Customer Reviews for

A Simple Amish Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A great read!

Annie Weaver couldn't seem to hold a job in her small Amish community and she refused every beau who wanted to court her. Her family sent her off to live with her aunt in the city for her rumschpringe - the time an Amish young person has before they officially join the ...
Annie Weaver couldn't seem to hold a job in her small Amish community and she refused every beau who wanted to court her. Her family sent her off to live with her aunt in the city for her rumschpringe - the time an Amish young person has before they officially join the church. She lives with her aunt in the city for three years, where she studies and becomes a registered nurse. She loves taking care of the children in the hospital, but yearns for home as bouts of homesickness take their toll on her. When she receives the call that her father has been injured and she is needed at home, she immediately returns. She fears that they may not accept her and the education that she's received, since it's against their Amish ways.

Will her family and community understand that she's found what she believes God has called her to do? Will her church allow her to use her nursing skills to help those in need? When will she have the nerve to tell them?

She's now twenty years old and many young ladies her age are already courting, married, and some even already have bopplin (babies). Even though she knows home is where she belongs, she feels a bit out of place at times; but all seems right with the world when she's helping those who need her. When Samuel Yoder, the man the Amish community goes to for their minor health needs, sees her as the flighty young girl who left years ago and doubts her ability to care for her father, she gets angry, but neglects to tell him she's a qualified nurse. Even though he only gives minor care and is quick to refer them to a medical doctor, he sees her as incapable of this task. He's cranky, stoic, and not pleasant to be around. He cut himself off from enjoying life when a tragedy stole his wife and young child from him in a buggy/car accident. But when Samuel sees Annie as all grown up, will his heart begin to thaw? Will God help him get past his misguided guilt and heal his damaged heart? What about David, the hired hand, who obviously has feelings for Annie as well?

Annie has decisions to make. Will she be able to find the peace she is seeking back home in her community? Will she find the true love of her life? And will she find her answers in the simple Amish Christmas she's been longing for again?

I invite you to visit the quaint Amish community in Mifflin County, Pennsylvania, to find out the answers. This is a warm, loving community where one can clearly see God at work healing bodies, hearts, minds, and souls. I enjoyed reading this book and hope that Vannetta will be writing more about the characters introduced in this story.

posted by Susan_Hollaway on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Love a good Christmas read, this one was great! Will read more from this author.

posted by NookLuvR on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely read

    This is my 2nd Amish read this week and have to say I loved it just as much. I have no clue what has taken me so long to try these types of books. Annie is a wonderful character, you fall in love with her, and then you want to know more. Will she find happiness now that she is back home from living with the English for a few years? Can she use her nursing skills to help the community? Better yet, can she find love. This is a must read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A SIMPLE AMISH CHRISTMAS, SIMPLE WONDERFUL

    A SIMPLE AMISH CHRISTMAS is simply delightful, and my first ever Amish read. I'm not sure why it took me so long to finally read one but I'm certainly glad I did. I grew up watching LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE and have always felt drawn to the "simple life". So why not the Amish.

    It's hard to believe this is Vannetta's first book, it's that well written. As an aspiring writer I found myself rereading several parts in hopes of the words sinking in enough to emulate later in my own writing.

    A SIMPLE AMISH CHRISTMAS is a sweet story with characters you'll love, and a plot that will keep you turning the pages. You feel as though you've entered into the world of the Amish. The glossary in the back was helpful, though it didn't take long to figure out the meaning of the words as you read along.

    The ending was uniquely amazing. I just LOVED what Vannetta did with it. It nearly took my breath away. It gives me goose bumps just to think of it.

    Vannetta Chapman is a name to look for in the future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Sweet Surprise

    Im not big on romances so I have to say this was a sweet surprise.The characters were endearing and you fall in love with the comunity.Take a chance and read this lovely book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    A delightful moving story depicting the simple life of the Amish.

