Customer Reviews for

Simple Secrets to a Happy Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ~ loved reading and picking up tidbits from this book. Right now

    ~ loved reading and picking up tidbits from this book. Right now I'm feeling overly stressed during the week with my new job and then coming home to homework and dinner/chores. Reading this book made me stop and find some joy in the day. The chapters are short and sweet and to the point. I enjoyed reading Mrs. Swindoll's stories about her life and what she has learned through out her years. It's an added bonus that the cover is simply cute too!~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Book Description Is it possible to stay full of life, laught

    Book Description




    Is it possible to stay full of life, laughter, love, and the Lord through eight decades in this crazy world? Is that even realistic? Yes! There is hope, and Luci Swindoll is living proof.




    With heart and humor, this best-selling author and beloved speaker lays out the truths that can help us all become a little more creative, organized, healthy, and happy. This is not a complex prescription for how to become superwoman. These are simple secrets, the wisdom produced by years of walking with God and living well.




    We don't need more tips for "having it all," but we could all use insight on "having what matters," and there is no better guide than Luci Swindoll.




    Luci has spent eight decades accumulating the stories, memories, verses, and practical tips that make up Simple Secrets to a Happy Life. Whether traveling the world or building life-long friendships, singing in the opera or working for Mobil Oil, every step has taught her a little more about how to love God, love her neighbor, and love herself.




    The result is both personal and universal. Organized into fifty short chapters, her reflections form a simple and profound outline for making the most of the lives God has given us.




    We could all use a little more joy in our lives, which means we could all use a little more Luci. Visit her through these snapshots of wisdom. You'll find yourself drawn back again and again.




    My Review




    This is an interesting book, a very bite sized and easy reading book.
    I haven't read any of the Luci Swindoll books and didn't know what to expect
    but this was really easy reading. The tips for a happy life are broken down into 50 chapters
    each small but simple truth. i love how she mentioned that a happy life is really manageable one step at a time.
    i like how the tips are broken down into chapters and each chapters are very small and readable.
    i also like how the chapters are further broken down into different theme.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    The book that promises 50 ways to have the best of every day is

    The book that promises 50 ways to have the best of every day is a compilation more of reminders than anything else. All the tips are aleady in our common sense, they are things we know we should do, but sometimes we forget, delegating to others or just procrastinating because of the rush of everyday life.
    I like the simple and fun way the author writes, and despite devoting only two or three pages to each of their tips she can pass her message very well. These are little things that we leave behind, but when accumulated, we miss them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    A nice book. ┬┐Everyone falls in love with Luci. Everyone reads

    A nice book.

    “Everyone falls in love with Luci. Everyone reads one of her books and wants to know this woman personally. Everyone feels that sweet sense of connection, where it seems that she is sharing from her plainest, deepest self, and seeing into yours . . . She’s the world’s soul mate.” -Anne Lamott

    Is it possible to stay full of life, laughter, love, and the Lord through eight decades in this crazy world? Is that even realistic? Yes! There is hope, and Luci Swindoll is living proof.

    With heart and humor, this best-selling author and beloved speaker lays out the truths that can help us all become a little more creative, organized, healthy, and happy. This is not a complex prescription for how to become superwoman. These are simple secrets, the wisdom produced by years of walking with God and living well.

    We don’t need more tips for “having it all,” but we could all use insight on “having what matters,” and there is no better guide than Luci Swindoll.

    Luci has spent eight decades accumulating the stories, memories, verses, and practical tips that make up Simple Secrets to a Happy Life. Whether traveling the world or building life-long friendships, singing in the opera or working for Mobil Oil, every step has taught her a little more about how to love God, love her neighbor, and love herself.

    The result is both personal and universal. Organized into fifty short chapters, her reflections form a simple and profound outline for making the most of the lives God has given us.

