Customer Reviews for

Silverwing (Silverwing Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Enthralling for Young Readers

One of my absolute favorite books in grade school, I highly recommend it to parents looking to entice their child into the world of literature. Mesmerizing and captivating - this book will draw all who read it into the exciting and beautiful world of the Silverwings!

posted by DW-22 on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Silverwing was both an educational and enjoyable read.

This was both an educational and enjoyable read. Oppel takes on a mammoth of a project in anthropomorphizing a generally unknown animal like a bat. However, unlike many who fail at the attempt, he succeeds without question. The entire time, Shade always remains a bat in...
This was both an educational and enjoyable read. Oppel takes on a mammoth of a project in anthropomorphizing a generally unknown animal like a bat. However, unlike many who fail at the attempt, he succeeds without question. The entire time, Shade always remains a bat in the reader's mind, with the description of the lifestyle, the senses, the landscape, and the overall world. Its strongest suit is in the educational element, which is captivating the reader as well as informing them. There is no question that anyone will have a much clearer understanding of the world of bats after reading this book.

The mythology is unique to bats, or at least unique to humans in regards to bats, and that adds an element of credibility, making the bats appear to have their own history separate of humans and other animals. My only gripe would be that sometimes it's a little slow, and I'm wondering why I care so much about a story involving bats. However, the fact that I keep reading is to Oppel's credit as a storyteller. It's a fun read, and I recommend this to children ages 8-13 and adults interested in fantasy and nature.

-Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

posted by Lindsey_Miller on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Shade the runt of the colony is in big trouble. Cannibalistic b


    Shade the runt of the colony is in big trouble. Cannibalistic bats, Goth and Throbb, have run into Shade and a bat, named Marina who is banded by the humans, and plan to get to Shade’s colony the, Silverwings who he got separated from in a storm, before they do.
    Kenneth Oppel has written SilverWing, the first of the SilverWing Series, as a fantasy in which a bat named Shade is separated from his colony and has to save his colony for cannibalistic bats and to go see the sun. There was a big war of birds and beasts and the bats weren’t involved so both sides banished them from being in the daylight. I think this book fits well in the fantasy genre and it is a really good book for all people even adults.
    The runt of the Silverwing Colony, Shade, fights for the rights of bats to be in the daylight and to save his colony from Goth and Throbb, two big cannibalistic bats, and the help of a banded bat, Marina,.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful

    Love this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT READ

    this is the first novel I'v ever read and I'v been hooked on reading ever sense. I read it when I was 8 and now I'm 11 and I have a little library of my own. and if my story didnt convince you this should this is the story of a silverwing who's determined to bring bat's back into the sun and incounter many dangers on the way like two bats who eat there own kind can shade betat them to his colony or is shade doomed?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!

    I liked the book Silverwing because of the action, suspense, and fantasy. The book is about a newborn silverwing bat named Shade who was lost from his colony by a storm. Now he will need all the help he can get to make it back to his colony.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    One of the best books I ever read!

    I read the book as a group at school, and now I find myself with the Trilogy Boxed Set!Great for fantasy/animal fiction book lovers! Shade, Marina, Goth,Zephyr, they are all so cool!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    AWESOME BOOK!

    This is one of the greatest books I have ever read. I read this in 3rd grade and I still love them! The characters are great, plot is great, and everything else is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    The Lowdown

    Reading this series is almost enough to make you sprout your own wings and FLY. From beginning to end, all three books in the Silverwing saga are..well, there aren't enough words to describe them. Shade, Goth, Marina, and everyone else are the most amazing and unexpected characters you will ever meet-and their adventures are the most intense you will ever find. For me, obsessed is an understatement. After reading Silverwing, Sunwing, and Firewing, you will not be able to get them out of your mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    Can't stop thinking about it.