    I read an ARC of A Simple Amish Christmas, and was mesmerized by it! The storyline was believable and relatable. The characters were captivating and I appreciated the author's attention to detail as she described the feelings of each of them. A Simple Amish Christmas is an inspirational, heartwarming novel and through it, Vannetta Chapman truly brings alive the spirit of Christmas.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly recommended

    If you love Amish stories and romance, this is the book for you. It is a feel good story and I couldn't put it down. I read it in 2 days.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Spectacular

    I. Loved. It. Wonderful story. Wonderful characters. Wonderful subject. Wonderful setting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Delightful

    I really enjoyed this book. It helped me realize the blessings in my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I Loved this book.

    This is a touching love story. I love a book that can truly hold my interest without being vulgar. Thanks to the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Crying is good!

    My Amish roots reminded me of the blessings I received during my childhood, This book truly will bless you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Such a sweet story!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    Much more than an Amish Christmas story Unsettled and unable

    Much more than an Amish Christmas story




    Unsettled and unable to follow through with anything, Annie was sent to Philadelphia to live with Englisch relatives during her rumschpringe. While in the city she finished her education and became a registered nurse. When a buggy accident left her dat with both legs broken she immediately left for her Amish home to aid in nursing her dat back to health, her family unaware that she had become a nurse. Samuel Yoder, her dat's best friend and the "doctor" to the Amish community was gruff and mistrustful of Annie's skills as a caregiver, but Annie's change in character was about to open everyone's eyes.




    As in Vannetta Chapman's other Amish fiction stories the reader is immersed in the Amish culture and countryside. She paints a peaceful portrait of a hardworking farming community of close-knit godly people. The author has researched the Anabaptist culture closely and characterizes their lifestyle with integrity and intellect. Convincing characters are authentic and evolve naturally throughout the story, and the author has interwoven spiritual qualities throughout, enhancing a well-told story. 




    Lessons in tolerance, consideration, forgiveness and grace flowed throughout this book and left me yearning for the simplicity the Amish personify. When family and friends asked why I was reading a Christmas book at this time of year I was a bit surprised because this story is so much more than just a Christmas story. It's a story of a people and the lifestyle they represent. I highly recommend this very touching story, at Christmastime or a 90-degree summer day! 




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book as a gift from the author. In gratitude I have composed an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    I first read this as a library book I picked up because I was in

    I first read this as a library book I picked up because I was in the mood for some Amish fiction. Only later did I realize it was written by Vannetta Chapman - and promptly bought a copy for myself (it's THAT good). As usual, The characters in this story jump off the page and into your heart as they struggle with life's choices. Annie Weaver fulls pulled between her love of family and a career in nursing that the Amish cannot accept. Samuel Yoder battles grief as a widower, trying to accept the loss of his wife and daughter as God's will, yet also feeling somewhat responsible that he wasn't there to save them. Their common concern for Mr. Weaver's health brings these two together at first, but it is their strong personalities and chemistry that eventually cause them to fall in love. End of story? No - love means doing what is best for the other, and Samuel painfully realizes his age and history would be a burden to lively young Annie.
    *SPOILER ALERT:
    Married to an older Christian, I can personally understand the sacrifice Samuel is willing to make - and equally glad he didn't have to make it! You will love the ending to this book, and the fact that it isn't the end of the story. "The Christmas Quilt" goes on to describe the marriage and first child of this delightful couple. These book are great to read ANY time of year, not just at Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Simple Amish Christmas By: Vannetta Chapman I am a big fan of

    A Simple Amish Christmas
    By: Vannetta Chapman
    I am a big fan of Amish Fiction and Vannetta Chapman knows how to write them. She brings her characters out in a way that you feel like you are right there with them.
    We have a young Amish girl, Annie Weaver, who left home at an early age to go and live with her English aunt. She wants to further her education, get her GED, and be an RN. She is missing home and at 20-years old she decides to go back home. Will she be accepted back home with her education and will she be able to use it? There is an Amish farmer back home , could she find happiness after living among the English?
    You will love "A Simple Amish Christmas" and Annie with her new education.
    This is a good clean novel you do not want to miss out on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    This was the first book by Vannetta Chapman that I read. It is t

