Customer Reviews for

Simple Genius (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Baldacci's best, but still pretty darn good

I've read almost all of the Baldacci works, including each of the Camel Club and Sean King/Michelle Maxwell series books. This was one was very very good, but of all the books in the two series? Probably at the bottom - and that is NOT a knock on the story. If you enjoy...
I've read almost all of the Baldacci works, including each of the Camel Club and Sean King/Michelle Maxwell series books. This was one was very very good, but of all the books in the two series? Probably at the bottom - and that is NOT a knock on the story. If you enjoy Baldacci and the other King/Maxwell adventures, grab this one too. Plenty of action, twists and turns and surprises throughout. My only complaint was that it bogged down SLIGHTLY where it was not necessary. Having said all that, this is a solid, if not spectacular story line, replete with disturbing realities, hard fought action, edge of your seat bumps in the ride.....well worth the money and the enjoyment of reading it!

posted by SlapShot62 on February 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Baldacci has definitely written better.

The language is too elementary and the conversation seems unrealistic. Baldacci seemed to be struggling with trying to get the story to make sense; an odd ending made it seem like he just needed to get the book to end. The characters seemed contrived and uncreative. If ...
The language is too elementary and the conversation seems unrealistic. Baldacci seemed to be struggling with trying to get the story to make sense; an odd ending made it seem like he just needed to get the book to end. The characters seemed contrived and uncreative. If you pay for this book, you've spent too much.

posted by Thank_God_I_Have_Books on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Am I insane?

    Maxwell thinks she may be a little nuts; her actions certainly prove so. This third installment of the King and Maxwell series is possibly Baldacci's best effort with the characters.

    While there is the ever present high explosive situations, these rate higher on the believability scale than in the previous editions.

    It's fun to see the main characters development towards each other while experiencing some self revelations. As most of these plots go, it's a little farfetched but what if it were possible? Fun and intriguing to imagine.

    If you've made it through #'s 1 & 2, you owe it to yourself to give this one a go. If you haven't read any of the prior installments, you can certainly pick up here without missing too much at all. If so, you'll find yourself back at B&N looking for the prior escapades!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    Baldacci has definitely written better.

    The language is too elementary and the conversation seems unrealistic. Baldacci seemed to be struggling with trying to get the story to make sense; an odd ending made it seem like he just needed to get the book to end. The characters seemed contrived and uncreative. If you pay for this book, you've spent too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    King and Maxwell are cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly recommend this book.

    If you have read other books of this series, you will gain insight into the background of Maxwell and understand more about her character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An okay book from one of the greatest

    I have read every Baldacci book up to this one and I think I can safely say this one is not one of my favorites but I'm not sure why. I still enjoyed it and I'm glad I read it, I just don't think I could recommend it to a friend unless they were a big Baldacci fan. If this is the first book of his that a person was to read, it might not warrant another one.

    The main characters are just fine. Some of the other characters were okay too. Maybe it was the technical nature of the story. Whatever it was, the story didn't "flow" very well from beginning to end.

    If you're a Baldacci fan, read it, I think you'll still enjoy it. If you're new to Baldacci, try something else first, i.e., The Camel Club series or the very early ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Usual Balducci

    On the whole it was entertaining and in the usual Balducci mode. I just felt the he complicated the plot a little more than he needed to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    Global terror is not his thing

    I have read almost every one of David Baldacci's books and would have ratedd them all 5 star. This is his worst. I feel that his agent or editor has pushed him to write about global terror to increase sales. The plot is unbelievable as are the characters. I didn't shed a tear when Ann, his fiance, was killed by the bad guys. I hope he returns to writing about a subject he knwos, Washington and the Camel Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    I think this is not that great

    The novel could have been more interesting. It had a number of side subjects that made the book a little boring and frustrating. I like the author overall, I think some of the other tittles are a better read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have been a Baldacci fan since his first book but Simple Genius left me flat. Fist off , having Michelle in a mental hospital did not make for a great start. Later the plot and sub plots were not very believable and the 'simple genius' concept was never fully developed. It seemed like the ending was coming up a few pages short so we were forced to go through a few more pages of 'torture' before the ending. I will buy his next book but I hope he gets back on track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book just didn't live up to the greatness of earlier books by Mr. Baldacci. I'm glad that some folks liked it because he is a writer who has proven he can do great things. I'm glad 'Saving Faith' was my first Baldacci book, because if it had been 'Simple Genius' I wouldn't have bothered with any further David Baldacci stories and I would've missed out on the CAMEL CLUB and THE COLLECTORS. I thought the storyline of Michelle Maxwell was very weak and didn't fit in well with all else that was going on in this book, and the first part of the book where Michelle was institutionalized went very slow for me and I almost gave up. Please write another Camel Club story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2