Customer Reviews for

A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    what christmas really means

    "a simple christmas" has 12 simple inspirational stories from 2012 presidential candidate mike huckabees life as a son and a father and a pastor. these are some of the most special times that governor mike huckabee has shared his faith during the greatest season whean the most wonderful miracles have happened such as his wife over coming cancer also there are some humorous stories in here also. the two things I like most about this book is they are all from mike huckabees life and this book brings back the true meaning of christmas which seems to be forgoten during the holidays. great gift idea for friends and family or a birthday

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    A christmas Must

    An absolute delight. Finished it in one day. I couldn't put it down. The sweetest book I've read in years. No politics here, just memories of a simplier time! A christmas must!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Comforting book, encouraging

    This was a nice little book about his life, but included such encouragement for difficulties that I am facing lately. A good reminder of what a simple life we used to lead, too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    A Simple Christmas

    This was a book that brought back many memories of Christmas and illustrates how commercialized Christmas has become. The stories remind us of what Christmas means and to appreciate all the lessons learned in life. The hard times shape us as much or more than the good times. It was an excellent read for Christmas and any other time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    Great book

    This a fantastic book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Love the book

    MR MIKE HUCKABEE LOVE YOUR SHOW ON FOX

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    A christmas book for the whole year

    This is a Christmas book that you can read anytime of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    huckabee

    I like mike huckabee and liked him even more after reading the book. This has a lot of very beautiful stories about his life growing up around christmas time. He always has a positive outlook even when things aren't always perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Memorable Christmases

    Huckabee writes of Christmas memories as a child. This would be a good gift book or book for oneself. It brings back memories of Christmas past. Also a good autobiography of Huckabee's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Informative

    Not impressed with the beginning chapters, but greatly enjoyed the rest of the book and the insight into what kind of a man Mike Hucabee has become.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    gift

    was a gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    What a Christmas blessing!

    Mike Huckabee is open, real and completely original in this Christmas memoir. The true meaning of the season is quite evident in his stories. I appreciated the twelve-story format, this works well for short devotionals before Christmas Day.

    One can only imagine what an amazing President Governor Huckabee would be! Someone with these values needs to be in the Oval Office...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Memories of Christmas past.

    An interesting, sometimes funny, sometimes sad account of some of Huckabee's past Christmas memories and how the events formed who he is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Wonderful book; the author and his family are amazing

    The book tells a beautiful account of simple Christmas celebrations and the joy therein despite difficult situations in life. He grants the reader snapshots of relationships and events during the celebrations and invites the reader into his family to share in those precious moments. He instills beautiful moral and character building events and shows us the heart of the man Mike Huckabee and his amazing family. It's a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It was a delight

    What a joy to read Mike Huckabee's book. I didn't know much about Mike Huckabee but now I find him a most interesting writing and person. The book touched my heart and brought back many memories of my childhood. It helped me recapture the true spirit of Christmas. A very enjoyable read. I have since purchased another book by Mr. Huckabee. This is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    Great book with a telling Title

    This is a good holiday read that gives interesting insight into Mike Huckabee's life and valuable reminders about what is most important in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    A Simple Christmas

    I haven't finished this book as yet, but what I have read, I really like. It is plain and easy to read and understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    thought provoking

    keeping christmas simple was the main theme inpirational

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Gives you a warm Christmas feeling

    Mike Huckabee is just a regular guy working for the Lord. The story of a regular guy dealing with situations we all face. We found this to be a really fascinating story. Music lovers would find it especially good. A great autobiography of Mr Huckabee's Christmas experiences. Hearwarming. Makes you laugh and cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    A Simple Christmas by Mike Huckabee

    The book is so amusing as the author remembers all the idiocentricities of family and their interaction. We can all relate.

    It is the way life was not many years ago but still the same family situations occur in this day.

    A very touching novel and one I would recommend highly for a good light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3