Customer Reviews for

The Silver Rose

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    a slight decline in the series...

    I read the entire Dark Queen series, including The Huntress that was published not long ago. I would have to say that after the first two novels, there was a loss of capturing the audience. In the first two novels, I was hooked, I couldn't put the books down. With The Silver Rose and The Hunteress, however, were easy to set down. It took me a week to finish these books. I wasn't disapointed, but I wasn't as captivated. I just thought that Miri deserved a better story. Though, The Bride Finder series was wonderful form start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    Could Have Been Better

    I liked the book very much. I did not enjoy it as much as the Dark Queen. I however thought susan carrol captured the emotion of simion very well. I could see the characters clearly in my mind. I would have liked to hear much much more about Ariane and Renard. They were the main characters of the whole series acording to me. This book to me turned out as another one of those cheesy Romances books rather than a historical thriller to me like the first book in the trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Water room

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Miri Cheney all grown up!

    This was an interesting story! I'm glad to see a new threat introduced besides The Dark Queen herself. It's also nice to see Miri finally 'grown up' and I enjoyed watching her character develop throughout the three novels. She still maintains a bit of her naivete, yet most of it is gone because of what went on between her and Simon in the previous book.

    I was so glad to see Martin Le Loup was back for this book! I loved him as the comic relief, and he gets even more comical when he squares off with Simon. The pace of the novel was good and the mystery behind The Silver Rose was also well done. I was hoping to see the return of the older two Cheney sisters, but it seems Miri is just the main feature for this book. The plot has a more paranormal magical feel to it, it's still in a historical setting, but you don't really see famous royalty as much as before. I suppose the book was to take a break from the usual setting, to give the series a good break and to try something new. It's good because not only does the plot take a turn for the more interesting, but a new setting is nice to see.

    I liked seeing Miri and Simon together. There is a lot of tension and passion between the two of them. The reader does not feel that much intensity between Miri and Martin but they're also nice together as well. It's hard to choose between Martin and Simon as they both have their good qualities, but it just seems Martin is the more fun of the two men. His charm and his ability to get a laugh or a smile from the reader just seems to come naturally.

    There was only one thing I did not like: there was a love scene, but what annoys me is during that particular point in the book the characters were being followed with the intent to kill or harm. Yet the couple in question feel it's all right to take the time to do the deed. This is what I can't stand. Really? couples do that? when they're in danger they feel the need to do the horizontal dance and not care there's a band of men ready to kill them? why? is that necessary? we already know they're in love what's the point?! it just annoyed me and I don't like seeing this in novels I'm reading. To me, this does not make sense. All this aside though, I did enjoy reading this book. The ending opens more possibilities for future books which I will pursue. I have become too attached to the characters to just give up (plus, I'd really like to know what's in store for Le Loup!)

    It's a great book and written with the same quality of writing as the other two, so fans will not be disappointed. Those just getting started would also enjoy reading this although it would help at least reading The Courtesan. Characters from the previous book are carried over to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    Good

    I though that the plot had too many parts and she resolved all the conflicts too fast. The other two books were much better, but this was defenitly not a bad book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    not as good as expected

    def not as good as the courtesan or the dark queen, there is romance but not like the other 2 books where it is at the beginning and all through i feel like she held back alot adn could have added alot more too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    What might have been....

    The best thing about this novel is that it finished the Cheney sister trilogy. The Dark Queen and the Courtesan were fantastic books that were able to weave history, intrigue, and romance into the tale of 3 sisters struggling to shoulder their legacy. The Silver Rose attempts to tie up the dangling plotlines and continue the intrigue, however, Ms Carroll doesn't use all of her available resources. Ariane, Renard, Gabrielle and Remy do not really appear in the book, and weakens it considerably. Miri's predicament was the most intriguing, as she was inexiplicably drawn to the one man who seemingly could never accept the entire Miri. Unfortunately, things resolve themselves in typical romance book fashion (remorse, redemption and happily ever after). The potential resistance from her family is glossed over, and it if Carroll was going for a happily ever after, she should have returned Faire Isle to the place it was at the beginning of the Dark Queen. While it's satisfying to see Miri and Simon together, it's disappointing to realize what this novel could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Must read previous novels first.

    If you have not read Susan Carroll's books in this series prior to this one, then be advised, The Silver Rose is not a good place to begin. The first time reader gets the immediate impression that they have landed in the middle of something. This tells the story of the third and most gifted sister of the Cheney family, Miri, who holds what could be a fatal attraction for a witch hunter, Simon Aristide. However, she will need his help to stop the Dark Queen, Catherine De Medici, no matter what his profession is. Together, they battle the forces of evil and claim a great prize. ................... Lacking the background of the first two books, I felt lost. Miri did seem a terribly weak heroine to command such power. However, Ms. Carroll does have a beautiful use of prose.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent romantic fantasy

    Ten years ago, Simon Arisitide the witch hunter thought he did the right thing when he brought justice to Faire Isle, but now has doubts as the evil Silver Rose and her minion use infant sacrifice to conjure spells. He is tired and needs help to stop the unknown Silver Rose his last hope lies in Faire Isle, which he destroyed a decade ago by betraying his beloved Miri Cheney. Still she can lead him to her sister Ariane who he by his actions sent into hidden exile (see THE DARK QUEEN), but needs the Lady of Faire Isle even if she and her two sisters are witches. --- Miri wants nothing to do with Simon, who understands her loathing of him just by looking around the once thriving Faire Isle that he devastated. Still with the France's 'Dark Queen' Catherine de Medici demanding she and or her siblings help stop The Silver Rose before further demonic practices occur, Miri reluctantly agrees to assist Simon on a quest between the good wise women and the malevolent devil worshipper. --- The final tale in the Faire Isle trilogy (see THE DARK QUEEN and THE COURTESAN) is a fine romantic historical fantasy starring two individuals in love with a past that makes teaming even against a malicious common foe difficult. The relationship between Miri and Simon supersedes the action as each tries to do the right thing for the good of people yet the events of a decade ago that led to the destruction of her home hangs heavily between them especially in light of his losing his target, the lethal sinister Book of Shadows. Susan Carroll¿s fans will appreciate this fine climax to an enchanting series. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2