Customer Reviews for

The Silver Linings Playbook (movie tie-in edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 672 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(387)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

144 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

A Story Of Loss, Recovery, Love, and Philadelphia Eagles Football

A year ago this coming August, my wife of 32 years passed away from battling cancer for 16 years. The last year of grieving has been a hard one for me, and I found myself reading various books on recovery and grief, trying to find a way to cope with my own loss, but nev...
A year ago this coming August, my wife of 32 years passed away from battling cancer for 16 years. The last year of grieving has been a hard one for me, and I found myself reading various books on recovery and grief, trying to find a way to cope with my own loss, but never really finding what I was looking for. That was until I read this extremely funny and yet somewhat sad novel by Matthew Quick, The Silver Linings Playbook, and found myself caught up in the personal recovery story of Pat Peoples, a college instructor who comes out of what he thinks is four months in a mental institution (it is actually a liitle longer than that) and tries to reconcile with his family, with past friends, his own shattered life, and possibly even with his ex-wife, who has actually become something of an obsession for him; an obsession that has him forever working out, trying to maintain a positive attitude and most important, to look for the silver lining, for the happy ending in his life that he believes is actually a movie produced and directed by God. Coming from a family of diehard Philadelphia Eagles fans, Pat tries to make peace with all those around him, goes to sessions with a therapist who shares more in common with Pat than he expected, and at the same time, work on making himself worthy to be reunited with his beloved ex-wife. Until he is introduced to a beautiful but equally messed up widow named Tiffany. Then Pat's life takes a sudden a dramatic turn, one that leads to discoveries of promise, betrayal, sorrow, despair, possible set-back and finally, hope and love. The Silver Linings Playbook is a story of Pat and Tiffany, two damaged souls who have experienced in their own ways unimaginable loss, emptiness and loneliness, and in the end, by becoming one, find not just the healing they both need and deserve, but true love. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper, wonderfully written by Matthew Quick, with characters you cannot help but like and even come to love, and set against the backdrop of a typical Philadelphia Eagles football season, The Silver Linings Playbook is probably the most entertaining and satisfying love story you could ever find. I found it not just an entertaining and enjoyable read, but for me, it has also become a source of my own healing from my own tragic loss. It does indeed show me that even in the blackest of times, silver linings and happy endings do indeed still exist, and where there is love, there is indeed hope.

posted by CarlG on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Silver lining playbook

How can this book be nominated for an academy award does not even deserve a star

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    The Silver Linings Playbook

    I read this book because it seemed everyine that saw the movie loved it. Honestly, I didn't really like it. I hated all the football talk...eventually, I kept flipping the pages. The only thing that kept me intrigued was not knowing why he had lost his memory and why he was forced to see the therapist. I guess since I also have the disorder and, like him, was diagnosed in my mid 30's and after a traumatic marital mishap...I was expecting something different. Maybe because it was a male bipolar perspective. I think if it were a female bipolar story, we'd get a better view of the illness. Just an opinion. Hope you like the book, it was ok, I guess

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Movie Is Better

    I was a bit disappointed with the book. I thought this would be way better than the movie but I guess my hunch is wrong. The movie is far better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2015

    The funny thing about this book is that I loved the movie way mo

    The funny thing about this book is that I loved the movie way more. That never happens, but there you go. The book was still good enough for me to read to the end and there were parts that I enjoyed, but I just didn't get into it the way I did the movie.

    I think for me one of the problems is that I just don't like football all that much and football is a huge part of the book. And the book didn't have that same humourous, up front approach to mental illness that I appreciated in the movie. Unfortunately, I just didn't care about the main character all that much -- which is too bad because I wanted to.

    I feel kind of bad comparing the book to the movie so much, but it is hard not to because my expectations were raised, having seen the movie first. This just wasn't the book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    An unfortunate let down

    Books are usually much better than the movie, but not this one. I felt the characters were much better realized in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I expected more from this book. The plot was spontaneous, and th

    I expected more from this book. The plot was spontaneous, and the narrator was dull and annoying. It was slow and awkward in a lot of places, I was very unsatisfied after reading this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Silverpaw

    Pads around lonely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Rather sad actually

    I don't see where they got a movie out of this book. It really wasn't all that great. Even picturing the actors in my mind as a read didn't help. I just didn't see what all the hype was. It was rather sad actually.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Prob a good movie. Ho hum book, kept having to skip thru

    Same

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Meh

    Feels like it is written for a child. Lost interest half-way through. No thanks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    who the hell is darkfang and snaketail???

    What is this? Some world of warcraft stuff?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    An interesting study of relationships -you might like it.

    I wanted to see why the movie was so popular, but found it hard to believe the movie could capture all of the depth of these characters. Lots of insight into mental illness and the results thereof . . .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Dis Disappointed

    I was looking forward to this read sfte

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2