Customer Reviews for

The Silver Wolf

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Very Interesting Read

Going in apprehensive because of some of the reviews, I got much more than I expected from this book. It was complex, interesting, and very emotional at times. It did not sugarcoat anything like passion or the harsh realities of society at the time, and though the main ...
Going in apprehensive because of some of the reviews, I got much more than I expected from this book. It was complex, interesting, and very emotional at times. It did not sugarcoat anything like passion or the harsh realities of society at the time, and though the main character was a mythical creature, she was portrayed as very real. This is by far the best werewolf story I have ever read, and I highly recommend it.

However, if you are expecting a fantasy book, this is not for you. Though it does have some humor, it is a very mature book; not like a fancy romance novel or deep-brooding-teenage-soul book. It will make you uncomfortable at times, and there are some points where I had to go back and reread to completely understand what was going on, but overall it was fantastic!

posted by Sinclair_San_Tonava on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not great

Seems that this one made it through publishing based on who the author knows rather than sheer talent. Seemed like a good premise, but the oh so predictable plot dragged on & on. Some characters were interesting but inconsistent. Did not like the "little girl" with t...
Seems that this one made it through publishing based on who the author knows rather than sheer talent. Seemed like a good premise, but the oh so predictable plot dragged on & on. Some characters were interesting but inconsistent. Did not like the "little girl" with the vocabulary & mannerisms of a jaded aristrocrat. Found several contradictions within the story line, so that i had to keep going back & re-reading to try & figure out what was going on, which was very distracting. Did not continue in the series, too frustrating to wade through.

posted by wander1 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    A Very Interesting Read

    Going in apprehensive because of some of the reviews, I got much more than I expected from this book. It was complex, interesting, and very emotional at times. It did not sugarcoat anything like passion or the harsh realities of society at the time, and though the main character was a mythical creature, she was portrayed as very real. This is by far the best werewolf story I have ever read, and I highly recommend it.

    However, if you are expecting a fantasy book, this is not for you. Though it does have some humor, it is a very mature book; not like a fancy romance novel or deep-brooding-teenage-soul book. It will make you uncomfortable at times, and there are some points where I had to go back and reread to completely understand what was going on, but overall it was fantastic!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Amazing Book, Amazing Author

    Before I was done with the first page I knew this would be a great book. The author's prose was magnificent. Ms. Borchardt has a way of opening a portal into another universe and letting you see not only the beauty of life, but of death as well. Borchardt, as well as her sister, Anne Rice, are the best modern day authors. The imagery and characters are enough to hold you in rapture. The new take on the werewolf, and the development of Regeane was well done. This book has all you could possibly want:history of Rome in the Dark Ages, werewolves, great characters, amazing fighting scenes, and lively prose.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Not great

    Seems that this one made it through publishing based on who the author knows rather than sheer talent. Seemed like a good premise, but the oh so predictable plot dragged on & on. Some characters were interesting but inconsistent. Did not like the "little girl" with the vocabulary & mannerisms of a jaded aristrocrat. Found several contradictions within the story line, so that i had to keep going back & re-reading to try & figure out what was going on, which was very distracting. Did not continue in the series, too frustrating to wade through.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    TRUELY AMAZING

    In this novel of emotional exploration and self discovery Ms. Borchardt has opened a new realm of ficton that will intrigue readers of popular ficton/fantasy/horror. This novel is amazing well written and thought out with a story line that just won't quit. I especially enjoyed the historical setting and the accuracy with which it was portrayed. Ms. Borchardt has stepped out of the shadows and taken center stage from her sister, Anne Rice, who has not exhibited such talent since THE MUMMY (or RAMSES THE DAMNED) and MEMNOCH THE DEVIL.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Best Historical Werewolf Book Ever!!

    I saw this book years ago in a run down antique store and i loved the cover and the description sounded interesting once I started reading it i couldn't put it down. It shows ancient Rome like I've never seen it before, it is very descriptive about architecture and food, this book really made me hungry a lot. It is a wonderful book and I reccomend it to everyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Love these books! Disappointed that there won't be any more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Great!!!!!

    Great read, wonderful melding of the supernatural with the historical. Surprisig and satisfying endig.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wolf book like non other

    I've read this book once before and lost it so I ordered it online since the store didn't carry it.

    I fell in love with how everything was described. "The Silver Wolf" is, by far, the best werewolf book I have ever read. The details, the emotions. If there were any truth to the myth, it would be as it is in this book.

    It might've started off a bit slow in the beginning but it soon shot up.This world is truly filled with unrivalled magic!

    Alice Borchardt, rest her soul, did an amazing job. She, like her sister, Anne Rice, are brilliant geniuses. I can't wait to read the two books that follow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Silver Wolf

    The Silver Wolf's plot was original and appealing to any non-fiction fanatic. Alice Borchardt has a writing style all her own in this first book of the trilogy. The characters are realistic (except for the shape-shifting of course) and mostly enjoyable although there are a few that are worthy of a good ass-kicking. However, in the end all is well and it leaves you with a touching end open for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Simply put incredible.

    This book was one of the best books that I have read in a long time, I was completely entrapped, reading the book in two days. This was my first book by Alice Borchardt and I had to read all of her others! Great summer read, I recommend it to all of you who enjoy the sensuous side of fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    What a great book!

    The best summer read I have found.Love the way the story is intertwined with werewolf lore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    A really good book!

    This book was one of the best boks I have read this year. It had romance and werewolves. What more could you ask for?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    TRUELY AMAZEING

    The book is a real new way of looking at werewolves, from their point of veiw. This book is a must read of werewolf fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2000

    I AM 16 YR OLD WHO READS ALOT

    THIS BOOK WAS SO GREAT THAT ACTUALLY WAS SORRY I READ ALL OF IT SO SOON. I DEFINATELY RECCOMEND IT FOR ANY ONE WHO HAVEN'T READ IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2000

    this book is great, i can't wait to read Night of the Wolf

    The Silver Wolf was awesome. I got it on my 14th birthday and when i saw Night of the Wolf on the back flap, i just knew i had to get it. For those of you who haven't shared adventures with Regeane i suggest you do so quickly. Once you do, i assure you you won't forget it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    A definite must read

    This intriguing erotic tale of Regeane was a perfect blend of fiction and romance. The characters were as real as breath and captured you with their struggles and passion. This author brings their world to you in an unique and admirable way. This was by far one of the best novels that i've ever read, it's definately the most intriguing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    Excellent !!!!

    This was a very good story! It was full of surprises. The story was captivating and held the attention. The sequel (which is actually a prequel) 'The Night of the Wolf' is not as good, but it will help answer some question from this story. If you have not read it I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of my favorite books, I've read it over and over. Th

    This is one of my favorite books, I've read it over and over. The storyline and writing is excellent and it takes place during a very interesting time in history, shortly after the fall of the Roman Empire. If you are a fan of fantasy and historical fiction I would definitely recommend it. However, it does contain strong language and sexual content so it is not for everyone, especially younger readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Like werewolf stories

    Love this book- for werewolf lovers (like me) anxious to experience the thrill of the hunt, try Skyrim V and go to Jorrvaskr in Whiterun. Join Companions- you become werewolf eventually and can eat human hearts!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Robin

    Pads in and sniffs the ground smelling something

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4