Customer Reviews for

Silverfin

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    Silver Fin

    This book has some great things in it and some things that can be improved. One positive is that the author wrote in amazing detail. I could just picture the scene in my head at the exact moment it was taking place. I could imagine the characters, the castle, the loaded shot-gun, and Red Kelley's hair. It was amazing! Also, it had an interesting plot. You probably figured out that Lord Hellebore is a bad man and that James had to find a way to stop his plan, but did Hellebore stop him? One last positive in this book was the characters. The author uses realistic characters that act like everyday kids. They act like kids would today in my school. Now, I'll tell you about the negatives. One negative is that during the book there were parts like part one and part two. It was almost an immediate change from Eton school to Scotland. It kind of confused me. Something else that I didn't like was the things they did at Eton. They had terms for people and I didn't really catch on to all of those names too well. For example, some of these terms were a wet bob, a dry bob, and a slack bob. I did not remember which was which and I just got very confused. One last negative was Lord Hellebore had a brother that did experiments and he accidently turned his brother into an eel/man. Up to that point the book was realistic and was like something that could happen today, but when the brother turned into an eel/man it no longer was realistic. So, those are the positives and the negatives of this book.I think the author of this book was amazing! The author's writing was so clear I understood the plot right from the prologue. His topics and plots are also very clear because he uses so much detail. While he is describing the Hellebores' castle he spends about a whole page writing detail on it. It had a 10,000 volt fence surrounding the whole castle including their outside property. There was a giant lake told to have the great Silver Fin eel from a legend, a look-out tower with two guards looking for intruders, six guards patrolling the grounds and walking along the fence, and more! In this book the author writes in third person but I think it would be quite interesting to read it from James' standpoint because you could hear his thoughts on George, Red, and Lord Hellebore so that would be something the author could do differently if he made another book similar to this one. So, all in all, I think the author did an amazing job on this book.
    There are some similar novels you can check out. They are H.I.V.E., Alex rider series, and the rest of the James Bond series. Some other books that I enjoyed reading are the Harry Potter series. This series is about magic and Harry goes through seven years at Hogwarts castle. I also like the Lightning Thief series by Rich Riordan. These are fantasy books written about the Gods and their children growing up and having their powers and learning how to fight and defend themself. One last group of books is the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. These books are a realistic fiction and what happens could happen to anyone any day. Some things that the author, Jeff Kinney, puts in the books are things that both the main character and I dislike, such as parents telling you to go outside instead of playing video games, parents not knowing how to take a picture with their new camera and then they try it and the picture is very bad. I hope that what you get out of this review is that you are ready to go by Silver Fin by Charlie Higson!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for teenage males who like mystery and adventure

    The main character attends Eton (male boarding school in England for the rich and famous, the British Royal Family has attended for genrations.) The story takes place over the Easter Holidays and is set mainly in the Scottish Highlands. 2 boys are trying to solve the mystery of the disappearance of a third boy. The young snoops operate below the radar because the story is set in the 1930's. They have no supplies, no cell phone, no computer but neither does the evil scientist with the rich benefactor. The author is British and the language he uses is proper English and may be cumbersome for Americans. It is exciting in a low tech environment. Book 1 of a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    you should read this book and the whole series this series is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    James Bond Book 1

    A good start. But a shame the story had to be written in the 1930's. It should have been done in the 1970s to make it current.
    I would recommend Cherub books, Alex rider and Jason Steed first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    This is a great book.

    This book is very exciting. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling novel, not as complicated and good as Alex Rider though.

    This is a great book. Each book improves on each other. The breakthrough ones are Double or Die, Hurricane Gold, and By Royal Command (BRC only in UK for now). But this is the only one where Higson tries to copy Anthony Horowitz's (author of YA series Alex Rider) by giving unoriginal repulsive descriptions of disgusting things and brain information (like how a car works). I thought it was easy besides info on the cars, and I marvel at how James registers all that info.
    But forget about flaws. This book is action-packed and absorbing. Bond is different than Alex and Potter, and is very unique and likeable. You could see the Bond we know releasing by a bit. The Daniel Craig Bond is released during book 3 and continues on. The cover is attractive. My 17 year old bro only liked the final three, because he said they were Young Adult, and saying the first two are easy. But it isn't easier than Percy J and HP, it's just that Alex Rider raised the Young Adult thriller bar up too high.
    Awesome book. Buy it. Once you get to book 3, you'll love the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Great series, great book

    This is the fisrt Young James Bond book, the 5th book By Royal Command comes out in three days, I cant wait, but this is the best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    A great book for all ages!