    I just abouslutly loved this book. I am reading other books, but I can't stpop remembering this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Spine-tingling, Hair standing Adventure

    I liked this book so much. I think this book deserves a huge reward. The author did great on comparing bats to humans. He probably did alot of work on researching into bats too. This author was great. I hope he gets around to wrighting alot more great books. What I'm trying to say is that this book was awesome!! Charlie Age 9

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Story contest

    Go to mee first result fo story contest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Nightwing, chapter 1

    Skimming over the banks of a stream, Darkness heard the beetle warming up its wings. He flapped a bit harder, accelerating to 10 mph as he homed in on the musical whine. He was almost invisible against the night sky, the streaks of black flashing in the moonlight. Airborne now, the beetle was a whirl of shell and wing. Darkness couldn't see it, but he could hear it. Caught in his echo vision, the insect hummed and glowed in his mind like a shadow edged with silver. Braking sharply, he caught the bug by its left wing, and threw it into the air. The bug dropped down in front of him, and he lunged at it, his mouth opened. He caught it with his jaws and crunched down with his teeth. Almost at once, he tasted the beetle meat and savored the flavor. He swallowed it whole. The beetles were the best food in the forest by far. mealworms tasted okay, but the mosquitoes tasted awful, but were the easiest to catch. All you had to do was open your mouth, and you probably caught a bunch. He ate so much mosquitoes that he lost count. He spun a web of sound, searching for the rarest insect: the tiger moth. His moter had told him for the past twenty nights to eat a lot more, and he was doing that. He already gained a bit of wheight. Darkness grimaced as he caught a mealworm and swallowed it. He closed his eyes for a moment. Suddenly his ears pricked up. He heard the drumming of a tiger moth's wings! He flapped way too hard, nd already caught up with the tiger moth. All of a sudden, a flash of black cut in front of him and ate the tiger moth. " That was mine!" Darkness yelled angrily. " You had your chance, runt." And suddenly, a peal of laughter rang out. He turned to see who had called him runt. Oh, he thought. It's shadow. Another newborn. " That was delicious," shadow said. Flaring his impressive wings, he landed gracifully onto a branch. The others on the tree were friends of shadow. One was griffin, and another was osiric. They were always together, and were always a wingbeat away from shadow. Runt. He always hated the name- even though it was true. Compared to shadow, he was very small. He was born early and had barely enough strength to cling onto his mother's fur. After a week of drinking his mother's milk, he had already gotten stronger. " Shadow, that was incredible." Griffin said with enthusiasm. " the way you swooped down on it." " that was number two this night." " Two?" Said griffin. " no way!" Darkness flew at shadow and punched him in the jaw. " Weakling!" Said shadow, and everyone started laughing again. " Anyways, my mother says we're leaving in three nights to hiba-hiber-" " hibernaculum" murmured Darkness. "Yeah," Shadow said, not looking at him.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Love it!

    Can you add a girl bat named auroura?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Dusk

    Awesome! At one point in the series is this?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Slverwing Review

    silverwingis great. The TV series (episodes on YouTube) has some extra stuff in it, but the book is still my favorite. Read it and you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Absorbing Action

    Silverwing was one of the best books I've read in a long time. The story is easy to get hooked on, and I really liked how the author gave all sorts of different emotions and thoughts to the animals such as feeling lost or thinking of somebody else as a traitor. This made the characters seem more believable. I also didn't notice any big weaknesses in the book to distract you from the story. I recommend this book to anybody that's somewhat interested in adventurous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    So cool!

    It was Great !I loved it so much... It was also suspensful and cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    FANTASTIC! I'm so glad I read it!

    This whole series has been wonderful. I read the books after my son couldn't put them down. Several nights I would catch him up late reading with a flashlight. From the first page of book one to the last page of book three, I couldn't get Shade, Marina, Goth and later Gryphon and the rest out of my thoughts! Now I've got people at my office reading the books too! This is going to be a classic and I know we'll re-read ours over and over until we were out the pages. My only wish now is for a book 4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    REALLY GREAT BOOK!

    I got this book but didn't read it for a while. Then, one night, I needed something to read, so I started it. I finished it that night! It was really exciting and made me want the next in the series. Also, Shade Silverwing and Marina Brightwing are really likeable, which adds even more to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Above and Beyond a great book!!!

    This is a awesome book! The adventure in this book goes on and on, it never slows down. That's what makes this a great story. I recommand this to anyone who wants to read a ***excellent*** book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Awesome book!!!!

    This book was soooo cool and i really liked it especially when shade found Marina. That part was really cool. Marina has to be my favorite character and her personality is like just like me. This is finally a series i can kinda relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3