I found, made it easier to envision it inside your head while reading. The descriptions are perfect, the way the characters react to the situation was pretty the situation was pretty realistic and pretty intense. They obviously wanted to survive and their actions showed that accurately. I do think that there were certain characters I favored more than others (Caitlyn and Paul for the most part) who I felt were just more three dimensional than the others.

    My only real problem with the novel would have to be the ending. In comparison to the rest of Silver which was pretty realistic, innovative and pretty freaking crazy and intense—I expected something more dramatic and climatic than what was given to me as a reader. I felt a bit let down and suspect that there will be a sequel based on that ending. Am I interested in a sequel? Oh yeah. Will I read it? Oh yeah because I need to know why this virus exists and what’s going to happen to the remaining characters.

    I would recommend Silver to readers who are fans of the horror/thriller genre, readers who are fans of AMC’s The Walking Dead and want a sci-fi spin on it, and finally to any readers who just want a heart pounding novel that will leave you turning pages. Definitely one of the scariest novels that I’ve read this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Great

    Loved it and especially how it took place in a remote boarding school and without phone lines and being in a valley....... it was destiny page by page and the plot was detailed on the creatures and how these teens destroyed a building network.
    Do me a favor and make a silver :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2014

    This is a very good book if you┬┐re looking for something suspens

    This is a very good book if you’re looking for something suspenseful. I finished this book a couple of days ago and I loved it. The author did a great job on making the characters seem like they could be real people. The characters are also very relatable like Paul being the new kid in school or being invisible like Mark. You will get attached to the characters but you’ll regret it because some of them might not make it. I think that it's awesome to see the decisions that different characters make one different situations like a another character being bitten one character might want to save them and another might want to end them. 
    It’s also great to see the characters change throughout the story based on the decisions they make. The last thing I would like to say is the author does a great job on having the characters deal with each other in different situations.     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Great Read

    Worth your time, a truly chilling yung adult novel. Cheaper to buy the paperback copy though..... Still amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    hgngn

    I've only gotten to chapter four, but it seems good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Vey good

    The premise upon which this book is lied is amazing. The tone is surprising and the subject and emotion keeps you on your toes. Very chilling and creepy scary. In all it was insanely good. I would recommend this for ages maybe 12 or 13 to ages maybe 16 to 18 or beyond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    School will kill you!

    With all the great sci-fi/paranormal/post-apocalyptic/dystopian/fantasy adventure books being written in the YA genre, I can't understand why a certain TV channel doesn't mine this resource rather than offering us epics like Boa-Piranha-Space-Tornado-Arachna-Sinkhole!

    A boarding school somewhere in the English countryside (no, not THAT one although some magic might have come in handy!) makes the perfect setting for something hinky. We have the new student Paul, feeling abandoned, angry, and untethered by his parents' abrupt deaths. He's not a good person for school bully, Adam - product of a long line of bullies - to pick on. The story begins with their fight egged on by bloodthirsty fellow students who are supposedly on a bio-walk bug hunt, collecting and recording the local insects. Thus we are introduced to the ineffectual Mr. Sutton, who loves teaching but lacks leadership qualities; and the terrifying headmaster, Mr. Harrison, who used to teach but lost his taste for students and gained a taste for power. Erika is the good student/pretty girl born to be admired and envied by lesser talented friend Caitlyn who adores Paul who lusts after Ericka who has a boyfriend already but just wants people to see her in a different light. Mark, the nerd, just wants anyone to see him in any light.
    This, the main cast, is thrown into a horrifying fight for survival when one of the collected bugs turns out to be something more than just a squashed insect, something a little more...silver. Scary, sinister, fast-paced, and action-packed, Chris Wooding's gem of a story is a little nanobytes vs. The Walking Dead, Westworld meets Lord of the Flies. He just better be working on a sequel. (And maybe Syfy channel should get his agent's number.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj

    Hhvgghhjjjjjjjjjjjjjjkkkkiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiijjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj.......mmmmmm......mmmmmm....................................................................

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1