    We could all use a little more joy in our lives, which means we could all use a little more Luci. Visit her through these snapshots of wisdom. You’ll find yourself drawn back again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    When I got the book in the mail I was instantly attracted by the

    When I got the book in the mail I was instantly attracted by the cover. I loved it, I am a sucker for neat covers, and when it came in hardcover too, I was thrilled :).
    I finished it really quickly since it’s really lovely organized: into 5 main parts, each containing 10 simple secrets. And the chapters are short as well. She shares from simple things like how to make lists to stay organized to deep spiritual lessons.

    What I loved most about the book was really the author’s attitude towards life in general. She is a joyful spirit with a positive attitude that is contagious. These simple secrets that she shares in the book are what experience taught her in these years lived fearlessly and with a courageous and curious take towards what life had for her. And that all comes from her strong relationship she has with the Lord. I also loved that throughout the book she seemed to have the right verse or quote for every circumstance she talked about.

    I also loved her transparency and wisdom that filled the pages of the book. She lives every second at the fullest, she masters that. You get to know the author and love her. And I think Ann Lamott describes her perfectly in the foreword: “She’s the world’s soul mate. She is best friends with Jesus, so she shares from abundance, and lives from her core, of tenderness and humor and curiosity. She just wants to share her amazement and gratitude for Christ’s love, and the light with which He imbues our earth and our lives”.
    And that’s what you see throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I If you are wanting to know Luci better this is a perfect book

    I If you are wanting to know Luci better this is a perfect book for that. After reading it you feel that you know her a little better. The title is VERY good, but this is not the key that will unlock the "secret" to making your life happy. Most of her chapter headings would make a great start in build the blocks you would need to get your life organized and moving toward to better life, but it's really up to YOU to make your life happy.



    This would make a great coffee table book for the chapters are short. It's an easy read but she leaves you hanging as far as helping you start some of these habits in your life. What do you do when your parents were not great role models? How would you tell a person to start taking the steps to getting their life on track with their Lord. What if you are not a student who loves to do homeworkers, what steps would you share with them to help them get motivated or getting organized. This is where the book lacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    This was the first book I read by Luci Swindoll. Unfortunately i

    This was the first book I read by Luci Swindoll. Unfortunately it fell flat for me. The title and introduction warn that the advice is simple. A simple reading of the table of contents as a bulleted list might have been as satisfying as the couple hundred pages of text.

    That is not to say that Simple Secrets is without merit. There are lots of interesting tidbits about the Swindoll children including her brother, well-known pastor and author Chuck Swindoll. From reading the book, Luci Swindoll seems like a very pleasant and interesting woman, with a great deal of wisdom to share. Sadly, as far as this book is concerned, that wisdom could have been condensed into a pamphlet.

    The publisher provided a copy of this title through BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.ot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Doesn't everyone need a course in a happy life? Luci Swindoll's

    Doesn't everyone need a course in a happy life? Luci Swindoll's book, Simple Secrets to a Happy Life, 50 ways to make the most of every day, is a book full of great topics to help you do just that. Luci breaks down the secrets into five parts: Beginning with the Basics, Developing Your Style, Achieving Balance, Living a Good Life and Staying Connected. Each part is composed of ten secrets. Each simple secret is short and sweet and colored with examples to drive home the author's point. Many secrets are laced with scripture or other quotations to encourage and uplift the reader. The author also provides practical steps to help the reader achieve these simple secrets. These secrets to a happy life cover a variety of topics from spiritual disciplines to organization and creativity to personal relationships with others.

    I found this book to be a worthwhile read. The author draws in her readers with personal stories from her childhood as well as her adulthood. Each secret is only a couple pages in length and can be quickly and easily read. I find the more difficult part is deciding to take action and implement it into my personal lifestyle. Luci Swindoll has written more than a dozen books and curriculum studies. This is the first of her works I have read, hopefully not the last. I found this book to be very encouraging and would recommend it to my friends and family.

    I received this book for free from the publisher through the Booksneeze program for my unbiased review of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Simple Suggestions that can change the way you live....

