BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sinful Surrender

Average Rating 4
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dynamite Debut!

Beverly Kendall's debut novel, "Sinful Surrender", is amazing! Her knowledge and love of the era and the genre are vividly evident in this sizzling romantic tale. This is true "heart with heat"! When Missy Armstrong was ten years old, she first met her older brother Tho...
Beverly Kendall's debut novel, "Sinful Surrender", is amazing! Her knowledge and love of the era and the genre are vividly evident in this sizzling romantic tale. This is true "heart with heat"! When Missy Armstrong was ten years old, she first met her older brother Thomas' best friend, James Rutherford. From that point on, James was the focal point of her world, and he treated her with brotherly affection. Thomas and James were two of a kind, true rogues making their wanton way through the lovelies of London. Because Thomas knew James only too well, he repeatedly warned James away from Missy. This was not a problem for James, until he suddenly realized that Missy had grown into a very desirable young woman! While Missy and James eventually acknowledge and surrender to their overwhelming physical attraction, they must also learn who they are as individuals. Many surprises await Missy and James, not just about themselves, but also about the world around them. At first, James fights against Missy's insistent infatuation, even when she arouses him more than any woman he has known. Later, when he realizes that he is capable of loving Missy as she deserves, he puts up the fight of his life to win the love of a lifetime! Highly recommended for lovers of Historical Romance!

posted by gincam on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Waste of my Time and Money

I read a book a day. This is the worst book I have ever had the misfortune to purchase. The characters lack substance and there is NO plot.

posted by 3077116 on March 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Dynamite Debut!

    Beverly Kendall's debut novel, "Sinful Surrender", is amazing! Her knowledge and love of the era and the genre are vividly evident in this sizzling romantic tale. This is true "heart with heat"! When Missy Armstrong was ten years old, she first met her older brother Thomas' best friend, James Rutherford. From that point on, James was the focal point of her world, and he treated her with brotherly affection. Thomas and James were two of a kind, true rogues making their wanton way through the lovelies of London. Because Thomas knew James only too well, he repeatedly warned James away from Missy. This was not a problem for James, until he suddenly realized that Missy had grown into a very desirable young woman! While Missy and James eventually acknowledge and surrender to their overwhelming physical attraction, they must also learn who they are as individuals. Many surprises await Missy and James, not just about themselves, but also about the world around them. At first, James fights against Missy's insistent infatuation, even when she arouses him more than any woman he has known. Later, when he realizes that he is capable of loving Missy as she deserves, he puts up the fight of his life to win the love of a lifetime! Highly recommended for lovers of Historical Romance!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend

    What a great book. My first by Beverley and will not be the last.
    This is a great story about Missy and James. James is Missy's brothers best friend. Missy has always had a crush on James, ever since she was a little girl. Missy has waited for James to have feelings for her and he just does not feel that way. Missy decided she is going to try and seduce James. She kisses him and he pushes her away because she is his best friends sister. She waits, and three years later she tries again, and he breaks her heart, even though he enjoyed it very much and wanted more. He knows that he can not be with him, even though he does want to. She decides that she is no longer going to try, but some how she is always drawn to him. He starts to become drawn to her, but knows nothing can happen. He flirts with other woman to hinder her, and make her go after someone else, because she needs to marry and soon. James is scared to love, because he is afraid that he will end up like his father, that was so in love with his mother and she never returned his feelings. There are a lot of secrets that will come out and hurt everyone. This is a great story about letting yourself love and know that it is okay to be loved back.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Finally, a woman with backbone!!! She gets her man in the end. After chasing him he finally catches her!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Loved it!

    I read this after I fell in love with this writers book 2. Another fantastic weave of tension, true romantic feelings, and roller coaster up and downs. The added conflict of the hero and his torn feelings with his closest friend the herioine's brother was just another layer to this fantastic romance. Good job mrs. Kendall again can't wait for the next book , hopefully about Alex...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    super Victorian romance

    When Millicent "Missy" Armstrong' was ten years old she decided she would one day marry James Rutherford, best friend of her brother Thomas. She remained patient until her first London season in 1852 when she jumped him claiming a kiss. Although aroused by the no longer little sister, James pushes her aside and rejects her.

