Customer Reviews for

Silver-Tongued Devil (Sabina Kane Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Three months after Green-Eyed Demon ends, things are good, bad,

    Three months after Green-Eyed Demon ends, things are good, bad, and okay... Sabina is drawn to a crime scene by the smell of fresh blood, only because she'd been drinking bagged blood for months now. But as she's there she hears the coroner wonder of the lack of blood at the scene and obvious attack point. Sabina suspects a new vampire, an inexperienced one at that, is now killing in Slades territory. Then a second murder, at the Vein, pulls Sabina, Adam, and Giguhl into working on the case that Sabina doesn't want to be on. Which all needs to be solved ASAP with as the treaty amoung the three races; Vampires, Mages, and Fey, is coming close to signing. Maise appears to be getting better, on the surface, but no prolific dreams, but things are going wonderfully with Adam...or are they?

    If you haven't read the first three books, I guess you could start with this one. The main arc of the first three books has pretty much closed, and the threads still open are briefly explained, and carried on from here. But I would definitely start at the beginning, so you see what all has transpired with Cain previously, and appreciate the growth and changes in the characters.

    Sabina has turned over a new leaf, and is really trying to be a part of the group now, a team player. She still has her moments where she rather flight than talk with her friends and ask for help. But she has come a loooong way from Red-Headed Stepchild. Sabina seems to need her friends around now and likes having them. And even though she has a quick tongue with Giguhl she still wants him happy.

    Giguhl has gone from Demon Fight Club to Roller Derby. lol! That is just fun, and the names. Oh my. lol. Giguhl and Sabina come back as a team again here. There are a few touching moments where they talk, and then are the old team again.

    We have many names from the last three books popping up here; PW, Mac, Georgia, Errol, and others. It's really great to see them all come together here. But of course, you know they can't stay that way.... so what pulls them apart? What happens in their lives? You just have to read it. Oh, we have full out action here, and some tragic losses. But I'm not telling you who.

    Sabina is thought to be crazy for thinking Cain is still after her... And the Vampires have a new "Leader" who still doesn't care for Sabina, which might make certain actions difficult for Sabina.

    I enjoy reading the books of Sabina. There is always great action, and so much fun for me. I enjoy laughing and worrying about the characters. Then reading the fights as well. This one in no way disappointed. It lived up to the other books in the series, even with Sabina growing as a character. This one did have the middle child feel, only in the fact that it left me WANTING the final book ASAP. lol.

    Well done. I'm awaiting the fifth and final book of Sabina, Blue-Blooded Vamp.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Awesome Read!!!!!

    Action packed! I love the characters in this book. Great storyline!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great read!

    I stumbled on to this series and love each book. The series has a great storyline and the plots just keep getting better. The world building in this series is really great. The characters are so well developed and truly make the books so much more. Not to mention the demons hilarious remarks that add spice to the books. This book did not disappoint and I can't wait until the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    So good!

    A great take on the vampire and mage story, very original. A one of a kind story, an they are all good from the first to the last. Get this you will not be sorry. But startfrom the first book cause they do continue one to the next. One picks up where the one left off. So start at the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Must read!

    Great series! Must read all the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Sky

    Hello shimmersky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Bios

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Fun, Quick Read

    Great way to spend my days during Hurricane Sandy! Sorry to see it end but at least it had a solid progression toward it's end. Enjoyed Sabina's journey to self realization and worth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Very entertaining

    I have really enjoyed the Sabina Kane series. It is escapist reading and really fun. The author mixes humor and some sex to a adventure fantasy story with magic, fighting vampires and a love angle. The characters are believable in their flaws and foibles. And the demon as her minion does add humor and a fun quality. Yes it is a bit low brow/almost juvenile at times but still worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Spellbinding!!!

    Excellent read. I hate to see the series end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Love this series

    Ive enjoyed this series from the start. This book was great. I'm sad it's ending soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Awesome

    Great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Liked the whole series

    I liked this whole series, and was happy i didn't find them until all the books were out. Will read the author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Silversong.

