Customer Reviews for

Simply Magic

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Some of the BEST Historic Romantic Fiction

    In the last three months I have read as many of Mary Balogh's books as I am able to find. Her characters are fully formed, endearing, or hated. The plots have real romance not inane silliness. The settings are historically accurate, and so appealing that I wish I could view photographs. I have read the entire 'slightly' series, all of the 'simple series', and am anticipating the newest book to be published in May 2009.

    Since I have kept all of the books so far, obviously they will become part of my permanent library along with Judith McNaught and Catherine Coulter. Read any of Ms. Balogh's books - you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    'Simply Magic' is a dramatic and sensual story about two individuals who fall in love, only to discover their love is complicated by a disturbing interwoven past. Peter Edgeworth, Viscount Whitleaf has been a perfect gentleman of the ton, while avoiding all of the eligible marriageable young ladies his mother has put in his path. It is on a walking path on the estate of a friend that he meets the beautiful and independent school teacher Susanna Osbourne, saying to himself, 'There she is.' Struggling with unrecognized love at first site, no matter how much Peter attempts to avoid Susanna, he constantly finds himself drawn to her. They quickly become close friends, walking the estate paths and discussing many topics, while at the same time fighting a growing desire for each other. The innocent Susanna realizes as a viscount there can be no future with Peter, but she is also saddened as he does not seem to recognize her from the past as a young girl when she lived at a nearby estate where her father was a steward. But many do not recognize the beautiful Susanna as the young twelve year old girl who suddenly disappeared after the sudden suicide of her father. She has lived with the pain of this secret for years, growing in beauty and intelligence as a teacher at the very school she attended as a charity pupil, due to the kindness of none other than one of the famous Bedwyn family. Having a holiday with friends is a delightful vacation that becomes a bit disconcerting and she finds herself counting the limited days she can spend with Peter. When friendship turns to desire that builds to an intense afternoon of passion, Peter takes her innocence. When he offers carte blanche instead of marriage, Susanna runs back to her school, but finds she cannot run from her heart. Simon misses his dear friend and realizing his mistake and that he loves Susanna, he creates a plan to earn back her friendship and love. But soon their intertwined intense past is revealed. Will their love be strong enough to overcome the shocking revelations? There is nothing simple about Mary Balogh's 'Simply' Series. Once again she has proven that she is the modern Jane Austen in this beautiful and heartwarming tale. For Regency romance fans, Ms. Balogh has the talent to take readers back to the Regency Period, making them feel they are there and intimately involved with the characters. Each book builds from previous stories and dearly loved characters return to be interwoven with new. Simply Magic is a truly pleasurable read like many of the other Balogh Regencies. A romance fan's delight would be a long vacation alone with a stack of Balogh Regencies reading them in order, enjoying an arm chair travel back in time to the Regency period!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Series

    This has been my favorite of this series so far but Mary needs to quit dragging these stories out. It feels like they are beating a dead horse with the same ideas and the characters thinking the same things over and over. I did like both Peter and Suzanna but other than that it was a pretty textbook MaryB.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book

    This waas a great book I got it from my public libray as a pick up and go book because i had a little bit of time to stop and pick out a book. It was simply amazing I have read a great many books in my life and after the Twilight Series this has to rank in my top 15 books of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    it really is simply...magic!!!

    First comes friendship then love...it's a heartwarming story. Good job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing

    In Bath twenty-three years old Susanna Osbourne is contented with her life as a teacher at Miss Martin's School for Girls. To her the school is home because ever since her father left her over a decade ago she has felt alone and fears to love somebody as those who matter leave you alone.------------------ When Susanna meets handsome Viscount Peter Edgeworth, she immediately considers him an inconsequential flirt. He on the other hands thinks she is a rustic boob who never left the classroom. However he also finds her rejection fascinating and thinks there is a bit of a mystery behind the teacher that he plans to explore. Surprisingly, though somewhat disparaging of one another, they become friends although both fears exploring the attraction that simmers in each of their minds.--------------- The third Simply Regency romance (see SIMPLY UNFORGETTABLE and SIMPLY DANGEROUS) is a delightful tale starring two interesting protagonists whom if first impressions mean anything should never have forged a loving relationship, but a game of cat and mouse gives them the needed time to do so. On the surface Susanna and Peter appear like typical regency characters however Mary Balogh makes their relationship an engrossing SIMPLY PERFECT (next book) read.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2