    ¿The names Bond, James Bond¿ We all know his name and we all know what he does. But what happened to him as a kid? Well, if you¿re interested in finding out I know just where to find out. It¿s in Charlie Higson¿s SilverFin. It¿s a great mystery and action packed novel that takes places in Scotland. There are parts where you gasp at the drama, laugh at the jokes, cry when it¿s sad, and felling James¿ other emotions. This is the type of book that you will never want to put down and when you do you will want to pick it right back up again. There is something for everybody to enjoy, whether it is the action, suspense, mystery, jokes, or countless other things. It has a well written plot line and paints a picture of each scene in your mind. No matter who reads it they will love it and will always want to read it and re-read it. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone that is a fan of Fleming¿s original James Bond books. -Dave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    WOW

    this book blew me away when i read it. an interesting book. the author(Charlie Higson) never ceased to amaze me. a thrill-a-minute book. i have to say that it made my heart skip a beat. no wonder bond is a SUPER spy. i think bond is a slippery to catch as on of those eels. i highly reccommend it to ages 8-13 year olds. this is a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    very outstanding!

    gah i couldnt stop reading this book! i recomend it to pre teens who love adventures!it is a adventure about james bond when he was a kid! just at first its very boring but dont stop and put it down its a very awesome book!if u have read it spread the gossip about it!it is a very good book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book Silverfin is 352 pages of Suspense. James is a boy with a brain of a man. In this book James faces many difficulties with Lord Hellebore. If you are getting this book on bargained price, dont give it up. You wont regret it. You mught think that the beginning is a little borng, but if you push yourself, you would like the book as you progress throgh the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    The prologue is amazingly written and the rest of the book is even better. I've been looking for a good book and I finally found the series I want to read. I recomend this book to anyone, my dad has even read it and he loved it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Silverfin

    I thought it was a good book for young people who enjoy James Bond.It was very suspenseful,after it got started.If you can hang in there untill the action picks up,then it's a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Silverfin

    Much less a Bond novel and more a mix of pure boy's tale and a Hardy Boys mystery 'with a little of the improbable thrown in', Silverfin is nonetheless enjoyable for about 2/3 of its length. As it nears completion, however, Silverfin firmly establishes that as a Bond novel 'young Bond it may be', it's not really up to the challenge. The plot is just a little too leisurely, with mild happenings and too little genuine suspense. The mad scientist/villain is more pulp cliche than Bond standard, and the 'creepy old castle' headquarters seems like an uninspired attempt to capture a 1930s child mystery flavor. Silverfin is also marked by a disturbing level of violence and cruelty toward animals, inappropriate for young readers. In sum, Silverfin is limited by several genre conventions that fail to gain the book any clear separation or distinction from past pulp adventures in this case, 'Jimmy' Bond emerges as just another entry in the boy hero roll call.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Still Reading It

    Still reading it, but so far it's really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you knew what was best for yourself you would get this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    sliverfin is WICKED!

    SliverFin is a really good book that everyone should read. It is very exciting and you wonder what happens next. It is an adventure story when James Bond is a teenaager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Doesn't hold intrest

    This book was a boor! Waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    This one of the most enjoyable books I have ever read!!!!!

    Silverfin is absolutely AMAZING! It has the perfect balance of adventure, mystery, comedy, and laid-back talk to make it impossible to put down or get bored with. Higson also makes the story seem so realistic you almost want to look in an almanac to make sure that the events in the story didn't actually happen. I ended up looking over my shoulder half the time... I highly reccomend this book to teens and adults. You deffinitely won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    Take several stars off that.

    Written like the recent alex rider book, except less action, no gadgets, and many many more 'luckily's. The book is also filled with hypocritical bull, on one page it mocks the villain who reveals the plan to his captured spy, a few pages over has the generic Randolph spilling his life story and master plan. It tries hard to not be the spy story, ending up merely as a very poor one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2