Customer Reviews for

Silver

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Quick catching of my attention. The storyline was fast paced and takes you directly into the action. Solid characters Andrew and Selene aka Silver. I wouldhave loved a lit more of a wrap-up to finish the story but if this turns out to be just the beginning of the story...
Quick catching of my attention. The storyline was fast paced and takes you directly into the action. Solid characters Andrew and Selene aka Silver. I wouldhave loved a lit more of a wrap-up to finish the story but if this turns out to be just the beginning of the story for these characters, I can't wait to see the next segment/installment.

I'll definately be waiting to see what else Ms. Held will produce.

posted by Nims on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Silver by Rhiannon Held is a unique and refreshing take on Werew

Silver by Rhiannon Held is a unique and refreshing take on Werewolves in present day. I enjoyed the mystery behind the story and the well developed characters. I found Dare to be a wonderful main character and Silver although seemingly insane is strong and feisty. The p...
Silver by Rhiannon Held is a unique and refreshing take on Werewolves in present day. I enjoyed the mystery behind the story and the well developed characters. I found Dare to be a wonderful main character and Silver although seemingly insane is strong and feisty. The premise of the story exciting and well worth the read. It is a great dark/urban-fantasy story filled with plenty of mystery for those of you who love mysteries. I couldn't help but like the character 'Death.' He was almost like the character's conscious and guide. There were some things that I didn't like about the book for one, the pacing was really slow, you have a lot of build up toward the question of who's the monster after Silver and yet it wraps up in what seems like 3 chapters. I guess I expected more. The blurb on the cover is a little misleading about the romance between Silver "Selene" and Dare. Although it was nice that it didn't strong-arm the story, it would've been great if the romance between the two was developed earlier. Overall, I did enjoy this story and I think if you're looking for a great story involving werewolves and not so much on the romance, than this is it! I look forward to reading more from Rhiannon Held.

posted by BoekieBookReview on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Dark Fantasy

    Silver
    by Rhiannon Held

    Rating: 3.5
    Genre: Paranormal Romance | Dark Fantasy | Mystery

    Andrew is a werewolf who has never really been content with his current Virginia pack due to his rocky history in Madrid, Spain where he acquired the nickname "the Butcher of Barcelona." He is charismatic, very quick, has a strong sense of honor, and enough strength to become Alpha of his very own pack, but he considers that to be too much work. Thus, he follows orders as his pack's enforcer. While on a mission to uncover the lone wolf on his Alpha's territory, Andrew discovers a tortured and mentally-broken werewolf in human-form. Having no clues as to where this madwoman comes from or which pack she belongs, Andrew takes on the responsibility of discovering her tortuous past himself since her erratic disillusions and cryptic babel, if true, could be detrimental for werewolves everywhere and needs to be stopped!

    Silver is scrawny, white-haired, some what brain damaged due to silver exposure, and very reluctant to be around anyone but the ghost of Death who follows her closely and acts almost as a pessimistic spirit-guide. Mostly, she is forlorn, distraught, and confused about her past and speaks in her own daffy language (ex. angry snakes that live on her arm, a glowing lady that lives in the sky, losing her name and wild-self, and a monster that is hunting her) that few understand. When her silver-tainted scent rail is discovered by Andrew (who she refers to as the Warrior), she confidently follows only because Ghost approves and tells her to trust him. She understands she "can't run forever", but is continually haunted by tainted memories. And, when her blood-poising problem lessens, Silver becomes more lucid in ability to fight her gruesome past.

    This was an interesting book. Firstly, I really appreciated the development both of the main characters went through from beginning to end. Andrew grew from a unaccomplished loner to a more authoritative figure while Silver went from being incomprehensible to knowing she had been and can be again. Together they made a "formidable team." Secondly, The crackling tension between Andrew and Silver was really satisfying since their interactions showed that there is indeed a thin line between infuriating and irresistible. Their relationship slowly matured into a romantic one without coming off as forced or implausible. Thirdly, the psychotic murder mystery aspect to the story was well written with Silver's Mother's pack resolving much of the confusion and secrets, but it definitely added a gruesome and uncomfortable tone to the overall tale where bloody vengeance was the name of the game.

    Likes: I really enjoyed the various packs introduced throughout this story. The different cities (and there are lots of them!!) where the packs resided really kept the story interesting by displaying a different Alpha/power-figure, scenery, pack formality, and even changing family environments--so there was always something new and refreshing to read about since these numerous settings opened up a broader picture for the reader.. Plus, the Roanoke ancestral history was fascinating, especially considering how very traditional they were in passing on names from the original settlers into the modern day.

    Dislikes: I would have enjoyed a better conclusion to Andrew's lost teenage daughter in Spain since he misses her "like a physical pain sometimes." The reader was left

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Silver by Rhiannon Held is a unique and refreshing take on Werew

    Silver by Rhiannon Held is a unique and refreshing take on Werewolves in present day. I enjoyed the mystery behind the story and the well developed characters. I found Dare to be a wonderful main character and Silver although seemingly insane is strong and feisty. The premise of the story exciting and well worth the read. It is a great dark/urban-fantasy story filled with plenty of mystery for those of you who love mysteries. I couldn't help but like the character 'Death.' He was almost like the character's conscious and guide. There were some things that I didn't like about the book for one, the pacing was really slow, you have a lot of build up toward the question of who's the monster after Silver and yet it wraps up in what seems like 3 chapters. I guess I expected more. The blurb on the cover is a little misleading about the romance between Silver "Selene" and Dare. Although it was nice that it didn't strong-arm the story, it would've been great if the romance between the two was developed earlier. Overall, I did enjoy this story and I think if you're looking for a great story involving werewolves and not so much on the romance, than this is it! I look forward to reading more from Rhiannon Held.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Enjoyed!

    refreshing with delightful twists

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Meow?

    PebblePaw32

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    V

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1