Customer Reviews for

The Simple Truth

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    Made for t.v. movie

    The plot was great, interesting, but the characters were not well defined. Sometimes I'd be thinking 'What'd he do THAT for?' The chapters were short and easily digestible and it read like a made for t.v. movie. It's easy to read if you're busy, that is, you can read it in short bursts. Still, it had me in it's grip as the action started to take off. It was an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Entertaining Tale

    Baldacci weaves an entertaining tale revolving around the Supreme Court, a Virginia military prison, and an ex-cop turned lawyer. Good character development, especially John Fiske, Rufus Harms and Sara Evans. Good plot-twists help build suspense until the final page. Not high-brow, but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    A Page-Turning Thrill Ride

    I rapidly read 'The Simple Truth' within the time frame of 24 hours. it is perhaps the most swiftly paced novel I have ever read. The book's one flaw? The last 50 pages try relentlessly to surprise, and Baldacci seems unsatisfied with each twist, so he adds another 'least-suspect them' person to the convoluted pot of corruption. Still, it DOES surprise, so you will not be feeling disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Constant Suspense and Twists

    The Simple Truth was the first of David Baldacci's books that I read. It actually kept me guessing till the end, which doesn't happen too often. Now, I'm reading Saving Faith by DB. It's got me hooked!! I'm sure by the end of the summer, I will have read all of DB's novels !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    FANTASTIC PLOT

    Couldn't put it down. It was so unique, and it brought be to tears a couple times. I shall not forget the characters. It is a book you must read every line, no skimming. We need more like this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    Anything But Simple!

    Ironically titled, Baldacci orchestrates a symphony of twisting plots, and suspense, leaving me shaking in anticipation right up to the final page. My first Baldacci Novel, but definitely not my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Simplistic

    This latest Baldacci must have been rushed into print to capitalize on his past successes.It was easily predictable because the plot was so contrived, and, thus, 'The Simple Truth' became boring and simplistic. Only Oscar Wilde's quote, in the entire book, was interesting....Better try next time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Excellent Book! The first I've read by this author.

    This is an excellent book. It took me a moment to get into it, but was quickly hooked! I loved the fact that he let you piece together the mystery by yourself, so you become your own detetive, of sorts, then he springs everything on you at the end. A well written book and am looking forward to reading another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    The Simple Truth is Anything But Simple

    As with all main stream mystery adventure books, this one has convenient circumstances that helps the story move along. If you leave your brain at home and don't reflect on the fact that there can't be that many coincidents in one lifetime, you will enjoy this book. However, think too hard and you might just walk away disappointed. In actuality, the story is fascinating for the first half of the book and then comes the no brainer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    Throughly Engrossing

    Baldacci has written a story about wrong deeds of powerful men in high positions which gets deeper with every page.The best thing is he never reveals the whole story untill the end, definetly a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Great Read, Fast Action

    Enjoyed this book greatly. I will be looking for Mr. Baldacci's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    Page Turner

    Baldacci's best work. This was a rivetting story with great character description. An excellent addition to his other stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Worst Book I've Read In Years

    The simple truth is that The Simple Truth is a very poorly written novel. There are no surprises in this one at all. You always know where it is going and the dialog is just awful. It will definitely make you think twice about reading another 'bestseller'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    PAGE-TURNER, CAN'T KEEP THIS DOWN!

    This book was highly enjoyable. After the first few chapters the suspense just grabs you. I always wanted to know what was going to happen next. In turn, I could not stop reading until I was done with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    First Baldacci book and it wont be my last

    This book captured me right from the beginning. The tragic story of Rufus Harms and the action in this book makes it near impossible to put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5