Customer Reviews for

Sin Killer (Berrybender Narratives Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    Larry, You better release the next volumes.

    I loved this book. I have read everything Larry Mcmurtry has ever published, even the essays. No one develops characters like he does. I don't want to wait long for the next installment. This book made me laugh outloud at the calamities this selfish, spoiled family encounter. They don't blink at the hardship and death of their relatives and shipmates. I recommend this book to anyone. The only problem is the reading goes too fast and the book ends too soon. Larry, get the lead out and no vacations for a while, please!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Blood, Thunder, and Myth

    Sin Killer is the first of four novels in a series detailing the adventures of the rich, aristocratic, and eccentric Berrybender family¿terribly out of place¿traveling up the Missouri River and then across the endless Great Plains toward Santa Fe. The time is the early 1830s, and the American West they have come to see is both magnificant and brutally hostile. The naive English troup encounters numerous memorable characters, such as the trappers Jim Bridger, Tom Fitzpatrick, and Kit Carson, the painter George Catlin, a fearsome Sioux war chief named Partezon, and an assortment of other quirky adventurers. At once epic, comic, and tragic, the Berrybender narrative represents a crucial decade in which the West was both won and lost and when random violence and natural hazards greeted all those who dared venture west of St Louis. At the core of the novels is the love story of beautiful, blunt, brash Tasmin Berrybender and the ferocious frontiersman, Jim Snow. Tasmin is one of McMurtry's most memorable female characters, and her stormy relationship with her wandering husband is part bittersweet romance, part soap opera. McMurtry remains a master storyteller, skillfully mixing fact with fiction and tragedy with comedy. It's interesting to note that the Scotsman, William Drummond Stewart, who meets a grisly end in the second volume, actually returned home (with a small herd of buffalo) in the late 1830s to be laird of his manor. He died in 1871, leaving the family estates to an illegitimate son whose mother was a Dallas saloon keeper. As for Pomp Charbonneau, who for a time is the focus of Tasmin's determined love, in real life he ended his days searching for gold in California, dying at age 61 en route to Montana.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Wonderful moving story

    A super star of western adventrue. McMurtry is a wonderful moving writer. The novel is a must read piece of intertainment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Not your everyday 'run of the mill' McMurtry

    I liked it. It wasn't what I expected but it had rich characters, and an interesting setting. The vocabulary was extensive and sophisticated. I'm looking forward to the next 3 books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Surprises and Calamity

    This book was an excellent read. I've never been a fan of the western's and was quite skeptical when a friend recommended this book. But it reads like a spectacular mix of Mark Twain, Jonathan Irving and Voltaire, all at once it is laugh out loud hilarious, and solemnly stoic with it's matter of fact descriptions of dismemberment, death, and life. My only complaint is the abrupt ending, which as I understand is really not the ending, with 3 other books following the Berrybenders in the wings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    I liked it

    I rushed through this fast-paced story, and I loved every minute! Tasmin is as rich a character as the equally spoiled Scarlet O'Hara, but much more self-aware. I can't wait for the next installment -- I haven't enjoyed McMurtry this much for a while.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    McMurty is the best!

    Purchased this book before last Christmas and could not seem to get interested. Picked it up again in January and could not put it down until Folly and Glory. I hope this is not the last time McMurty tells a story of the old west.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    This was a hard book for me to get into...once I did it was a go

    This was a hard book for me to get into...once I did it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book, and now have purchased the entire series. It's both amusing and yet tragic, as the story unfolds about the Berrybender family and all the characters they encounter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    I was bored quickly and the, unnecessary, overuse of comas left

    I was bored quickly and the, unnecessary, overuse of comas left me feeling, more than once, and I can't be alone, annoyed and, on more the. One occasion, turned off...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    entertaining and fun

    This is loosely based on historical accounts of the struggles of life in the early days of the wilds of America. Insert a big family and their servants of a rather stuffy English semi-royalty, and the mix can be a blast - or tragic. Funny, poignant, interesting, sad - all at once. The characters are easy to like - even the not-so-nice ones. Actual historical characters are involved all throughout the whole series of four books, and it is well worth your time to read all four of them - in order, of course. The only issue is that while a lot of the characters really lived in the right times in the right places, they didn't really do almost all the things portrayed in the books. Putting the facts aside, it seems that if events happened a bit different, it is believable that the real characters might have done what the book characters did.
    I heartily recommend this series. Get them all, read them, digest the lifes and times, and go back and re-read them. In fact, I have yet to read a book by Larry McMurtry that I did not enjoy completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    I,ve read the series twice already and plan to.do so again!

    As soon as i finished the last page of the last novel, i started sin killer again immediately. It was such a hard world to leave behind, i wasnt ready. Now, every 5 years or so, i can read them again (thanks to a poor memory!)
    Strongly recommended for any age, any sex, any one who loves fiction OR non-fiction, and a great zeal.for.life and.advemture as well as strong character.stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SERIES!!! Hurray for the Berrybenders!

    I absolutely love this series by McMurtry introducing us to the eccentric, over-the-top Berrybender Clan! What could be better than intwining real life American West heroes and characters with the fantastic detailing of this amazing family! The adventures end to soon with the end of the series! Come on we're waiting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This book is a wonderful read. So interesting that I was astonished to find I was reading the last page! Can't wait to order the next book in this series. Yes, it's different from Lonesome Dove which was an excellent novel, but Sin Killer is a great story about the early white man in the "wild" west.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    escapist fiction at its finest

    I found this book to be so enthralling, surprising and breathtaking that I almost couldn't put it down to tend to ordinary responsibilities! This is just what I was looking for, to divert myself in times of stress and waiting. My tension evaporated as I tuned in to the Berrybender family's story and unique outlook on life as they traveled the historic U.S. frontier. The perspective of women was especially featured and the contrast between European and American beliefs regarding class distinction, wealth and the role of aristocrats... Would recommend to anyone with an open mind regarding historical fiction, meaning not all of the story (in fact, little of it) is neat, proper or romanticized. Gritty, yet compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    This is sure no Lonesome Dove!

    Lonesome Dove was one of my favorite reads ... ever. I couldn't make it halfway through this mess. I think ole McMurtry is just plain running out of ideas. The whole situation in this book is soooo ludicrous; plot is strained, and (very unlike Lonesome Dove) there are no characters ... they're all pure charicature. A real stinker all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    first and probably last mcmurtry

    I guess not having read any of the 'good' ones by this author I am a bit amazed at how everyone raves about him. this book just stops. there doesn't seem to be much of a point or theme. the characters are rather poorly drawn - more caricatures than people. I wouldn't waste a minute of my time or money continuing the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    And then?

    I've read lots of McMurtry's material and most of it is excellent. This book is part of a series involving the same characters. In other books written as series each one seems to be able to stand alone. Not this one. At the end of this I was wondering what is going to happen to the main characters. I know this gets people to purchase the next book, but it shouldn't be like a TV soap opera with no end in sight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    'Sin Killers' and 'Wandering Hills'

    Larry-- I hope you can read this, 'Lonesone Dove' series was wonderfull. I am on Chapte 27 of 'Dead Man's Walk' and I can not wait to finish the book. I should have read 'Dead Man's Walk first. I have read 'Sin Killer' and part of 'Wandering Hills'. Larry, you must know that a friend and I really enjoy your writing. Please come back with more Gus and Woodrow. You have to ability to do it. jv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    good book

    Started off with way too much information in a very short amount of time but turned into an enjoyable read. The book needed another 50 pages to have been 'complete'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3