Customer Reviews for

The Silver Boat: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great story of sisters

I just finished reading this book and liked it a lot. The story is sad at times but it's also warm and reflects the different personalities and motives of three sisters who are very different but share a common bond beyond the norm. I have two sisters and I will be shar...
I just finished reading this book and liked it a lot. The story is sad at times but it's also warm and reflects the different personalities and motives of three sisters who are very different but share a common bond beyond the norm. I have two sisters and I will be sharing this book with them.

posted by Jennifer_R on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

!

Another book ruined by harriet klausner and her excessive plot spoilers. Please bn, delete her excessive posts and ban her plot spoilers, please! She ruins absolutely every book she lays hands on. Get rid of her, please!

posted by 8888649 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Great story of sisters

    I just finished reading this book and liked it a lot. The story is sad at times but it's also warm and reflects the different personalities and motives of three sisters who are very different but share a common bond beyond the norm. I have two sisters and I will be sharing this book with them.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining family drama as readers see the sadness of the three sisters who must give up their long time family heritage

    memories. They can track their roots to the Massachusetts colony as their ancestors were one of the first families to settle here. However, with mom's death and the trio living far away and unable to keep the place as a vacation site, they know they must sell.

    Thus the McCarthy siblings (Dar, Delia and Rory) come to Daggett's Way with sadness in their hearts. Adding to the despondency is the only offer comes from insufferable boors who plan to tear Dagget's Way down and replace it with a despicable reproduction of a French chateau. Dar the manga graphic novelist wishes she had the power of her comic book heroine. Delia has other issues as she struggles with her son's meth addiction that is also killing her relationship with her husband; reminding her of her Irish father Michael who vanished at sea years ago while insisting King Charles I gave his ancestors land within the Daggett acres.

    This is an entertaining family drama as readers see the sadness of the three sisters who must give up their long time family heritage. The story line is insightful when the tale remains anchored on Martha's Vineyard profoundly studying the impact of the loss of something sacred (not just the sisters as another character has confronted the same loss). When the siblings chase after an inane dream that even if they succeed accomplishes nothing, the plot loses its plausibility though one could argue this is a coping defense mechanism. Overall readers will enjoy the McCarthy sisters learning you truly cannot go home no matter how much you wish otherwise.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Primwisp's story chapter two

    The moon shines through the nursery, waking Primkit from her sleep. Streching she pads out to the clearing seeing Lionpaw, Tadpolepaw, Frogpaw, Rosepaw and Bumblepaw playing mossball; pading up to them she mews. "May I please play?"<br>
    Bumblepaw catches the mossball, turning to Primkit he purrs. "Sur-"<br>
    "No." Tadpolepaw meows cutting Bumblepaw off. "You're not an apprentice besides you always toss the moss so fast. Sho."<br>
    "But, i will not." Primkit protests. Lionpaw and Bumblepaw nod.<br>
    "Just go." Tadpolepaw and Frogpaw growl showing their teeth.<br>
    Primkit shrinks back turning around hanging her head she pads away ; Bluejay pads out of the nursery carrieing moss over to the warriors den. Ignoring her Primkit sees a stick. Crouching down she prowls forward slowly and lightly, once a tail length away she leaps landing on the stick rolling over she bites it and growls. Bubmlepaw pads over. "Hi."<br>
    "What do you want?"<br>
    "I just wanted to know how are you handiling.....ummm."<br>
    "Yes i'm ok."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    Page turner

    This was the first Luanne Rice book I read. The plot had plenty of twists and turns to keep you interested. I've shared it with other Nook users. Looking forward to reading another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Silverfeathers destiny part 3

    Chirpkit and Lunakit padded side-by-side. Lavakit and Silverkit did the same. As they reached the river, Lunakit took the lead. Silverkit glimpsed Drizzlefur and Fallclaws washing off with Graykit. Graykit was adding to his pile of trout. "Where's the gathering tommorow night?" Asked Lunakit. "Over there." Fallclaws nodded his head to a high gorge with a cliff above it and a sandy ravine on the other side. Graykit jumped out of the water and shakes droplets of water off his pelt. Silverkit followed Twitchkit up a hillside. She watched as Graykit spun in midair and landed in the river below. Strong pads brought him to the shore. Graykit got back behind Lunakit. Chirpkit leaped off the hillside, and did a head-first dive into the current. Finally,Lavakit's turn arrived. He spun and splashed the water. Lunakit pushed Silverkit forward. Lavakit sent ripples flying, and swam strongly to the side. Silverkit felt hotness on her pelt. The sun shone bright. Silverkit leaped. She landed headfirst,startling a carp. She swam away and glanced at a burning gleam of sun. Lunakit jumped,and landed,paws churning wildly,in the water. Lunakit jumped awkwardly away,clumsily smashing into Graykit. The kits got out. As they were heading back to camp,Drizzlefur was telling stories. "There were three ancient Clans in the forest long ago; TearClan,SpiderClan,and DucklingClan. The Clans hated each other,but there were three friends rising among them; Heavefoot from TearClan,Haylimb from SpiderClan,and Dripfeather of DucklingClan. These cats made a strong,spiritful relationship. Then one day Haylimb brought his sister Airleg with him." All the kits gasped. "Airleg and Heavefoot fell in love." Drizzlefur paused. "Haylimb was suprised. Very. So he killed Heavefoot to protect his sister. But she jumped off a cliff to be with him. Today the warrior code shows that gatherings are the only times to be friends with other-clan cats." Fallclaws padded alongside Lunakit. "Lets get to the sycmore." Soon evrey cat was asleep. Silverkit closed her eyes and dreamed she was Airfur. (Tell me your favorite Ancient Clan i made up!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Interesting story and descriptive of the locales involved. I lo

    Interesting story and descriptive of the locales involved. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Awesome

    By morgan welch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Harstan

    Just 1 question. If you are reviewing every single book, then you are reading EVERY SINGLE BOOK! How is that possible? Just curious.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Mistyclaw

    She cat.. deputy.. mate none..kits none..grey silver color fur cystel blue eye.. gentel loving thinks before she makes life causting choices but is deadly in battle... she loves her clan members and will die for them..

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Wan to chat

    Wat to chat

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2