Customer Reviews for

Simply Unforgettable

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stranded Together with a Twist

    Frances Allard is on her way back to Miss Martin's School for girls where she teaches. Frances spent her Christmas break with her two elderly great aunts. The weather is making a turn for the worse when her carriage is over taken by a speeding hellion. Just a short way down the road disaster strikes. The hellion has had to stop and Frances' driver is unable to stop in time. The carriage ends up in a snow drift but Frances is rescued by Lucius Marshall, Viscount Sinclair.

    The turn in weather makes travel impossible so Frances, Lucius and their drivers seek shelter in an inn. The innkeepers are away but they have left behind Wally, a pretty much useless servant. Frances and Lucius spend the next few days bickering, laughing, frolicking, learning each other and loving. Both Frances and Lucius understand that once the weather improves they'll be saying good-bye. It's this knowledge that allows Frances to take the risk and live in the moment.

    When the time comes; however, Lucius doesn't see why saying good-bye is necessary. Frances is an independent woman and won't live as someone's mistress or even as a kept woman. She can only accept marriage and that isn't an option. Lucius must marry by summer's end and is all but betrothed to another. Frances doesn't want to leave Bath or her teaching position. Fate has other ideas and keeps throwing them together.

    Lucius is a strong male role and at times was almost overbearing. Really he was just a determined man who knew his woman was holding back and needed to help fix it. In the end he was a caring man who would do anything to see Frances happy. Frances spends so much time worrying how every thing is going to turn out that she forgets to live. She is content where she is and won't allow herself to reach for happiness, so Lucius reaches for it for both of them. The secondary characters added greatly to the book as well. I found myself wanting to know Lucius' family more. Frances' colleagues were just there enough to make me wonder what secrets their stories hold. I'm looking forward to finding out!

    Simply Unforgettable is the type of book that will ruin all others for awhile after you finish it. It is that good. Balogh takes a standard stranded together themed book and twists and shapes it into something new and stunning. Lucius seems doomed to a marriage with someone else and Frances has a mysterious past that stands between them. I was worried about her past and if it was really as big a deal as we were being led to believe. I wasn't disappointed. It isn't an insurmountable problem but it wasn't a small problem either.

    Simply Unforgettable is great for someone looking to slip to London for a tea or soiree. If you've read the Wallflower series by Lisa Kleypas, I don't doubt for a minute you'll love Simply Unforgettable by Mary Balogh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    MAGICAL

    Thoroughly enjoyable series. This one was no exception. LORRAINE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Khady

    Perfect read!! Very captivating!!! Could not put the book down!!! A must read!!! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    Recommended for fans of the historical romance fiction genre.

    I really enjoy this genre but I am usually put off my those cheesy mass paperback covers. Loved the simplicity of this one! The book was a great romantic escape to another time. Really loved the characters and the plot was fast paced.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Actually pretty forgettable

    This book could have been a lot shorter than it was. I also have a difficult time imagining a Viscount continually being rejected by the same woman and not giving up. Thats all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Part of the reason why I picked this up was because I've read Mary Balogh before and she's never been a disappointment. But this book definitely was. There was a cast of five main characters and none of them were interesting or unique enough for me to be able to tell them apart. As the book went on, the characters became somewhat more realistic. I developed sympathy for James and Madeline because they were far more compelling than the main duo. Edmond and Alexandra were dull and completely unbelievable in the role of lovers. They had no passion between them. Nothing of interest happened in the book, which was far too long anyway. When an author writes her characters well, a reader doesn't care how long the book is so long as they can continue to be inside the heads of such fascinating, exciting and REAL people. And the story doesn't always have to involve an exciting mystery and several dead bodies. It can simply be a tale of two people who manage to find love and happiness together despite the odds. I will say this, though. This is a classic novel that Mary Balogh wrote back in 1989. She has improved significantly since then. Her style has changed so much that she's barely recognizable as the same author. Judith McNaught is the opposite. Some of the books she wrote years ago are much better than the stuff she has out now. Whitney, My Love, a classic that was written in 1985, is one of the most beautiful love stories I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    It is Simply Unforgettable

    I loved loved loved this book. It was the first I have read by this author, and had to go back and read any other book I could get my hands on. It contains so much feeling and emotion between the main characters, that I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    By far the best book I've read all year!!!

