Customer Reviews for

Silver Girl: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(202)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Silver Girl

    Stripped from the headlines; think Bernie Madoff and his wife, Ruth and you have Silver Girl. Meredith Martin Delinn's husband has bilked billions of dollars from a lot of people and she is facing the worst that her life could bear. Did she know what he was doing, but the Feds want to know if she knows where the money is.

    Receiving a phone call from her old friend, Connie, who has problems of her own, they take off to Nantucket, where Connie disguises Meredith to keep the reporters and the curious away. When Conies brother Nathan (Meredith's first love) joins them on the island, Meredith must rethink her life and who she really is.

    I found the characters to be real and felt the pain that Meredith felt, not only from her husband but as a young girl when Nathan broke her heart. These incidents somewhat defined her. Hildebrand's descriptive locations made me felt as I was on the island. I enjoyed this book.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Silver Girl a Great Read!

    Synopsis: Meredith sprints from her pent house apartment to the alley down where the SUV is waiting to make a getaway. Her friend Connie is behind the wheel. She is the only person that Meredith could turn to after her husband's crimes are made known to the public. Meredith had been hounded by reporters for weeks and hated by the public. She was looking forward to a little R&R at her friend Connie's house on Nantucket. All Meredith has is a suitcase and card board box with her belongings. She can't contact her family because she is under investigation for her husband's crimes. Connie helps come up with a disguise for Meredith to go out into the public. Life at Nantucket seems to be just the ticket for Connie and Meredith as they renew their friendship and go on new adventures. What will they find in Nantucket? What does Meredith know about her husband's crimes? Will she be cleared of any charges? This story is told through flashbacks interwoven into current events. I liked the book. I found it a little slow in some spots but I also couldn't wait to finish it. I loved how the mystery was interwoven within the story. I look forward to my next Elin Hilderbrand book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    I throughly enjoyed this story! The main character was very relateable! I was glad the good person won in the end

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Very good.

    Loved the setting of the story and its was interesting with a twist.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    My first from this author, will DEFINITELY read her again!

    This was a lovely "Beaches" type tale of the lifelong friendship between two women, and how they navigate it after one suffers a unique scandal. Loosely based on a lot of "what-if?" type of questions concerning the life of Bernie Maddoff's wife, Ruth. I that it was a very clever angle and reminded me very much of "American Wife" by Curtis Sittenfeld, who did the same "what-if?" style based on Laura Bush. Well written, and full of beautiful beach imagery, I will absolutely be buying more from Elin Hilderbrand in the future, particularly when I crave the beach/summer/touristy atmosphere she so masterfully provides.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Could not put this book down!

    Enjoyed the Nantucket setting and loved reading about Merideth and Connie's years growing up. I think of the song everytime I see the book now. I read this in a day because i was so caught up in Merideth's efforts to put pieces of the puzzle together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book about friendship

    Start with Bernie Madoff type scandal, toss in a backdrop of Nantucket, mix an old friendship turned bad, add a sprinkle of love story with a hint of mystery and you have Silver Girl. Meredith Martin Delinn is living a dream life with her financial wizard of a husband Freddy. Only he ends up being a liar who is running a huge ponzi scheme. After Freddy ends up in jail, Meredith finds herself and her son under Federal investigation. Meredith finds herself completely alone (even her hairstylist won't do business with her). She makes a desperate phone call to her high school best friend, Connie Flute. Connie dealing with her own share of tragedy agrees to take Meredith with her to her summer home in Nantucket to escape the media frenzy.
    The book goes back and forth between Connie and Meredith, but it doesn't stop there. Both ladies take us back in time to get back story. We know from the beginning there is tension between them, but there are also a number of other relationships clouded with questions. The story for Meredith seems to go from bad to worse, finding no peace and no escape in Nantucket from the scandal surrounding her. Meredith needs to decide who she is and who is she going to be.
    If you have read Elin Hildrebrand books before, you will notice straight away this is different than her other novels. I have to be honest I'm a huge fan of hers, but when I first started reading I wasn't excited about the book. I felt like I was so suppose to feel bad for Meredith, who had it all and because she kept her head in the clouds during her marriage she was sideswiped by her husband's misdeeds. Even the shocking revelation that comes later in the story I picked up on right away (though I believe Hilderbrand wants to show us how clueless Meredith was when it came to Freddy).
    On the other hand, I really liked Connie. Wish I had a Connie in my life. Not only does she have her own issues she is dealing with, but she comes in and saves Meredith. Then I like her even more when I learned the back story between the two women. It really showed her character. As the story progresses over the summer, we do see Meredith slowly evolve then she seems to go backwards a bit than grows again and by the end of the book I really liked her.
    I found this to be a great book of how friendship can carry us and help us to be our best. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    Another hit from Elin Hilderbrand! I have yet to be disappointed by one of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    very good chic read

    Story was interesting from the beginning,; Sometimes it takes a crisis for long lost friends to reach out for one another..Misunderstandings, harsh words, life style changes all can alter friendships. This is a story about just that.....It can make one stop and think just where they would be without that special someone.....Elin Hilderbrand is an author whom I have read before, and have really enjoyed....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Good

    Thought it was a good book. Worth the read if you like this type....light suspence and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Uh

    Hygy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Good

    Good read. Relatable characters. Ending was a little vague. Also, there a lot of "reviews" on here that have nothing to do with the book. Very strange.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Juggly Juggly

    LUMP JUICE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Tells of today's financial greed-A must read

    Highly Recommended--Tells the story of the greed of some financial advisors of today. Love Elin's books. Cannot wait for the new one to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    pretty good

    Many similarities to the Bernie Madoff story....Wasn't hard to predict. Good story overall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    sad but interesting

    I liked this book very much. A new perspective for me. Should lead to interesting book club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Grear book!

    Excellent read once again by elin hilderbrand!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Wonderful

    I really enjoyed this book . The characters were very engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good read

    I have read several of her books,but this one is the best. Can,t wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summer Read!

    Loved this book! Great story and characters, couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5