Customer Reviews for

The Silver Chair: The Chronicles of Narnia

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Siver Chair

The Silver Chair This story was about a girl named Jill and a boy named Eustace. Jill and Eustace go out to find the lost Prince of Narnia (which name is Rilian.) On the way they met a Marsh-Wiggle named Puddleglum and Puddleglum joined them. They had to go to the Ru...
The Silver Chair This story was about a girl named Jill and a boy named Eustace. Jill and Eustace go out to find the lost Prince of Narnia (which name is Rilian.) On the way they met a Marsh-Wiggle named Puddleglum and Puddleglum joined them. They had to go to the Ruined City of the Giants. They traveled threw a lot of snow to get to the Ruined City. Then they met the gentle giants that were planning to eat them. So they ran away from them. Puddleglum, Eustace and Jill went underground of the ruined city and found Prince Rilian. After the evil Queen died the underground world and the overland were in peace. Because the evil Queen was ruler but the men of the underground were scared to disobey her. Prince Rilian is now ruler of Narnia. They had to persevere to get past the rough things. If they quit Aslan would surely abandon them from Narnia. So everything would be under the witches control and no one would be happy. This book was fun and adventures. Having to travel and hide underground looking for Rilian. I think this was a marvelous idea for a book

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad badder baddest

A total waste of time and money I wanto give it no stars

posted by 1995977 on May 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    One of my Favorites

    The Silver Chair has proved to be my favorite Narnia book so far. I can keep good pace with it and understand every word. I've never absorbed myself that much in a book. I finished it and looked up wondering where I was. I can't wait to read The Last Battle.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    The Siver Chair

    The Silver Chair This story was about a girl named Jill and a boy named Eustace. Jill and Eustace go out to find the lost Prince of Narnia (which name is Rilian.) On the way they met a Marsh-Wiggle named Puddleglum and Puddleglum joined them. They had to go to the Ruined City of the Giants. They traveled threw a lot of snow to get to the Ruined City. Then they met the gentle giants that were planning to eat them. So they ran away from them. Puddleglum, Eustace and Jill went underground of the ruined city and found Prince Rilian. After the evil Queen died the underground world and the overland were in peace. Because the evil Queen was ruler but the men of the underground were scared to disobey her. Prince Rilian is now ruler of Narnia. They had to persevere to get past the rough things. If they quit Aslan would surely abandon them from Narnia. So everything would be under the witches control and no one would be happy. This book was fun and adventures. Having to travel and hide underground looking for Rilian. I think this was a marvelous idea for a book

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Mayfair H.S. student

    I loved it. Once again Aslan is in need for help from another world. Eustace and Jill enter into the un-chartered parts of Narnia to find and save the son of King Caspian, Prince Rilian. Guided by a marsh-wiggle they travel through the land of adventure.Only to discover the remains of what seems to be the white witch who has captured the prince with false love and now has a spell on him. The book has everything from good guys and bad guys to twist and turns. So if you like these things read the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Bad badder baddest

    A total waste of time and money I wanto give it no stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Awedome Book!!!

    This is an awesome book! I have 1 more book to read in the Natnia seires now. It is worth this many stars **************************************************************************************************** 100 stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    The Silver Chair

    Good the best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Narnia

    Narnia, my favorite world of all time i soooooo wish i could go there i love these books and i love their movies I WISH I COULD GO THERE!! C.S. Lewis is wonderful and he is one of my favorite authors

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Great book.

    This book was interesting and fun to read. Once you get into the story it is hard to put the book down. The plot is easy to follow and it encourages you to use your imagination.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    This book is awesome!

    I loved reading this book! It really is one of the best books yet. Eustace is back again but this time he brings his friend Jill with him. King Caspian's son disappeared and Aslan is counting on Jill and Eustace to rescue him. He gives them signs to look for to make sure they are going in the right direction but they become decieved and ignore the signs. They soon realize they missed one of the signs and decide to get busy trying to find a way to save the prince. They end up going to the land of the giants and finding the prince. They see the prince but he is different as if he is hypnotized. The queen (once known as the White Witch) warns them that at night he becomes a deadly beast and that they should leave before he transforms. But they discover that at night spell on the prince is broken and he is himself. With the help of a miserable Marsh-Wiggle they save the prince and bring happiness to Narnia.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    A STUNNING READING FOR NARNIA SERIES

    British actor Jeremy Northam gives a stunning reading of the sixth volume in C. S. Lewis's acclaimed Narnia series. An accomplished performer with the RSC and the National Theatre, he also has an impressive roster of screen credits including Emma, An Ideal Husband, and Gosford Park. Winner of Actor of the Year 2000 for the London Evening Standard Awards, he also was named Film Actor of the Year by Variety Club during that same year. His performance of 'The Silver Chair' is mesmerizing as he totally captures the fantasy land where King Caspian's son has fallen under an evil spell. As our story opens it has been a decade since Prince Rilan disappeared and we're greeted with an appearance by the dreaded Queen of Underland. The Prince, it seems, has escaped from the sorceries which once held him prisoner, and realizes that he is the son of King Caspian, and heir to Narnia. The Queen stoutly denies that any such land exists. Friends, including Eustace and Jill, have come to rescue the Prince and return him to his rightful place, but they must battle horrors in order to do so. A remarkable reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Nibema_789

    WANT TO READ BOOK SO BADLY:*(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    A true masterpiece

    A true masterpiece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    I love the series

    It is so epic! I wish C.S Lewis was still alive! :*(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Love it

    Read if you are looking for an entertaining book. Well tolled and organized. In simpler terms: READ THIS BOOK!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    GOOD BUT RATHER STRANGE

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Slave den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Story contest

    Silverweed res1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    GREAT!!!!!!!

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Question

    Is this the 8th book.

    My recomendation
    This is a amazing book that fits the series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    A must read.

    This is a very good book. I literrally couldn't put it down until I was finnished. Of all the Chronicles I think my favorite was Dawn Treader, but this one was excelent as well. The alagory was outstanding and I defy anyone to say that this is not a Christian alagory. The characters were origanal and the story was captivating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12