BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Silverfin (Young Bond Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for teenage males who like mystery and adventure

    The main character attends Eton (male boarding school in England for the rich and famous, the British Royal Family has attended for genrations.) The story takes place over the Easter Holidays and is set mainly in the Scottish Highlands. 2 boys are trying to solve the mystery of the disappearance of a third boy. The young snoops operate below the radar because the story is set in the 1930's. They have no supplies, no cell phone, no computer but neither does the evil scientist with the rich benefactor. The author is British and the language he uses is proper English and may be cumbersome for Americans. It is exciting in a low tech environment. Book 1 of a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    you should read this book and the whole series this series is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    This is a great book.

    This book is very exciting. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Great series, great book

    This is the fisrt Young James Bond book, the 5th book By Royal Command comes out in three days, I cant wait, but this is the best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    A great book for all ages!

    ¿The names Bond, James Bond¿ We all know his name and we all know what he does. But what happened to him as a kid? Well, if you¿re interested in finding out I know just where to find out. It¿s in Charlie Higson¿s SilverFin. It¿s a great mystery and action packed novel that takes places in Scotland. There are parts where you gasp at the drama, laugh at the jokes, cry when it¿s sad, and felling James¿ other emotions. This is the type of book that you will never want to put down and when you do you will want to pick it right back up again. There is something for everybody to enjoy, whether it is the action, suspense, mystery, jokes, or countless other things. It has a well written plot line and paints a picture of each scene in your mind. No matter who reads it they will love it and will always want to read it and re-read it. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone that is a fan of Fleming¿s original James Bond books. -Dave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    WOW

    this book blew me away when i read it. an interesting book. the author(Charlie Higson) never ceased to amaze me. a thrill-a-minute book. i have to say that it made my heart skip a beat. no wonder bond is a SUPER spy. i think bond is a slippery to catch as on of those eels. i highly reccommend it to ages 8-13 year olds. this is a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    very outstanding!

    gah i couldnt stop reading this book! i recomend it to pre teens who love adventures!it is a adventure about james bond when he was a kid! just at first its very boring but dont stop and put it down its a very awesome book!if u have read it spread the gossip about it!it is a very good book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book Silverfin is 352 pages of Suspense. James is a boy with a brain of a man. In this book James faces many difficulties with Lord Hellebore. If you are getting this book on bargained price, dont give it up. You wont regret it. You mught think that the beginning is a little borng, but if you push yourself, you would like the book as you progress throgh the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    The prologue is amazingly written and the rest of the book is even better. I've been looking for a good book and I finally found the series I want to read. I recomend this book to anyone, my dad has even read it and he loved it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you knew what was best for yourself you would get this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    This one of the most enjoyable books I have ever read!!!!!

    Silverfin is absolutely AMAZING! It has the perfect balance of adventure, mystery, comedy, and laid-back talk to make it impossible to put down or get bored with. Higson also makes the story seem so realistic you almost want to look in an almanac to make sure that the events in the story didn't actually happen. I ended up looking over my shoulder half the time... I highly reccomend this book to teens and adults. You deffinitely won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    This is one of the best books ever!!

    This book is a mixture of excitement and adventure. I was suprised that is book wasn't more popular. It is a rollercoaster ride that you don't want to get off and when you think it ends there is another suprising drop. I would recomend this book for anyone who loves the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Silverfin (Young Bond Series #1)

    This book had lots of action and a great summer book recomended to boys and maybe girls. I am awaiting the sequel '' Blood Fever. '' You can see the cover on www.youngbond.com it is hidden on the right bottem corner side of the homepage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    The Best Adventure Book I have ever read!

    I absolutley love this book, and recomend it to anyone who is a James Bond fan, or someone who wants to read a great action book. The author does a great job linking things that James meet when he was 13 to how he is in the movies today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Silverfin (Young Bond Series #1)

    This book was soo cool! I read it in three days and could not not put it down! This story has a great plot and has alot of suspence and action and a great Bond villain! Plus he get's his first driving lesson from his Uncle Max. And I dissagree with one of the first reviews. I don't see any Harry Potter elements and James Bond came before Potter. Riding in a 30's car is way cooler than riding on a broomstick. I could see this series being turned turned into movies which I have heard rumors that they are. I will be reading the rest of the five part series and awaiting the sequel, ''Double M''. (Title may vary).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book! I have just started to get into the 007 franchise. I wasn't sure I wanted to get into a new series because I had so much to read. Boy I regret that. The book takes readers to Scotland , Eton scool and other great locations! You can see bondish moments as you read. The book does a great job in tieing into Flemings novels. Even if you are not a bond fan this is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2