Customer Reviews for

Since the Surrender (Pennyroyal Green Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining Eversea historical romance

    Captain Chase Eversea earned a reputation for heroism during the war, but never forgot the one indiscretion of his life. Five years ago, he met his commander's much younger wife Rosalind March and had the sexual encounter of his life. However, soon afterward he was transferred to another unit where he displayed courage under fire.

    Now back home and out of the military, Chase vows to avoid scandal as he plans to live up to his family reputation, although he knows he will never forget Rosalind. However the best laid plans of men often go astray when a woman begs him to help her. At the Montgomery Museum Rosalind meets with and asks Chase to assist her in finding her missing sister Lucy "The Blond One" Locke, who was arrested for allegedly stealing a valuable bracelet and sent to Newgate; only to vanish. She swears her sibling is innocent just feathery. They investigate following clues that lead to danger and love.

    This is an entertaining Eversea historical romance (see THE PERILS OF PLEASURE) is an engage tale due to the hero who wants the facts, just the facts as he and his "sidekick" investigate while each struggles with their attraction. The investigation is cleverly intertwined with the romance in a clever DNA helix way so that fans will relish the search of London to find the missing sister and the misplaced love.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    I purchased this book because it was rated 4 stars. I had to for

    I purchased this book because it was rated 4 stars. I had to force myself to deep on reading it. It was boring. Her discriptions of events and things are too long.To be honest it did get better at the end but I had to suffer through the beginning to get to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Wonderful Moments

    I enjoyed it! Chase and his interaction with the puppets had me howling with laughter. It was alittle slow at times but I'm easy to please. Well. At least I know who or what "Lavay" is and the long journey Violet Redmond may embark on.

    I love this series...will Lyon Redmond ever come home...will Olivia Eversea find love with some one else? How does Violet meet Lavay...and ten 10 children children for the younger Eversea?

    The mysterious little nuggets of foreshadowing dropped into each book helps stir my speculation about what happens next. Every book can't be a winner for everyone all the time...but the utter suspense of not knowing what's coming next in a series is a gift that is crafted by the author. I don' t know about you but that is why I read. Now it's on to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Wonderful

    Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Booooring!

    Warning! Do'nt waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Not my favorite Julie Anne Long novel. Boring book to read. The

    Not my favorite Julie Anne Long novel. Boring book to read. The plot is shallow. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    This one is not nearly as good as the first two. It begins well

    This one is not nearly as good as the first two. It begins well and goes downhill from there - In fact, it gets sorta silly at the end. The places where these two decide to have sex gets a little ridiculous - a musty old bed in a museum - with the bad guys all around - give me a break! Hopefully, the next one will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Not as good as the first two I have read. This one seems to be t

    Not as good as the first two I have read. This one seems to be too disjointed. Did not hold my interest. Loved the first two. Hope to enjoy the next ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Might be my favorite

    I loved this book. I really loved the whole series bit this one was special. The last chapter was amazingly beautiful. I can not wait for fhe 7th book, as now I have read tjem all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhat disappointing. I think it's supposed to be funny (at times it is), but . . .

    Perhaps it's because wounded hero Captain Chase Eversea is reminiscent of book #2's Miles Redmond (physically, a man of honor, etc.) and the widowed Rosalind March is temperamentally and sexually similar to book #2's Cynthia Brightly.
    Recuperating in Pennyroyal Green, the morose Chase has been sent by his family to London ostensibly to check out a distant cousin for the vicarage in Pennyroyal Green, but really to pull himself out of his depression. The plot hangs on a call for help from Rosalind to Chase because her sister who had been arrested nicking a bracelet goes missing in Newgate prison. Neither of them has forgotten an amazing, but illicit kiss they had shared 5 years earlier when Rosalind was married to Chase's superior officer. They meet in front of an awful painting of cows in the secluded Montmorency Museum, which contains an eclectic collection of marionettes, armor, fine art, etc. Rosalind thinks she smells cigar smoke and sees a ghostly figure, and they both hear muffled sounds. Some secondary characters are suspect: a carpenter/puppet maker whose daughter is also missing, Lt. Kinkade a comrade in arms, now a bored civilian and lawmaker out for thrills, and Liam, an engaging street urchin whose pretty sister has also gone missing after being arrested. Chase is determined not only to help Rosalind (and find Lucy and Meg and Cora) before he sails off to India, but also to educate Rosalind in sexual bliss (they smolder every time they're together, and he takes advantage of the many nooks in the museum). But the seductions just don't meld with the plot. Lots of scatological names abound to hide the real names of the cavorting lords who are preying on the innocent thieves. Not up to the first two Pennyroyal Green stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another multi-layered, funny, sweet, sexy Regency historical from Julie Anne Long.

    I loved Colin Eversea in Perils of Pleasure. And Miles Redmond, of Like No Other Lover, was the sexiest scholarly hero I've read in a while. But Captain Charles Eversea? His particular brand of soldierly directness combined with unexpected humor is pretty darn potent. I loved the way Long slowly unraveled the backstory between Chase and Rosalind giving details a little at a time until the whole was revealed. Their chemistry was palpable and their genuine affection and friendship made their relationship all the more satisfying. Add a colorful cast of secondary characters (including some amusing glimpses of a happily married Colin) and you've got the recipe for a sigh-inducingly rewarding read. Loved it. The only question now is which one of Pennyroyal Green's citizens stars in the next book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3