Customer Reviews for

The Silver Linings Playbook [With Headphones]

Average Rating 4.5
( 668 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(384)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

142 out of 149 people found this review helpful.

A Story Of Loss, Recovery, Love, and Philadelphia Eagles Football

A year ago this coming August, my wife of 32 years passed away from battling cancer for 16 years. The last year of grieving has been a hard one for me, and I found myself reading various books on recovery and grief, trying to find a way to cope with my own loss, but nev...
A year ago this coming August, my wife of 32 years passed away from battling cancer for 16 years. The last year of grieving has been a hard one for me, and I found myself reading various books on recovery and grief, trying to find a way to cope with my own loss, but never really finding what I was looking for. That was until I read this extremely funny and yet somewhat sad novel by Matthew Quick, The Silver Linings Playbook, and found myself caught up in the personal recovery story of Pat Peoples, a college instructor who comes out of what he thinks is four months in a mental institution (it is actually a liitle longer than that) and tries to reconcile with his family, with past friends, his own shattered life, and possibly even with his ex-wife, who has actually become something of an obsession for him; an obsession that has him forever working out, trying to maintain a positive attitude and most important, to look for the silver lining, for the happy ending in his life that he believes is actually a movie produced and directed by God. Coming from a family of diehard Philadelphia Eagles fans, Pat tries to make peace with all those around him, goes to sessions with a therapist who shares more in common with Pat than he expected, and at the same time, work on making himself worthy to be reunited with his beloved ex-wife. Until he is introduced to a beautiful but equally messed up widow named Tiffany. Then Pat's life takes a sudden a dramatic turn, one that leads to discoveries of promise, betrayal, sorrow, despair, possible set-back and finally, hope and love. The Silver Linings Playbook is a story of Pat and Tiffany, two damaged souls who have experienced in their own ways unimaginable loss, emptiness and loneliness, and in the end, by becoming one, find not just the healing they both need and deserve, but true love. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper, wonderfully written by Matthew Quick, with characters you cannot help but like and even come to love, and set against the backdrop of a typical Philadelphia Eagles football season, The Silver Linings Playbook is probably the most entertaining and satisfying love story you could ever find. I found it not just an entertaining and enjoyable read, but for me, it has also become a source of my own healing from my own tragic loss. It does indeed show me that even in the blackest of times, silver linings and happy endings do indeed still exist, and where there is love, there is indeed hope.

posted by CarlG on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Silver lining playbook

How can this book be nominated for an academy award does not even deserve a star

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 668 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    A Story Of Loss, Recovery, Love, and Philadelphia Eagles Football

    A year ago this coming August, my wife of 32 years passed away from battling cancer for 16 years. The last year of grieving has been a hard one for me, and I found myself reading various books on recovery and grief, trying to find a way to cope with my own loss, but never really finding what I was looking for. That was until I read this extremely funny and yet somewhat sad novel by Matthew Quick, The Silver Linings Playbook, and found myself caught up in the personal recovery story of Pat Peoples, a college instructor who comes out of what he thinks is four months in a mental institution (it is actually a liitle longer than that) and tries to reconcile with his family, with past friends, his own shattered life, and possibly even with his ex-wife, who has actually become something of an obsession for him; an obsession that has him forever working out, trying to maintain a positive attitude and most important, to look for the silver lining, for the happy ending in his life that he believes is actually a movie produced and directed by God. Coming from a family of diehard Philadelphia Eagles fans, Pat tries to make peace with all those around him, goes to sessions with a therapist who shares more in common with Pat than he expected, and at the same time, work on making himself worthy to be reunited with his beloved ex-wife. Until he is introduced to a beautiful but equally messed up widow named Tiffany. Then Pat's life takes a sudden a dramatic turn, one that leads to discoveries of promise, betrayal, sorrow, despair, possible set-back and finally, hope and love. The Silver Linings Playbook is a story of Pat and Tiffany, two damaged souls who have experienced in their own ways unimaginable loss, emptiness and loneliness, and in the end, by becoming one, find not just the healing they both need and deserve, but true love. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper, wonderfully written by Matthew Quick, with characters you cannot help but like and even come to love, and set against the backdrop of a typical Philadelphia Eagles football season, The Silver Linings Playbook is probably the most entertaining and satisfying love story you could ever find. I found it not just an entertaining and enjoyable read, but for me, it has also become a source of my own healing from my own tragic loss. It does indeed show me that even in the blackest of times, silver linings and happy endings do indeed still exist, and where there is love, there is indeed hope.

    142 out of 149 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    So much better than the movie!

    I saw the movie first because I didn't want to compare it throughout the movie to the book. I enjoyed the film because it was funny, full of heart and had a great cast. The book is so much more complex yet honest and funny too. After about halfway I really found it hard to take a break from reading. I love this book!

