Customer Reviews for

Simple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

4th read and still amazed

I have used this "day book" through four years (three years running about 6 years ago and now again this year.) Every time I say "wow." How did she know I felt that way? Did I miss that the last time through. Simple Abundance causes you to take a look at who you real...
I have used this "day book" through four years (three years running about 6 years ago and now again this year.) Every time I say "wow." How did she know I felt that way? Did I miss that the last time through. Simple Abundance causes you to take a look at who you really are and what makes you happy. You learn to appreciate the simple and meaningful things in life. It is a great start for a woman who is exhausted and wrung out by trying to be everything to everyone. I have given my copy away at least five times and had to buy another. This year I bought two copies as gifts.

posted by 1058938 on March 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

Simple though deep in meaning...motivating.

posted by seekingAR on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    4th read and still amazed

    I have used this "day book" through four years (three years running about 6 years ago and now again this year.) Every time I say "wow." How did she know I felt that way? Did I miss that the last time through. Simple Abundance causes you to take a look at who you really are and what makes you happy. You learn to appreciate the simple and meaningful things in life. It is a great start for a woman who is exhausted and wrung out by trying to be everything to everyone. I have given my copy away at least five times and had to buy another. This year I bought two copies as gifts.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    Spiritual journey

    This book was given to me as a Christmas gift in 1997. I have since given several copies as gifts to women I know. I keep it in a spot where I know I can access it for my daily read. I have read each essay many times over as the years have passed, and each reading brings new understanding and self-awareness. The daily essays provide a spiritual introspective glimpse into one's being. Ms. Breathnach provides serenity and groundedness for us in the turmoil that sometimes consumes us. <BR/>This is a collection of writings that you will enjoy year after year.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    Did help with my depression

    This book absolutely helped me with my life-long depression. It took a couple of tries but now I read and refer to it often. I helped me find places within myself where I could also find ways to heal and feel better about living. A real literary treasure!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Simple Abundance - Free's the soul

    This book is comforting to a womans soul, causes one to do soul searching and to take time from your busy life to enjoy the company of a good book with a cup of tea. This is a self healing and growth experience as you follow the path of Mrs. Sarah suggestions, it is like reconnecting with the Woman and Kid in you. Sarah is a Wonderful, honest & witty Author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoy Your Life More NOW - Especially During These Touch Times!

    I LOVE Sarah Ban Breathnach's Simple Abundance - having discovered it for myself about 1998. This last copy was a gift - and I have given many over the years. My girlfriend liked it as well. I find myself reading and re-reading the daily messages - so appropriate still - about finding joy in your life - just as it is - no matter your financial situation, current weight, job outlook or age - it has wide appeal for anyone looking to get "More" out of life! The reason I keep "re-reading" it, is that each time - I am in a different place and can pick up or implement more. A Must Have for Anyone who wants to frugally embark on an inner journey to Happiness!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Excellent Daily Read to Inspire You!

    This is a great book. It is set up as a daily reader for an entire year. The content is inspirational and also practical. I particularly like the idea of a daily journal to clear your negative thoughts and to show your thankfulness. This is great tool to get your creativity pumping. An uplifting message every day!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    Very comforting book with daily readings to get you through the day...

    Enjoy the daily reflections to help one to realize the true meaning of things in this crazy world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Simple Abundance is simply great.

    Simple Abundance is truly one of the best books that has ever come into my possession. It is worth much more than whatever is charged for it. It is a very motivating and helpful book in all areas of life. It has one reading for each day of the year, which includes a relevent quote and wise text that spans the generations. Each month contains action suggestions and each daily reading also inspires action to take charge of your life. I purchased the book last October and read it daily for a year and have started reading it again. Although this book is written to women, it contains wisdom that trancends gender. I truly admire any man who would read it and admit to having read and benefited from it. Buy it, read it, do it, and see your life changed. Joy from Asheville, NC

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    What an exceptional beauty!

