Customer Reviews for

A Simple Plan

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    one of my favirite books

    keeps you interested the whole time! loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    A fun, grim read

    I'd look for other books by this author for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    A Simple plan was not so "Simple".

    After seeing the movie by the same name, this book had alot more twists and turns in the plot. The ending was better in the book than in the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    the movie was good but, like most books made into movies, the bo

    the movie was good but, like most books made into movies, the book was much better and unpredictable. Read his book The Ruins, also great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Hard to put down

    Very good book. The characters were great but I have to admit I hoped for a more creative ending - there were a lot of ways you could go with a story like this. The author seemed to take the easy way out. But, the journey the author takes you upon leading up to the end of the book was worth it. The book explores the flaws of three characters and at times makes the reader wonder what they might do. I admit that I put in long reading sessions to find out the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Domino effect 

    Domino effect 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Profoundly upsetting

    A suburban Macbeth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Wow

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    absolutely brilliant

    It's amazing what a person will do for money, and the guy ended up with nothing but the shame of what he did.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Loved it, loved it, loved it!

    How disturbing, how creepy, how is a human capable of such cold blooded acts with no remorse?? Fantastic read, could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Disturbing Page Turner

    Wow this is one of the most disturbing page turners I have read in awhile. I experienced all sorts of emotions while reading, sadness, frustration, anger, sympothy, and agony. The beginning and end of the book are the best parts. The middle drags a little but you have to read to the end you will be shocked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Totally unbelievable

    The characters actions were totally unbelievable. The author tried to make it seem like an average, small-town accountant could be capable of the monstrous crimes he committed and I wasn't sold at all. Completely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Unbelievable in a Bad way.

    The moral and ethical questions this book presents are on the money, so to speak. However, the main character is introduced as a mild mannered accountant who begins his killing because he 'is forced' to. Minds aren't wired like that, it's either in there lurking about or not. This man wouldn't help his father find a loop hole in his income tax. And his sweet, loving, pregnant wife turns into his accomplice in order to hang onto this money. If I had to describe this novel as a color, it would be grey. The weather, mood, characters, possessions and mind set of people. Totally unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Worth your time

    I read this book in 2 days -- great book, but the ending left much to be desired...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Started well lost it by the end

    This book started out well, but by midstream it lost some of its originality. The ending was somewhat far-fetched. Not great good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Unrealistic

    Though the book was written well and it did keep me interested for the most part, I found a bit unrealistic. I could not relate to any of the characters. Every one of them seemed out of their minds, especially the main character. I don't think anyone I know that would do the same things they did. This book was decent, but I would not recommend this book to any of my good friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    pass it up

    I read this novel, but failed to find it anything but midstream fiction. I would pass on it if I were you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2003

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book. In fact, I recommended it to my sister and she couldn't put this book down. I can't remember reading a more suspenseful book other than John Grisham's 'The Firm'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    Read It In One Setting!!

    I LOVED this book!! My primary read is fiction, because I want to lose myself in the story. I want to be entertained no matter how implausible the situations or characters may be. If a book makes me gasp, or cry, or laugh out loud, or lay it down to shake my head at how stupid the characters are, and pick it up 15 seconds later to continue, then it's a GOOD BOOK to me. If a book doesn't 'grab me' after the second chapter, I'm done with it. I do not 'continue to see if it gets better'. That's a waste of my time. Trust me, if you read to be entertained - A Simple Plan is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    After All, We Are Human

    A Simple Plan is brilliantly written! It is amazing how the simple plans we manage in our lives be come complex. This book is highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3