Customer Reviews for

Silver Storm (Rakes & Rebels, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic reading!

Anyone who enjoys a book with romance, fantastic characters and a good story line will enjoy this book. As soon as I finshed it, I purchased two more and can't wait to start reading them. This author knows how to write stories that leave the reader wanting more. Need...
Anyone who enjoys a book with romance, fantastic characters and a good story line will enjoy this book. As soon as I finshed it, I purchased two more and can't wait to start reading them. This author knows how to write stories that leave the reader wanting more. Needless to say, I highly recommend it.

posted by goldieinaz on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

They both cheat multiple times and he is rude and hateful to her

They both cheat multiple times and he is rude and hateful to her the entire book. He treats her like dirt and she just is so in love with him that she keeps coming back. 
It's not realistic or romantic it's actually quite sad and pathetic. She has three love interests, ...
They both cheat multiple times and he is rude and hateful to her the entire book. He treats her like dirt and she just is so in love with him that she keeps coming back. 
It's not realistic or romantic it's actually quite sad and pathetic. She has three love interests, gets married to someone else and he has even more love interests than that.
I enjoyed the first 300 pages very much but it goes down hill quick, I kept hoping it would get better but by page 550 I realize he's cheating yet again. Not a good book and
there are to many stupid twists. Not worth the time.  

posted by 11701117 on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Fantastic reading!

    Anyone who enjoys a book with romance, fantastic characters and a good story line will enjoy this book. As soon as I finshed it, I purchased two more and can't wait to start reading them. This author knows how to write stories that leave the reader wanting more. Needless to say, I highly recommend it.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Fall in love

    Sooo in love with reading Cynthia's books! They take you away and put you in the storyline with the characters. A must read along with her other books!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    They both cheat multiple times and he is rude and hateful to her

    They both cheat multiple times and he is rude and hateful to her the entire book. He treats her like dirt and she just is so in love with him that she keeps coming back. 
    It's not realistic or romantic it's actually quite sad and pathetic. She has three love interests, gets married to someone else and he has even more love interests than that.
    I enjoyed the first 300 pages very much but it goes down hill quick, I kept hoping it would get better but by page 550 I realize he's cheating yet again. Not a good book and
    there are to many stupid twists. Not worth the time.  

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Depressed

    I dont know how anyone can say this is a good story. I was highly dissapointed and depressed by all the things devon had to go through. Andre lies, cheats, and pretty much treats her horrible the entire book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Good read

    This was my first book by Ms. Wright. The story was believable. The lead characters were good. The female lead was not strong but i liked her anyway. The romance was good but not explicit. The ending was great.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Seventies Classic of Colonial Romance!

    Cynthia Wright's legendary series of American Colonial romances culminates in this perfect gem of a book.

    Devon Lindsay is a delicious little patriot with a perky smile and bouncing red-gold curls who just happens to think that French sea-captain Andre Raveneau is to die for!

    Unfortunately Andre is so used to bedding scores and scores of eager and willing beauties that it takes time for him to realize that his bouncy little stowaway is really the love of his life.

    Devon begins the book "engaged" to a childhood playmate who is not really worthy of her -- but out of loyalty she stows away in Andre's ship in a desperate attempt to rescue her weak fiancee! Don't miss what happens when the two of them finally get together in this fun, touching, and inspiring tale of true love and American patriotism.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Love this!!

    This book keeps up with all the fun, love, passion and excitement as the first two novels Cynthia Wright wrote.

    Devon, a feisty heroine and Andre her sarcastic love interest. Andre didn't win me over until the end and now they're my favorite couple! Cannot wait to read Surrender the Stars and revisit with them!

    For historical romance at its best--you must read Cynthia Wright!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    TYPE FAST AND ORDER THIS FANTASTIC E-BOOK! I have read many of

    TYPE FAST AND ORDER THIS FANTASTIC E-BOOK! I have read many of Cynthia Wright's novels, and stayed away from this series, because I like more Regency or Highland Romances. But, since I have never been disappointed in the novels she writes, I went ahead and purchased the bundle. MY OH MY, what a fantastic choice. This book can stand alone, but why not immerse yourself in this slow building love story and purchase the bundle? I won't go into the story, as it has been described, but I couldn't stand the suspense, and must admit that I peaked several times ahead in the book. Don't do it, because the build up is fantastic, but my heart couldn't take not knowing the outcome. The ending is beautiful, tender and has twists (no cliff hanger-thank goodness). At times, I became upset with both our H/H but it made the reading more worthwhile. I highly recommend this series, or even just this book, which is free. (ljb)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Pretty good

    I like the book. I had a little trouble in the beginning i felt aa little overwhelmed with charectors. That was resolved by the end of the first or second chapter. I also felt that the romance scenes could have been develped a little more because it was the focal point od their relationship. I liked the story line and how he struggled with changing even after he met the "love of his love".

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Excellent

    Great book, lots of romance and adventure. My favorite book of hers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Super reading!

    A hero to remember, great history, adventure, a fast-paced plot = super reading!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    I really liked the book. I liked Andre Raveneau the best. I am

    I really liked the book. I liked Andre Raveneau the best. I am buying the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    would not pay for it

    i was so disapointed in this book it had lots of weird tuns. it could have been a great book but too many loose ends

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Hard to finish

    Not a bad story line just not well written. So many ups and downs.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Historical Romance

    654 pages. Enjoyed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed this book. Read all 600 plus pages in two days. Loved that Morgan and Eugenia lost out and little Louisa found her real daddy. I really liked Minter. Will trad more by this author. GJRA



    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Good read!

    Enjoyed her (Cynthia Wright's)style of writing. Good story plot. Keeps you turning the pages. If you enjoy reading the old swashbuckler pirate and the pretty young maiden stories, you will love this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Recommended. YES!

    Very entertaining. One of them all nighters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    A KEEPER FOR ME

    The Pirate Andre Raveneau was such a fun character to read about. I was totally involved in reading this book and enjoyed every minute of it. This book typifies why I love reading BR's from the 70' and 80's and makes it worth being seen in public with these lusty book covers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    a good read

    This story was a good read if you like romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10