BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Silver Blade

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    I gotta ask.....

    Does Tom Hiddleston narrarate this too? :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Jellybean

    I loved i loved i loved this book! I just got the Red Necklace from my school's bookfair and as soon as i finished it i bought The Silver Blade!! This book was amazing, I like romance so this book was absolutly awesome!! Love this writer!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great.

    Great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    great book

    i loved this book! i like the romance, the setting, and the way the story was told i totally recommend it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I really enjoyed The Red Necklace, so I was eager to read the sequel and rejoin the world of Sido and Yann. I particularly like the setting of the French Revolution in this book. I think it gives the story an edge.

    I liked how Yann is the focus in this story. I think Sido received her closurer in the first book and if it weren't for the fact that she's tied to Yann, we wouldn't even really need to see her in the book. I liked the mystery of the silver blade. It's impressive that Yann was rescuing french aristocrats right under the noses of the national assembly. I also thought it was amusing he left a calling card. He made himself an enigma. I enjoyed how discovered who he really was and sometimes being connected to a person isn't important.

    I also enjoyed the dealings with Count Kalliovski. What a creepy man! I never really understood why he wanted Sido so badly though. Except maybe for the simple fact that she got away from him and nobody ever did. Seemed like a drastic reason for making a deal with the devil. I also enjoyed his dog. It was an interesting addition to the story.

    I wonder if there will be another one in this series. I think there is room for more. Yann is just understanding his powers. Plus, the revolution isn't over yet. Not sure were it could go though. But, I would read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    No Second Book Syndrome Here

    The Silver Blade is just as intrigue, romance, and action-packed as its predecessor. Yann pulls off daring escapes, clever tricks, and ridiculous disguises. Sido struggles to get settled in England, where her Aunt and Uncle are the social center of French émigré life and where her Aunt hopes Sido will find a financially secure husband. Sido and Yann each pine for the other, and they communicate through letters that could put them both in danger. This is all well and good. Touching, emotionally complicated, blah blah blah.

    The real problem is Kalliovski. He's not quite as dead as we were all lead to believe at the end of The Red Necklace.

    "But it is his face beneath the hat that makes all the rest quite forgettable. Those black eyes do not look human, so dark and dead, eyes from which no light shines. His skin is like tallow wax, his hair, swept back, is black, his lips a red wound. This is a face of nightmares.

    Kalliovski goes walking here every night, the smell of blood drawing him time and time again to the guillotine. It is like a fine wine to his nose, a perfume to savor. He takes a last deep breath, inhaling the scent of death before setting off toward the Pont Neuf. He walks without a shadow to mark his passing."
    p.9

    I thought this was going to turn into a vampire book. I was really disappointed and worried, for a while, thinking that Kalliovski was going to drink all the blood left in Paris. I shouldn't have been; Gardner is way too classy for that. She draws on some obscure Gypsy legend that was briefly mentioned in the first book to explain Kalliovski's not-dead-ness instead, and it doesn't involve blood-sucking.

    Things get a lot more magical and dark in this installment of Yann and Sido's story. Yann, himself, goes through a lot of self-doubt and darkness in his own heart, leaving Sido, T?tu and everyone else behind while he basks in his own self-pity. But he grows and becomes stronger. This is, once again, his story. At least this time he gets to be on the cover of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    The Silver Blade

    It's year 1794, after the French Revolution, and even though the crown has fallen, France's Plight for freedom still continues in the period of the Jacobin Terror otherwise known as Reign of Terror which is at its height. In streets paved by hunger, anguish, and blood, mysterious young Romany Yann, walks in the path of a traitor as he works against the revolutionaries to smuggle out the aristocratic refugees who cower at the sight of the man killing machine known as the Guillotine. Fear hangs in the air and tensions run thin when a single word can betray someone to a death by the Guillotine and no one can be trusted any longer. Not even the Government. But Yann Margoza is no ordinary man with the heart of a "heroic trickster". He's a legend known as the Silver Blade and Savior to all those in need of escape the clutches of the Revolutionaries. Skilled in navigating through the underground city of beneath Paris he is easily able to rescue all of the escapees which seek his help but his most redeeming factor is his ability to control the Romany Treads of Light, which gives him the abilities to immobilize people and move inanimate objects, a useful quality for someone who is engaged in such a dangerous business which involves transporting aristocrats to London and away from the Guillotine. With Yann's fateful friends Dideir and Tetu, Yann uses his actor's skills as a cover up and continues to use his Roma gifts to spirit French aristocrats to safety as the Silver Blade.
    Meanwhile in the heart of London, Yann's beloved Sidonie pines for Yann in the safety of her uncle's large mansion. Their relationship lies further than just Yann saving her from the clutches
    of her insane suitor Count Kallioviski. As they continue to write letters back and forth Sido's protective aunt begins to grow suspicious, fearing that their relationship is more than just friendship and forbids them from their long-for reunion for Yann' gypsy heritage keeps him shunned from the upper classman. Even though the both of them continue their fight to keep their passion from ending the differences in their class and status makes it difficult for the two them to envision a future together forever. Count Kalliovski, dead but walking the streets after a pact with the forces of evil, is back and he has sinister designs for both Sido and Yann who thwarted him and cause his death. His heart cold as death, contains no humanity and he is working his dark strings, which contradict Yann's which are made of light, from a magnificent palace deep within the Parisian Catacombs which hold the headless bodies of the residents of Paris and is steeped with horror and darkness. In the midst of Yann's battle against the despair of Robespierre, Sido is kidnapped under strange circumstances. Now, Yann must use all his courage and strength to outwit the devil Count Kallioviski and rescue Sido without falling into Kallioviski's clutches, but little does he know that Kallioviski wants Yann's powers and the result of this fight might involve the fate of all Paris.
    I loved this book, between the romance, the adventure, the blood, and the history. I recommended this book for anyone who enjoys historical romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2