    46 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great book. Quick read. Uplifting in a strange, real world way.

    Was picked for book club. The book cover was very deceiving. About football fans, but it fits so perfectly into the plot ans story line.

    You quickly fall in love with the lead character and find humor in his thinking and love how he is trying so hard.

    I could not put the book down.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    I bought this book without really knowing what to expect. I had

    I bought this book without really knowing what to expect. I had heard great reviews about the movie so I wanted to read this first. It ended up being wonderful. I laughed out loud and cried at other times, and couldnt put it down until i found out if Pat Peoples got his happy ending. The book was very real and showed flawed human beings and didnt sugarcoat anything. I appreciate that Matthew Quick created something that was true to real life in a lot of ways and didnt just create a love story with a cute happy ending. 

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Worth a read

    This book is fairly uplifting, you're constantly rooting for the main character.. but you're not exactly sure he should get what he wants initially. I am not crazy about the ending, seemed a little abrupt. Buf overall a good read.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    Read for College English Class

    This book is outstanding.

    I would not call myself a "reader" but I couldn't put this book down, I read the entire book in one day.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read, still prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i t

    Great read, still prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i think) Just my opinion.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    Great Read. Pat is a very interesting character. I loved this bo

    Great Read. Pat is a very interesting character. I loved this book, but then I love messy people. Especially when it seems they will turn out ok. The movie is really great too. Just one thing, it is pretty different than the book., so while you are watching it, keep that in mind. 

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, Im going to watch the movie next. Also love Too Cra

    Great book, Im going to watch the movie next.
    Also love Too Crazy to Live Too Beautiful To Die

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    I loved this novel! Quick does a great job of exposing mental il

    I loved this novel! Quick does a great job of exposing mental illness in a realistic, yet comical way through the main character, Pat Peoples. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good read! Enjoy!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Official Favorite.

    When i first picked up the book and skimmed through it, it struck me as a bit odd so i didnt purchase it. Nevertheless, when i took the time to read the first couple of pages in its entirety, i was won over. The main character is so endearing & the story as a whole was hilarious, heartbreaking, heartwarming, & wholesome. The main characters were flawlessly characterized as well. Overall, this book was refreshing. I havent seen the movie yet but i hope it lives up to the novel. It was exactly what i was looking for. If i wasnt laughing, i was crying... even after i finished. I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    You'd think with such a heavy subject as mental illness, that th

    You'd think with such a heavy subject as mental illness, that this book would be a downer, but like the title, there is a silver lining. You can't help but fall in love with Pat Peoples and his sunny optimism that there is that silver lining he's looking for and feel sad when you know his obsession with his ex-wife will only hurt him. I read the entire book in a day. There's a hopefulness that comes with this story and that life will be ok despite all the bumps we may encounter. Loved Pat's mom and the broken Tiffany, his friend that latches onto him, she was another character you couldn't help but love because there were so many layers to her. Just a great book you can't put down.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love.

    In a matter of days I finished this book. I was so drawn to it that I didn't seem to mind the middle of the night feedings required by my newborn baby. In fact, I almost wished she'd needed me more last week so that I could sit in the glider rocking her and reading this book. It's amazing. I was drawn to the characters, the sports (in this case, Eagles) fanaticism, and the not so obvious mystery and intensifying intrigue throughout the story. I've already purchased another Quick novel on my Nook. Great read!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Silver lining playbook

    How can this book be nominated for an academy award does not even deserve a star

    5 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Good Read

    A story that is well written and cleaverly detailed. Wonderful read and a true pleasure. This book will take you less than two days to finish.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great book! Read this and Sorta Like A Rock Star and Boy 21 too

    Great book! Read this and Sorta Like A Rock Star and Boy 21 too. You will laugh, cry, be surprised and when finished come away the better for reading. I think Matthew Quick is genius. Read The Silver Linings Playbook before the movie comes out in Novembet. You will not regret!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Wonderful story

    I was curious about this book because of the film and was amazed at how much I enjoyed it. The story gives a great look at how a mentally ill person sees life and it taught me to always look for the silver lining.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Mental health worker

    I loved the story because mental health is overlooked by so many and this gives a really good review into the life of a mentally ill person. I couldn't put it down. The only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars is because working in mental health I know his doctor would never become that involved but for sensational value to the book it made a great read I am always rooting for mental health awareness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Sobering

    My heart kept breaking the more I read. I had to set the story aside several times to catch my breath. A very sobering look at mental illness and how a family can undone or strengthened.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Horrible!

    This book was the worst book I have ever read. It lacked in plot and character. The storyline was very weak and the characters were not very well developed.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 668 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34