    This was the first book by Vannetta Chapman that I read. It is the story of a girl who had to leave her Amish community for a time and was successful in her education in the "Englisch" world. She must return when there is a crisis in her family and this story is all about how she feels as she returns to her Amish roots and takes her place back in her community. There is a beautiful and touching love story that caught at my heart. It was so well written and made me catch my breath in many places as I wondered when things would work out for the two people in love. Very believable characters. The romance between the two main characters in this book was so well done and left me sighing in happiness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Disclosure:  I was sent a copy for review.  I loved this book.  

    Disclosure:  I was sent a copy for review.  I loved this book.  It was peaceful, warm, interesting, and very readable.  It touched me and renewed my desire to move toward a simpler life.  We recently got new flooring in our family room, dining room and living room, so I had to empty all my bookcases and storage.  I had accumulated more "stuff" than I thought.  I'm going through it all before I put it back with hopefully large amounts being donated and/or thrown away.  It's easy to accumulate and reading about the simple Amish life, the strong values, and outlook on worldly goods was very refreshing.




    The plot and the characters held my interest and had me wanting the car line to move more slowly so I could keep reading!  Although not suspenseful, I found myself wanting to see what happened to Annie Weaver.  You find yourself hoping that good things will happen to her!




    I recommend curling up with this book, a cup of hot chocolate, and reading about the simple, beautiful life of the Amish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    I have read several of Vannetta Chapman's Amish fiction novels.

    I have read several of Vannetta Chapman's Amish fiction novels. This one was actually written in 2010 as her debut novel. I hadn't realized until after I had finished it but found that a fun fact!

    Annie has spent 3 years living with her aunt, amongst the English. She finishes high school and gets her 2 year nursing degree. She enjoys being a nurse and caring for those around her. She is called back 'home' when her Dad has an accident. Annie returns to care for her father as he refuses to stay in an English hospital. God has provided Annie with the skills to help her father and those in her community as she returns to her Amish roots.

    As Annie works with Samuel, a 'healer' in the community, he begins to see she is much more capable of caring for people than he once thought. He even asks for her assistance with other people needing care. Perhaps there is a chance at her finding a husband after all?

    I love the simplicity of the Amish and with Annie having lived in the English world for 3 years she is able to see even better what she has missed. I have always enjoyed seeing the culture come alive through fiction novels, giving us a glimpse into the lives of the Amish. Vannetta Chapman does a fantastic job giving us an insight, and bringing Christ into the focus. The Amish aren't without problems and concern as this book shows, but as a Christian it will determine how you tackle it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading Vannetta Chapman¿s debut novel, A Simpl

    I really enjoyed reading Vannetta Chapman’s debut novel, A Simple Amish Christmas. It was the first book I have read about the Amish where somebody’s rumschpringe actually had a major impact on their community.

    I was impressed with Annie Weaver. She was strong when she was faced with all of the negativity from Samuel Yoder. Samuel never realized how strong Annie’s dedication was to her father, family, and her community. He was still thinking of her as someone with an eighth-grade education, a child. She was so much more than that. As a romantic, I’m glad they came to an understanding and were able to work with each other.

    I recommend reading A Simple Amish Christmas.

    Disclosure of Material Connection- I received A Simple Amish Christmas, by Vannetta Chapman, for free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Back to the Amish

    I really enjoyed reading this as i heard words and phrases that i haven't heard since my Pennsylvania Dutch grandmother died. The ending was predictable but I didn't want it any other way! It was a very enjoyable fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I liked this book very much. An Amish young woman was given a chance to spread her wings not as her family intended but as God intended. She brought back her knowledge to her people and helped them and herself understand what God truly wanted of her. For a quick read it had a wonderful message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Love this book about Annie Weaver and how she found her way back

    Love this book about Annie Weaver and how she found her way back home. I have read all of Vannetta's books and all staying in my permanent library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8