Customer Reviews for

Silver Shark

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Fabulous Novel by Ilona Andrews

    Silent Blade and Silver Shark are really quick reads, so I don't want to give too much away. So let me just say this, if you're looking for a new world to explore with a lot of hidden possibilities and characters that are not only intriguing in what they can do, but who they are, then you definitely want to pick up from Silent Blade and Silver Shark Ilona Andrews. Considering Silent Blade is only $2.5o and Silver Shark is $2.99, there's really no reason not to get them. They are worth every penny.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I enjoyed reading this book ! Great characters. Interesting story that will keep you entertained for hours! Can only recommend

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Perfect for the romance reader who also loves Sci-fi and Urban Fantasy - The Kinsmen series is gripping!

    4.85/5 (one must be very clear about these things) =D

    I'll begin by the worst fault of the book - the absolutely heinous, most maddening, unpardonable of all its flaws - it's too short.

    The premise is set beautifully. The first 25% of my ebook takes me from a war torn world, where existence is a punishment to be endured in service of a cause beyond your understanding and with loyalty to an unfeeling corporation trapped in an unending battle began and run by greed, to a planet where every colour is bursting with life and touch, scent and taste are allowed to bring forth the best and the worst of your emotions.
    Claire Shannon leaves her dreary, apparently inescapable life in Uley and arrives in Rada, in the flower province of Dahlia.
    If you've read the first Kinsmen novella, Silent Blade, then you know about this province. You know the wealth and power the gifted Kinsmen wield and their constant battle for supremacy tempered by tradition, protocol, customs and alliances.
    Here Claire arrives as a refugee after enduring a painful scan by the immigration officers that could unveil her secret- that she was a trained psycher in Uley and that she can kill with her mind. She passes the test and her brain is declared inert. She is given a job recommendation and arrives at Guardian Inc. for her first interview. Here she meets the head of the Escana Kinsmen family, Venturo Escana, who looks at her drab clothing, chemical stained hair and hires her out of pity. She becomes an Admin in his office. She leaves Guardian Inc. that first day her mind reeling from the beauty of the Adonis who had stood in front of her and the startling brightness of his powerful mind, and coming to grips with her chagrin at being pitied by some one as magnificent as him.

    And so the preview ended. I was almost panting for what came next. The authors were ridiculously good with the details and made sure I appreciated her position perfectly. They described both her home planet and the new one that she was coming to love with vivid strokes from a mixed pallet.
    This could have gone in so many ways, and while I stewed over what can happen next for two weeks (till the book came out), I knew I could safely leave the story in the hands of two of my favourite authors. My imagination frankly couldn't come up with anything remotely satisfactory.

    The best part is that they skimmed over everything I would have wanted them to go into.
    The worst part is that they skimmed over everything I would have wanted them to go into.

    There was the office romance, there was the fight between Claire and Venturo in their psycher forms (inside the bionet), and there was the final 'F U' to the bad guys when her truth came out and the two ganged up to teach the idiots a lesson, there was even a little disapproval from a family member to keep the plot well rounded - but dammit, why did they have to make it so short? It seems such a waste of a wonderful plot-line filled with so much...potential!

    I can't get over that. I'm going back to my kindle app to read it again. Maybe I'll feel less emotional about it tomorrow. Probably not.

    VERDICT: Loved it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Always a pleasure to read

    Silver Shark is set in the same universe as Silent Blade. It's a small novella revovling around Claire Shannon, a Captain with keen mental abilities to go into the bionet and kill the enemy for the sake of her army.

    Only things take a turn for the worse when her team is on the losing end of things.

    In order to avoid detection, she goes underground as a civilian on another planet. An untalented civilian. Her path crosses with Ventura Escana, a talented psycher in his own right. It becomes harder for Claire to hide what she really is as time goes by and it takes a threat to one of her own people that had been moved to the planet with her that has her deciding if she can trust her employer or not.

    This is another fast paced story created by the husband and wife team and it does not let you down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Not up to the usual Andrews standard

    Too many logical inconsistencies in this bionet scenario. Surely any security system would immediately and independently report what was tampered with, and negate any appearance of innocence on the children's part. And these brats did not deserve to be helped: their behavior was wrong and they deserved to be punished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    very good story!!! i do think it ended too quick and was very sa

    very good story!!! i do think it ended too quick and was very sad that there wasn't more to read i was so hooked!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    AM

    Wonderful book. A little under 100 pages; but totally satisfying. I like this duo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Great short story

    Good story. You wont regret reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    This is a new kind of supernatural story

    Show great imagination wish there was more new thinking likethis out there. Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Silver Shark is the second in the Andrews' Kinsmen series but ca

    Silver Shark is the second in the Andrews' Kinsmen series but can be read as standalone. It provides extra background into psychers, which are one branch of the Kinsmen.

    In Silver Shark, we get the story of Claire Shannon, a native to the plant Uley. She's been involved in a war between two rival corporations for the past eight years, as a high-ranking psycher. When the war abruptly ends, she finds herself making a new life on the planet Rada. 

    Venturo Escana, Claire's new boss, is a psycher almost as powerful as she is. Unfortunately, she must hide her abilities from him. Venturo is from a powerful Rada family and takes a unique interest in Claire.

    Although we spend little time on Uley, the differences described between its landscape and that of Rada, as seen through Claire's eyes, are remarkable. The Andrews created a vivid world where I was able to picture all the colors and buildings shaped as flowers. I enjoyed the details on the abilities of psychers as well. The things they can do with their minds are astounding. I also appreciated the character development of Claire and Ven - so well done in so few pages. We get to see that both Claire and Ven are talented, powerful, and extremely loyal people. They also happen to be hot for one another! ;)

    The excitement and tension provided through Claire hiding herself, seeing Rada via Claire, and her attempts at repaying a debt to a fellow refugee was all I could have hoped for. The description of the inner - and outer - workings of a psychers mind was fascinating. And, of course, the sexual tension between Claire and Ven was quite fun.

    I am anxious to finish this series as well as pick back up with their other series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Flameheart, are you here?

    $ilver/\/\oon$ong

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Willa

    Kk

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Good read

    Way f
    Too short

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Cool

    Weird

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Sharktooth

    Were is she !!!! His eyes full of worr

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Highly enjoyable SciFi romance

    I would read more stories about this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    10/30/11

    A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Once i started i could not put the book down...you get lost in the story

    Awesome! Ilona Andrews never fails to draw me in to the worlds they create.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Great find

    A great story, how do they day so much inso brief a tale? Tremendous character development and a re look a couple from an earlier book which I jist bought! Ilook forward to more of their work gw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    1 complaint...too short!

    I was pleasantly surprised to see this new release posted on the Andrews website (lurking over there for any news or snippets about the Kate Daniels series). Read a snippet, was hooked and purchased. Well paced, simple and relatable explanation of the science/extrasensory abilities in the Kinsmen world, great read. How did I miss "Silent Blade"? - going to purchase now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5