Customer Reviews for

Simply Christian: Why Christianity Makes Sense

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summary of Christian Experience

    Bishop Wright is a fine theologian, student of the Bible, and popular writer. I am a liberal Christian who feels I always learn from this conservative writer. This is a book to reread from time to time. I very much enjoyed it. It is part of my permanent library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    Simply Christian is a modern classic

    N.T. Wright does a magnificent job in explaining the message of Christ from a historical perspective. His ability to articulate the ancient text in its context of the first century while appling it in contemporary terms is powerful. The Bishop calls the church in this age to take the Saviors message of redemption to the whole world from an individual and sociatal perspective. Working to create a more just planet should not be optional for any contemporary Christian believer. A must read for anyone who is interested in the direction of the church in the twenty first century. Well done chap.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Excellent service. I was well pleased.

    Excellent service. I was well pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Simply Christian

    Have not finished reading this yet but what I have read so far has been good. It is written where it is easy to understand so those who are not well versed in the Bible will not have trouble getting what the author is talking about. I look forward to finishing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Clear and convincing: a new classic

    This book starts off dry-please keep reading! N.T.Wright offers a rephrasing of our Christian purpose by retelling us in clear and convincing style the story of God's plan. The interlocking 'or overlapping' of Heaven and Earth in very specific ways throughout history, as God moves deliberately to conquer evil, makes so much sense and is very exciting to read about. Renews your mind with regards to why we seem to long for God, no matter who we are, and encourages each person's part in bringing the ultimate peace of God to fruition. This is surely a new classic for Christians and a great overview for non-Christians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Best apologia since Lewis

    As the Anglican Bishop of Durham, Tom Wright has emerged as the wittiest, most intelligent, insightful and articulate Christian writer living today, and 'Simply Christian' is his masterpiece. Do not fail to read the vital and dynamic explanation of the true Christian faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Reasonable, but not inspiring

    I got this book from my Lenten reading, and I found it to be worthwhile and insightful in some passages but superficial and dumbed down in others. I'm not sure this is the same book that the reviewer who noted the attack on American culture read. I remember no such thing. There was definitely a critique of modern society, but in the age of globalization, this critique was not uniquely aimed to Americans. Like other inspirational books I have read lately, I feels like it is a sermon in which the main points get repeated over and over again in order to be long enough to qualify as a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Outstanding

    Simply Christian is SIMPLY AMAZING. This book is a great gem for both the Christian and non- Christian. Why do people long for justice? Why do we thirst for spirituality? Why do we long for relationships? Why does beauty not satisfy us fully? It is because we are humans that are made for and by God. We are children that groan for our Father. These are few of the questions the Bishop begins to address. These are the questions that strike a chord within all humanity. Questions that we can't explain or escape outside of God. N.T. Wright takes the reader on a journey through the story of the bible. Along the journey the reader will encounter God, Jesus, the Spirit, and Israel. At the end, Tom looks at what a life under the Lordship of Jesus could look like if somebody is willing to join in on the story, to be Jesus for a world that has no hope in sight. No other scholar has the gift to communicate so beautifully and clearly the truth about Christianty. He captured me with his introduction and I hope the same happens to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Three cheers!

    Hip, Hip Hooray! I would like to thank the author for presenting a theology which, in it's discussion of 'the kingdom,' taps into and exploits the festering tension between America's suburaban middle class and those living in her large cities. I don't believe the author expresses any sensitivity towards American culture and I suspect there is a type of antipathy between anyone who is a high Anglican and lives under the laws of the European Union. I have never seen such an all out attack on America's institutions no less the church - of which in America is allowed to exist in her many denominations. Not only this. But the author actually defines the Christian faith, the attempt of which has always led to oppression and bloodshed, at least in the history of England. But the Christian faith has so many elements that it resists the metanarrative that the author affixes it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2