    This was a great story it captured me on the first page and held me to the last. I literally could not put it down I pick up this book at 6pm and did not put it down untill I had finished the book at 4am. This is my first Mary Balough and she has found a fan in me...the book was great!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Very disappointing

    This is the first and I must say the LAST book by Mary Balogh I will read. I found it to be very boring. It was a chore to finish it, but finish it I did even though it took much longer than usual to complete this reading. There were a few interesting parts but not enough for me to ever recommend it to anyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Not Mary Balogh's best

    I'm a big fan of Mary Balogh, but this one was not my favorite. I thought it started well, but then it just went in rather boring circles for the rest of the book. Hope the others- especially Syd's- are better in this 'simply' series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Entertaining as always

    I'm a devote reader of Mary Balogh, and I do always like her stories. This one wasn't my favorite, but I hope the family line will get better with the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Indulge & Be Delighted !!!

    What can I say..but Hurrah !!! Another great story written by Mary Balogh.. As in her Slightly Series of books, involving the Bedwyn family, this tale of Frances Allard (teacher at a school for young ladies),and the totally delicious Lucien Marshall (Viscount Sinclair) is entirely enjoyable, from beginning to end.. and YES, you will find within, a smattering of mention of the Bedwyns.. which to Mary Balogh's loyal readers, will bring a smile of remembrance...of other superb tales.. This story is all things, from funny, to sad, to happy, to loving.. all the requirements one needs... Indulge & Be Delighted...!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    What a Disappointment

    After enjoying many of Mary Balogh's romances through the last few years, I found this hardcover a real disappointment. The characters were flat, uninteresting, and the plot was just plain dumb. If Ms. Balogh doesn't get the muse, this will have been my last purchase of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    A disappointment from a Master of Historicals

    Mary Balogh has entertained us for years with witty, interesting historicals designed to give the reader the opportunity to escape from the mundane of every day. In the latest book Simply Unforgettable, however, she forgets that her readers turn to the historicals for an escape, not for a poor attempt to put the modern ideal of a male/female relationship into the 1800's. If I was interested in reading about a 'career minded' female and a whimpy near-do-well hero, I would read a 'modern novella' not a historical romance. In addition to poor characters, the plot is not up to Ms. Balogh's usual standards. Frances Allard is a daughter of a French father and an Italian mother, yet she claims to be English and is offended that not everybody sees it her way, somebody needs to teach this girl a bit of geography and the rules of lianage. There are several characters in the book that are mentioned many times and who appear to be central to the plot, yet we never get to meet them or to understand their motivation (the George Ralston character for example, who is he?) The only interesting turns and twists in the plot (one carriage overtaking another and heros being stranded in the snow storm) are recycled from other books by Ms. Balogh (see the 'Matchmaker' and Irresistable (or another book from that series). I fear that this book is quite forgettable despite its title to the countrary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific tale

    Frances Allard travels from Miss Martin¿s School for Girls in Bath to spend the Christmas holidays with her beloved great-aunts in Mickledean. However a rare holiday snowstorm strikes; while her coach crawls, Viscount Lucius Marshall goes full speed cuasing a near accident. Her coach is stuck in the drifts and though she the tortoise and he the hare argue he takes her to a nearby inn. Shockingly they share an incredible night of passion................ In the morning light, Frances knows he is way above her station and besides even if she was not her past makes her unsuitable for him; she must move on, but she will never forget the greatest night of her life. Lucius refuses to take no for an answer as he realizes that he has found his soulmate although she is far from the perfect wife, love makes her even better suited for him, but he must persuade her one kiss at a time................... The opening of the ¿Simply¿ delightful Regency series is a reason to rejoice as the great Mary Balogh starts off with a terrific tale of two individuals who by Ton standards could never be together except as his mistress. The story line is character driven as the determined male protagonist knows what his perfect spouse should be, but his ideal wife will share one trait with him: love. Anything less is unacceptable. Frances is his wonderful counterpart who rejects him out of her love for him. The secondary cast adds depth and humor while also deftly introducing us fans to future lead characters. This is no slightly diverging novel as sub-genre readers will simply treasure this unforgettable romance............... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2