Customer Reviews for

Silver Lining

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Awesome read!

    Awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Great western novel

    The story line for this book is wonderful for all strong women. It covers the hardships of a women who does not fit society's view of women. She is strong, tall and willing to do manual labor. It also shows the cunning ways of women who want to get what they want no matter who it hurts (sister in law). Maggie Osborne writes very colorfully novels of the west and this is one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    This was the first Maggie Osborne book I had ever read and I was NOT disappointed that I did. When I say this book was amazing, IT WAS AMAZING! I loved the story, even if it wasn't a surprise as to how it would turn out in the end. Most of us love happy endings anyway! Louise(Low Down) was a great heroine, she might not have been cultured or ladylike, but she was a straight shooter who could cuss a blue streak if aggrevated, and she had a good heart! What's not to love about that!! It took me a little more time to start liking Max, but once he got over whining about how HIS life was over and boohoo woe is me, he was actually a very decent man. I liked the journey the two took while they tried to get over what couldnt be changed about their situation and try to come to a common ground. You get to see how she finally stops feeling like she's unworthy of anything good, and how he starts to respect her and her work ethic. I have to say that Ms. Philidelphia was a great character too, even as she was a total pain and a manipulator! I loved how so many interesting things came to light regarding her and her motives as the book progressed. If you love to see the underdog get what they deserve out of life, then you will love this book too. I am presently reading this book again just because it was THAT great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Fantastic

    My absolute favorite osborne book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Loved it.............................

    Easily the best romance western I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Plot line sounded corny, but the book was great

    This book was highly recommended to me, so even though the plot sounded a tad corny, I figured I would give it a try. Glad I did! The writing is wonderful! The characters all have great dimension, which is what really pulls you into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Wonderful!

    Contrary to the other reviewers, I found the subplot with the "other woman" somewhat predictable, since Max would not have mentally overcome the planned arrangement or the death of an innocent family member. This didn't diminish my enjoyment of the book and the likeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2001

    A Taste of Love for the Not So Beautiful People

    Maggie Osborne has become my favorite author! The characters are very fleshed out and made me feel like I really knew them. The heroine, Low Down, unintentially provides humor throughout the story. Miss Osborne allows Low Down to be a normal person who's character outshines the hero's beautiful intended. You have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    The Very Best!!

    This was the first book of Maggie's I have ever read and let me tell you- I couldn't put it down!! Max and Louise are loveable characters and the plot is delightful. It kept you guessing until the very end! I would reccommend Silver Lining to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    The very best of the best !!!

    This is by far the BEST book I have ever read. From the very first page you will fall in love will the characters. This is definitely a book you will not be able to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    WOW!!!

    This was a very enjoyable story that kept me guessing the entire time. I was intrigued from the first page to the last. This was the first book that I have read from this author, but it will certainly not be the last. This is certainly not a book that can be considered 'the same old thing'. Low Down and Max are likeable characters who you will certainly cheer for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    A Unique Romance Story

    This novel was so interesting. The storyline took unexpected twists and turns. It was a novel which the reader couldn't predict was to happen. Maggie Osborne has a way of setting the beginning of the story and making the reader intrigued with each chapter. It was an excellent book and will read more novels by this inspiring author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2