    Feathersong, you may keep your name.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Feathersong

    Ok

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Good book.

    Good author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Keeps me wanting more....

    You know you've enjoyed a book when you're disappointed that it has ended and you check Barnes & Noble to see if there's a new one coming out that you can Pre-Order!!! Done and Done! Looking forward to the next installment but sad that it will mark the end of the story. So... does Jaye Wells have another series already that I don't know about? Is there a new one already in development? Hope so and Hope so!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    First thank you again NetGalley!! I just love you!! Second, I h

    First thank you again NetGalley!! I just love you!!
    Second, I have been beyond obsessively in love this series since Red Headed Step Child!! I am firm in my opinion that Ms Wells is literally ONE of the greatest writers EVER! You know, I can NEVER do justice with my words but I will surely try! So here we go...

    Being that this is book 4, and book 5-Blue Blooded Vamp- is going to be the last, I really wanna crawl in a hole and weep. There is something worderfully magical about Jaye Wells when she puts pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard, however it happens) and Sabina's story comes out. I keep saying that every book in the series is better than the last, and it is certainly true AGAIN! My only thoughts right now are, "Holy crappazoly!!! I am stammering!" I swear Ms Wells tops it all with this one! I don't know if she can do better- but she will, cuz she just is something special!

    I don't know exactly WHY I love this series so much, except that I just do. It's a sum of all of it I think, the writing style, the plot, the ideas, the names, the magic, the freaking awesome demon!!, the flow of how awesome everything goes on, and the whopping CRAZY TOTALLY UNEXPECTED ENDING!!! I mean come on, this is the best of the best. Do NOT change, because there is absolutely nothing to make this book better! I know that Blue Blooded Vamp is the last Sabina and I swear I'm gunna cry, but this is the whole package people! I just can't say that enough! And who thought I could love a vamp :) I'm usually the werewolf cheerleader :)

    I am actually quite picky in saying I LOVE a book or book series... sure I really like a lot, but I think with this book, she has surpassed many of my other favorites. I was happy, then mad, then scared, then really angry, then sad, and literally about to cry, then so shocked, I say with the book in my hand and I think drool slipped out... Yes, I said book, because even thought I got a copy from NetGalley, I purchased the book on it's release date also :) Yeah, like I wasn't going to get this one and put it with its siblings :)

    What's the words I'm looking for... Bravo, Brava... or if you are like me and from the south... "HELLY YEAH!! GIMME MORE!!!"

    I know by scale only goes to 5 paws but 10 paws :) ok ok 5 paws and something extra LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Worth reading, yet unexpected

    If you've enjoyed the previous books in the Sabina Kane series, you definitely have to read Silver-Tongued devil. It provides a resolution to the Maisie story line developed in book 3, though that's all the detail I can go into without revealing some major-league spoilers! This book was true to Sabina Kane form, full of her trademark attitude, many action scenes, and some serious plot twists. The ending was definitely not my favorite, but I will give Jaye Wells this: she has me itching to find out what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really 3.75 Rating

    I strongly suggest you read the previous books in the series [Red-Headed Stepchild, novella in Vampire Romance 2, Mage in Black, Green Eyed Demon and Violet Tendencies (Sabina Short)] prior to reading this installment. I am an avid reader of the Sabina Kane series. However, this particular installment, felt like a stepping stone to the next book. There were a few slow spots and some pages fillers. The plot felt like it was scattered and all over the place at times. I did however, love the evolution for the series. I didn’t start to get really glued to the story until three-fourths of the way through it. That’s when things started to heat up. Even with my disappointments, I still enjoyed most of the story and read the entire book. If the last parts of the book are any indication of how the next book in the series will go, I can’t wait to read it. I sense Sabina’s next journey will make all her past journeys look like a cake walk. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and I look forward to reading the next book in this series Blue-Blooded Vamp Due out 6/1/2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5