Customer Reviews for

The Silver Palate Cookbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Very fun to read

    My softbound book is well used and I am very happy to have found a digital copy. This is not just a great cookbook, but also a great read. The anecdotes and side panel information are really what make this book stand out. The recipes always turn out well, a definite plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Finally found this again!

    I've been trying to find a copy of this cookbook for years. My ex and I each get the original one for half the year! Thanksgiving dinner has to have the apple sausage stuffing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Glad I finally bought it!

    Great reference for recipes that have become standards in all gourmet kitchens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Better Than the Original

    The only thing better than the original Silver Palate Cookbook is this new 25th anniversary edition. It contains the recipe for their world-famous Chicken Marbella, which alone is worth the price of the book. It is an easy to follow, easy to read cookbook with recipes that will suit both the novice and those of us who are always looking for something different for tonight's dinner. The full color illustrations are glorious, and the flavor combinations are outstanding. This is a great cookbook to give to newlyweds as well as celebrants of 25th or later anniversaries, Like the best cookbooks, it is also fascinating to read just for the fun of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    A great classic cookbook!

    This is a book I have used for years and love to give as a gift. In its day, it was innovative, using good, fresh ingredients in creative and healthy ways--often classic recipes, but with a flair. Maybe an unexpected or unusual ingredient, or an extra-rich dessert. The cookbook has worn well over the years, and still seems fresh and new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Great Recipes

    I have a few Silver Palate cookbooks. This one is easy to read, easy recipes and I now have a great cookbook for our cottage. I had to make dinner for 80 people and made Chicken Mirabella - it received rave reviews. Good cookbook to buy for your kitchen library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    This cookbook will endure for the ages

    When I first began to learn how to cook I was overwhelmed with the array of cookbooks on the market. I purchased several compilations and found many of the recipes to have uneven results. You could spend an hour on a recipe only to have it turn out to be the blandest meal ever produced. In came The Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins. This cookbook was notable for breaking away from traditional American fare, creating celebrated innovative American recipes and incorporating fresh ingredients. It now seems like a staid proposition, but twenty-five years ago, using fresh ingredients was a novel idea. While some cookbooks are formidable in size, The Silver Palate perfectly hits its stride with just enough recipes, covering finger food, fish, cheese, meat, dessert, vegetable and drink dishes. The most wonderful part of this book is that the recipes are uniformly fantastic. Chili for a Crowd, Minty Cucumber Salad, and the favorite, Chicken Marabella, are not only simple in their execution, they are delicious. Although I haven't made a dent in the dessert section, for fear of changing my entire diet solely to sweets, the dessert recipes I have tried are scrumptious. The book is enhanced with sidebars that explain how to cook herbs, or prepare edible flowers. The only cautionary note is that The Silver Palate includes a hefty amount of rich ingredients, which today, you can easily find substitute products and still get the same excellent results. Quill says: Cookbooks come and go, but this one will endure for the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Wonderful and Full of Tradition!

    This original edition of this cookbook has been in my mother's kitchen for as long as I can remember. The recipes she found in it helped make it the warm, fragrant, delicious place that I remember. Now that I'm newly married, this new edition has found a permanent place in my kitchen. Some of my husband's and my favorite recipes are from this cookbook! It's a must-have for any kitchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1