    The kiss still haunts James as Missy begins her fourth campaign to make him surrender to her love. However, though he knows he wants her, James has several reasons to say no starting with Thomas who would never accept a rake like him as part of the family and the example set by his parents whose love turned to cheating. Thomas wants Missy married so he decides to let her see her romanticized hero as the wandering rake he is. Her sibling prefers she marry Lord Granville while Lady Victoria Spencer has set her sights on James. However, neither the Ton nor the selected respective suitors, the brother, nor the chosen one know how determined Missy is, but they will before her fourth season is done.

    Sinful Surrender is a super Victorian romance starring a resolute obsessed heroine and the man of her dreams. Ironically James thinks he is in love with Missy, but because of his parents' example and his belief she can do better fostered by his friend, he rejects her and his heart. Although, his consistent refusal should have sent Missy in retreat, fans will root for the single-minded heroine as she knows who she wants and will accept nothing less than his Sinful Surrender to their love. Beverly Kendall provides an enjoyable historical.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Very Good Read

    I bought this book after I had read A Taste of Desire. I should have read this book first, as it is the first in the series. But I enjoyed A Taste of Desire so much I had to get this one. Both books were extremely good and can recommend both. Am anxiously awaiting installment #3 - An Heir of Deception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    LOVED this book!

    Great storyline and the action was good. I love the comraderie between the three friends. This is a must have!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    provacative and engaing

    i enjoyed very much! characters have spirit and uniqueness and keep you drawn to the storyline. will be looking forward to books by Kendall in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    slow at first

    but i loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    Waste of my Time and Money

    I read a book a day. This is the worst book I have ever had the misfortune to purchase. The characters lack substance and there is NO plot.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Awsome

    Love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What's Millie to do when the man she adores and loves is her bro

    What's Millie to do when the man she adores and loves is her brother's best friend? What's James to do when the woman he craves is his best friend's sister and off limits? They both screw it up. Millie wants James to love her but he doesn't believe in love. James craves Millie since she turned 16. He stayed away from her and her family so he did not act on his passions. Now James is back and he can't stay away from her and Millie can't stay away from him. Will they ever let their love grow and blossom? This story has fire extinguisher worthy scenes, pregnancy scares, fist fights, loveable characters, daring décolletages, jealous fits and so many twists and turns. There so many misunderstanding in this story but it works so well. Millie and James love story is one that will remain with me for years. This is the first book by Beverley Kendall that I have read and I must say I am hooked. I give my highest rating of 5 fingers up and 10 toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Wonderful

    Read 280 pgs in one day I have now to read Alex and Thomas story you have wrote a lovely story Thank you B.Kendell for allowing me into yet another great writers world. Ms. D from Bronx, NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Stick with it

    For the first quarter of the book the heroine will feel like a saucy cheerleader trying to seduce her teacher. Stick with the book, she gets much better as the book goes on. It has a bit of an unexpected twist but of course it all works out in the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Wonderful Read! Loved that the author had an Epilogue and wrappe

    Wonderful Read!
    Loved that the author had an Epilogue and wrapped things up. Even though this is book one of the series, could stand alone. The next one is Taste of Desire which I can't wait to start. The character's come to life and there are so many secondary character's that are as richly written as the main ones. You can't go wrong with reading this book. ljb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Absolutely love this series!

    Loved this story and all the others in this series! Captivating storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Lived it

    Headstrong, stuborn, and in love describe James and Missy. A fun fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Horrible!

    Missy was VERY hard to like. James the "hero" was more like everyone's scapegoat. I was so frustrated and aggravated by the actions of the characters that I could not even finish the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Ok

    Missy was too annoying for my taste. Didn't like neither main characters. You could really tell this is the author's first published book. I mostly skimmed through it. Glad I just borrowed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Annoying

    Okay, i am not even halfway through this book and I cannot stand "Missy", she is so self centered I find myself rooting against her. I want him to resist and reject her...she doesn't deserve him! ugh!! I don't know if I can even finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14