    To live life to the fullest, try to keep it simple. Be diligent, honest, caring and above all love one another. Be willing to try something new often. Share your blessings with others. Nuggets of wisdom overflow, in this publication and give you an insight of the larger than life character, Luci Swindoll has always been and still is.

    After reading Luci Swindoll’s book, Simple Secrets to a Happy Life, I feel the above synopsis encapsulates the messages given in this down-to-earth and easy to read book.

    Taking each of the fifty steps, and applying the principle to the way you live your life could very well change forever, you way you live.

    She has been inspiring readers for many years. She speaks for and on behalf of Women of Faith, where her sharp wit and her wisdom have drawn many devoted followers. Her humor must be heard to be believed! She can be hilarious!

    Luci writes with empathy through life experiences, and with a deep understanding and love of and for God.

    Chapter topics covered are Let People Know You Care; Keep Your Word Every Time; Focus on What’s Important Now; Allow Yourself to be Sad; Communicate Often with Loved Ones and many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I received a copy of SIMPLE SECRETS TO A HAPPY LIFE by Lucy Swi

    I received a copy of SIMPLE SECRETS TO A HAPPY LIFE by Lucy Swindoll, from Thomas Nelson via BookSneeze. I was excited, as I love self-help books. They always have interesting stories and helpful tips for living better – this book was no exception. The chapters, fifty total, are short enough that you can read them in one sitting, and then ponder the message throughout the rest of the day. My favorite chapter is Forty-Six: Invite People to Your Home. It reminded me that I really do not have company over very often, but when I do, it is always a special moment.

    I was a little disappointed, however. Many of the “secrets” were obvious things I do every day, such as being kind to others and learn to organize your stuff. Do people really not know that they should treat others with kindness? Despite the obviousness of the chapter subjects, I still enjoyed reading the tidbits within.

    This makes an excellent gift for someone hoping to improve his or her life, or someone who needs a boost. I recommended it to my friend, who is a high school English teacher, and she reads a chapter a day to her students before class. They then write a summary about how to incorporate that into their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    This book was so disappointing! It should be called "Things

    This book was so disappointing! It should be called "Things my mother taught me" or "Good manners" or "Tips and Habits" or something. The book is nearly void of God and is all about how to live happy, orderly and with others. Maybe this should be called "Good housekeeping."

    I was disappointed by all the parts that had nothing to do with God, Jesus, and Christianity. For example: Be on time, be organized, never sign something unless you are sure, make something with your hands, do all your work before you play, draw pictures, be proactive about your health, value the things you own, outside of God focus on whats important now, write down things, be sad, build a library, have fun conversations, think before you speak, thank others, learn a new skill, cook for yourself and more!

    The parts that did include some lip service to Christianity was very shallow: Take Jesus with you today, treat others with kindness, read your bible everyday. Ummm... and that's about it! Barely anything at all to do with God in this whole book of 50 tips.

    One part was just plain weird: teacher took a dead duck home to study because she loved ducks. Luci writes, "Don't you just love that?" Uhh... I can't say I do and I'm not just being negative, but yuk!

    Disclaimer: I gave my honest review. I received this book from the publisher but a positive review was not required

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Want a Simple Life?

    Have you ever heard Luci Swindoll speak? Or maybe you have read a book by her? If you haven't had the opportunity, you need to seek out reading one of her books! They are fantastic! I cannot say enough good things about her books. They make you feel like God has you right where you're SUPPOSED to be!


    I had the opportunity to review "Simple Secrets to a Happy Life" and let me tell you, this is full of humor, little life secrets and a book full of blessings! Reading this book, you step into the life of Luci Swindoll and feel like she is your best friend. Luci has a way of taking the reader into her world and feeling important.





    This could be a 1 Chapter of a day kind of book. You don't have to read the whole thing from cover to cover, although I do recommend reading the whole book, you could read a chapter each day. The book covers various topics including: organization, health, crafting, contentment, integrity, family, friends and various other topics to make the most of every day. This book is a great reminder to take a step back and examine our lives. Luci does a great job in bring humor, love and warmth into each chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1