    This book has opened my heart to joy, something I thought I couldn't experience. It helped me get off 'auto-pilot' and back into my 'authentic self'. What a brilliant, warming, book that offers Awakening to anyone that pursues it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Gratitude makes us rich

    Simple Abundance gives us a chance to revel in gratitude for all there is. Lovely book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    A wonderful way to end the day

    I love to ready my Daybook at the end of the day just before I go to sleep. Thought provoking and soul searching, this book was an incredible Christmas gift from a very dear friend. I recommend this book highly to anyone. It is truly a one of a kind gift.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Highly Recommend-Puts life in perspective

    This book was given to me as a birthday present in Dec 2006. This book is spiritually lifting, motivating and encouraging. It really makes me appreciate life from a very simplitic view. I have found myself reading ahead and often go back and re-read certain pages that have moved me tremendously. I have now order the book for my girlfriend, who I truly believe will bring comfort,directions and calm in her personal and spiritual life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    Wake up feeling great!

    This book is encouraging and enlightening. I enjoy it every morning. The author is down to earth and relates to other women on a very basic level. She seems to understand what alot of women feel they are missing. She also helps us to see what we already have. I love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    This Book Changed My Life

    What really impressed me about this book was that it came about because of the author's own soul search. She did a lot of research about life and its meaning and how to live. I came about this book during a particularly stressful, frustrating, and unhappy time during my life. I had forgotten how to be grateful, but it works. Also forgot about simplicity. It's not about living an austere life but is about living a fulfilling life. This book works. I would recommend it to anyone wanting more peace, happiness, and relief from the stress we are all under. It has changed the way I view life. It feels good to smile again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2000

    Simple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy

    I have been on a strong spiritual path for over twenty one years. During that time period, I have studied all of the religions of the world. I have found some truth in each religion I have studied. I have also, during this time period, read many spiritual books Simple Abundance : A Daybook of Comfort and Joy by Sarah Ban Breathnach is on my new top ten list. This list presently consists of the following books: An Encounter With A Prophet by C. A. Lewis A Return to Love by Marianne Williamson Conversations With God : An Uncommon Dialogue (Book 2) by Neale Donald Walsch The Greatest Miracle in the World by Og Mandino Way of the Peaceful Warrior : A Book That Changes Lives by Dan Millman Simple Abundance : A Daybook of Comfort and Joy by Sarah Ban Breathnach Tuesdays with Morrie: by Mitch Albom The Four Agreements: by Don Miguel Ruiz Messages from the Masters by Brian L., Md. Weiss Talking to Heaven by James Van Praagh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Simple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy

    Simple feel-good essays which is read each day will make you day better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2000

    daily rejuvination

    I was given this book as a gift from a wonderful friend. We share each days entry . It is amazing how it fits into whatever is going on in your life. When you are having a bad day,something in that days reading will lift you up.It really is a great book for any woman to read in our busy,crazy lives. It is not a religious book, but it very spiritual. You will learn to go to your Higher Power for strength,peace,and wisdom. It has been a great help to me in finding the authentic me. Read it, you will find out what that means.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Gentle reminders to be yourself

    Beautifully written. Simply presented. Makes you feel good reading it. Makes you have a better day. Helps me to manage the stress of everyday life and stay more centered... Makes you breathe EASIER. And I like what happens for me. I felt better about myself as a result. Highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    I'm Buying One For All the Ladies In My Life

    Recently simplifying my life by scaling down worktime, moving to a beautiful serene setting in the mountains overlooking a rushing river, this book has been an inspiration to me. It has encouraged me to follow my dreams, live simply, take pride in the small things that I do, appreciate my surroundings, friends, family and the simple fact that I'm sitting at this computer writing this 'review'. It has encouraged me to stay focused without feeling the dread of a regimented routine. As I'm reading, I think of others in my life who would benefit from this book. It's truly something that must be seen and felt through one's own eyes. My mother will recieve one for Mother's Day.....if I can wait that long to give it to her. I know it will change her life as it has changed mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    Makes You Appreciate Life More

    Sometimes when you're going through a tough time it's hard to focus on the important things in life. This book allows you to find ways to go deep into your psyche to extract what means the most to us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3