Customer Reviews for

The Silver Pigs (Marcus Didius Falco Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Roman Revelations

With its well developed characters, outstanding description of ancient roman life, and refreshing humor, Silver Pigs caught my attention and kept it throughout its pages. Falco is a simply wonderful character. He says and does as he pleases which gives him the facade of...
With its well developed characters, outstanding description of ancient roman life, and refreshing humor, Silver Pigs caught my attention and kept it throughout its pages. Falco is a simply wonderful character. He says and does as he pleases which gives him the facade of someone commonplace, but he is in fact smart and just tough enough to get the job done. Silver Pigs is so multifaceted and that is one of the things I liked about it. The mystery, wit, and romance that it braids into one tale is seamless. It is a book that I would absolutely reccomend to any lover of historical fiction, ancient rome, or mysteries.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

How's that, Falco!

I got this because I enjoy David Wishart's books so much, and was fairly disappointed. The dialogue is strangely stilted, with a use of exclamation points that really brought me up short several times. The author hits her stride in the last quarter of the book, ...
I got this because I enjoy David Wishart's books so much, and was fairly disappointed. The dialogue is strangely stilted, with a use of exclamation points that really brought me up short several times. The author hits her stride in the last quarter of the book, and I really enjoyed her description of the triumphal procession, but in general, it almost read as if she were trying to mimic a TV detective's voice-over narration. It was a real struggle to get through, and though the end left me thinking I'd like to follow the character's adventures a little further, I won't, because I can't put up with the writing style.

posted by Anonymous on August 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Roman Revelations

    With its well developed characters, outstanding description of ancient roman life, and refreshing humor, Silver Pigs caught my attention and kept it throughout its pages. Falco is a simply wonderful character. He says and does as he pleases which gives him the facade of someone commonplace, but he is in fact smart and just tough enough to get the job done. Silver Pigs is so multifaceted and that is one of the things I liked about it. The mystery, wit, and romance that it braids into one tale is seamless. It is a book that I would absolutely reccomend to any lover of historical fiction, ancient rome, or mysteries.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    EVERYMAN IN ANCIENT ROME As a historical fiction aficionado, I¿m

    EVERYMAN IN ANCIENT ROME
    As a historical fiction aficionado, I’m not sure how I missed this series all these years. Much of the appeal is that we can relate to Marcus Didius Falco as many of the problems he encounters in his daily life are the same ones we face 1,900 years later. The Falco series predates the Medicus series by Ruth Downie but they have this in common. Ironically both series are written by ladies that appear to understand men much better than men understand ladies. The sense of humor of the characters, particularly Falco, and the setting and culture of Rome adds to the appeal. Marcus Didius Falco is an informer which is close to what we would call a private detective. He is a former Roman legionnaire with Republican leanings, cynical and a bit more rough and tumble than most of us. The murder of a young lady has a deep impact on Falco and he seeks to uncover a plot against the Emperor Vespasian in order to find her killers. This becomes more complicated when he falls in love with her sister, Helena Justina, who is of the aristocracy well above his rank. His is also distracted by rent collectors on his tenement home, an overbearing mother, problematic sisters, nieces and nephews and deadbeat brother-in-laws. The list of characters is useful in keeping up with the host of characters involved in the plot. I’ve found another series that I’m stuck on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    I love Falco!

    This is a great book, the first in a series starring Falco. Non-stop action, a wise-cracking protagonist, and lots of info I didn't previously know about the 1st-century Roman Empire. I'm sure there are some anachronisms in this book, but it's a small quibble. This was suggested to me by my Classics professor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Falco is Awesome

    What a fun read! I enjoyed getting to know Falco and look forward to reading the other books in the series. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a fun read set in an interesting peiod of history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Thumping Good Read

    Wonderful series to dive into if you are a mystery buff OR a fan of Roman history. You will learn history in the most painless and amusing way if you read these books! I love the main character, Marcus Didius Falco and his entourage that just increases with each book. Very human and believable characters. Give it a shot & you will be adding to your personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Terrific Falco Mystery

    I love historical mysteries that have been well researched, but my favorites will always be those that include a good deal of comic relief, as all the Falco mysteries do. Once you read any of them, you are tempted to read them all, and reading them from first to last published is a particular treat. I highly recommend them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Marcus Didius Falco and Vespasian's Rome rock!

    I like historical novels and mysteries are my favorites. Most of the historical-mystery combinations are disappointing, due to the novelist's lack of in-depth knowledge of the era and mores being described. This is emphatically NOT the case here. Lindsey Davis has the Roman Empire---both Italy and the outreaches of empire---taped. This book, and most of the others in the series that I have read so far, are pretty much spot on in their portrayals of the period, how the average, and not so average, Romans lived, and how aspirations to advance in society might be achieved. The characters, especially that of Falco himself, are charming (or not--it depends!) and the settings neatly delineated. The mystery part is excellent, too! For anyone who enjoys true escapism, I can't recommend this series, and "The Silver Pigs", its initial book, too highly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    LINDSEY DAVIS HAS WRITTEN A SERIES OF BOOKS WHICH ARE FASCINATING FOR THEIR DEPTH AND A REFLECTION OF HER SUPERB SCHOLARSHIP. READ ALL OF HER BOOKS FOR THE PURE ENJOYMENT OF AN INTELLIGENT PRESENTATION. SHE NEVER LETS HER FANS DOWN!!!

    LINDSEY DAVIS HAS WRITTEN A SERIES OF BOOKS WHICH ARE FASCINATING FOR THEIR DEPTH AND A REFLECTION OF HER SUPERB SCHOLARSHIP. READ ALL OF HER BOOKS FOR THE PURE ENJOYMENT OF AN INTELLIGENT PRESENTATION. SHE NEVER LETS HER FANS DOWN!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1