Customer Reviews for

Simple Genius (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Baldacci's best, but still pretty darn good

I've read almost all of the Baldacci works, including each of the Camel Club and Sean King/Michelle Maxwell series books. This was one was very very good, but of all the books in the two series? Probably at the bottom - and that is NOT a knock on the story. If you enjoy...
I've read almost all of the Baldacci works, including each of the Camel Club and Sean King/Michelle Maxwell series books. This was one was very very good, but of all the books in the two series? Probably at the bottom - and that is NOT a knock on the story. If you enjoy Baldacci and the other King/Maxwell adventures, grab this one too. Plenty of action, twists and turns and surprises throughout. My only complaint was that it bogged down SLIGHTLY where it was not necessary. Having said all that, this is a solid, if not spectacular story line, replete with disturbing realities, hard fought action, edge of your seat bumps in the ride.....well worth the money and the enjoyment of reading it!

posted by SlapShot62 on February 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci has definitely written better.

The language is too elementary and the conversation seems unrealistic. Baldacci seemed to be struggling with trying to get the story to make sense; an odd ending made it seem like he just needed to get the book to end. The characters seemed contrived and uncreative. If ...
The language is too elementary and the conversation seems unrealistic. Baldacci seemed to be struggling with trying to get the story to make sense; an odd ending made it seem like he just needed to get the book to end. The characters seemed contrived and uncreative. If you pay for this book, you've spent too much.

posted by Thank_God_I_Have_Books on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    King and Maxwell are cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    To Mordred

    Come on don't you want to f<_>uck me Mordred? ;D mmmm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Mikr

    You fuc<_>ker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Mordred

    Stabs the person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Awesome-highly recommend

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    So good!

    This book is so good i gave it to my cousin after i read it and she is now raving about it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book with all it's twists & turns. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After reading The Camel Club I was excited to read another Balda

    After reading The Camel Club I was excited to read another Baldacci book and I wasn't disappointed with this fun, fast-paced story with plenty of action and interesting plot. Baldacci includes an odd tangent toward the beginning but makes it at least entertaining even if placing it within this story was odd. It certainly helps in the development and understanding of Michelle Maxwell. If you know anything about the history of code breaking there is some fun references in this book but don't worry, you don't have to be a genius to understand some of the complex topics Baldacci tackles. Overall, a pretty good story and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Pass on this one

    I'm a big fan of this writer but I couldn't wait for this one to end. Weak, uneven story and unlikable characters. Nothing enjoyable about this book. I'm really stretching for one star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly recommend this book.

    If you have read other books of this series, you will gain insight into the background of Maxwell and understand more about her character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Excellent

    This is my first David Baldacci book since Absolute Power. I was on the edge of my seat for almost the whole book. Loved it and would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Highly recommend

    As always he does a great job of excitement and interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Baldacci is always a page turner!

    Another great King/Maxwell saga. A real page turner to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    Interesting concept

    Good research to come up with this subject matter. Nice staging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    This is the best thriller I've ever read. The fact that I'm a computer geek might have influenced this opinion.

    Currently I'm reading my way through "Camel Club" series of books and I am enjoying them equally well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Simple Genius

    Wife says ahe liked the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As usual, an exciting book by David Baldacci.

    As soon as they come out, I buy and read all of the Baldacci books. There is never one that isn't exciting and hard to put down. This was another of those.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book, kept my interest right to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Political Thriller with Topical Theme

    Simple Genius is a fast-reading thriller. Ironically, the major plot theme is more topical and believable in 2009 than when the book was released in 2008.
    Some aspects of the characters are perhaps too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Baldacci's done it again!

    In my opinion...this book is a terrific read! Baldacci creates such delightfully complex characters...intricately weaving them through a plot laced with action packed twists and turns. It's easy to see why this book was the "#1 New York Times bestseller". Although fiction...the meat of this story easily could have jumped off the front pages of any national newspaper. It's filled with plausible intrigue. I love a good mystery...and in my opinion...this is just that. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12