Customer Reviews for

Sing Me to Sleep

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SING ME TO SLEEP, WINS MY HEART

    Wow, where do I begin. I was blown away when I read TAKEN BY STORM by Angela Morrison's, so I had no doubt, SING ME TO SLEEP would be good. Yet I couldn't have begun to foresee what an impact Beth's story would have on me.

    When I finish reading a book, I often run to the computer to write my review. Not so with SING ME TO SLEEP. There was no way I was emotionally ready after finishing the final pages. Heck, I wouldn't have been able to see the screen, anyway.

    I was pre-warned that I would need a box of tissues. Silently I said to myself, I don't think so. As an avid reader, I've read my share of tearjerkers. One tissue, maybe.but a box? I don't think so.

    I couldn't have been more wrong.

    As an aspiring writer, I was in awe of Ms. Morrison's writing as I read one great line after another. There was nothing I would have changed and that's saying a lot. It exceeded anything I could have conjured up. She has a uniquely amazing way with words. Each line was perfect in every way. I laughed. I cried. I was angry. I smiled. I felt every emotion Beth, Derek, and Scott experienced. I felt as though I were right there in the midst of their lives

    On page 88, my jaw dropped. Some of the sweetest words you could image came from Derek and Scott. Ms. Morrison is more then a writer of fiction. She's a poet and a song writer as well. I was so caught up in the story that I longed for a soundtrack of, SING ME TO SLEEP.

    I was taken back to my school days, living them through Beth and Scott. Many faces came to mind of past schoolmates. Kids today need to hear this story, as do teachers and parents.

    SING ME TO SLEEP is filled with trials, and tribulations, as well as friendship, love, hope and faith. It was moving, gripping and intense. It set me on an emotional rollercoaster from the very first line to the very last!

    I have never experience a book such as SING ME TO SLEEP where I sensed what direction the author was taking the characters early on, then doubted my decision several times, then was blown away by the final chapters.

    This morning after the kids left for school and my husband for work, I sat down in the living room to read the remaining seventy pages. God must have known I would need the solitude. I began to read and couldn't put it down. There were moments where I was chocked up but I kept reading, absorbing every word.

    I held back my emotions.until I got to page 291. That's were I lost it! I have never HAD to step away from a book before. After several long minutes, I was finally able to pull myself together enough to read the final pages. This was not the first time I've cried or got caught up in a book but NEVER to this capacity. I was an emotional wreck through the last three chapters. They were truly the most powerful chapters I've ever read.

    This book is a must read for preteen, teens, young adults, teachers, parents, and so many more. One can not help but get caught up in the lives of these characters, each one beautifully done. I savored and absorbed every word, often rereading many lines because they were that good.

    I see "movie" written all over this book. If some producer doesn't snatch it up, they'll be missing a great opportunity.

    Watch out, Nicholas Sparks.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    You Must Read This Book Now!!!

    This book will make you feel differently. For people who love romance, and music, and love. Prepare to be tearful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2014

    This book made me cry so much. Definitely is making to my top 10

    This book made me cry so much. Definitely is making to my top 10 best books that i've read this year.
    I have to thank from my heart to my friend, Andreea, for discover this book and made me read it. This book is the best.

    I have to say that the first two chapters didn't convinced me, make me wonder if i want to continue reading this book. But, after chapter 3, OMG, mind blowing. The way the author has the gift to describe events, actions, love, is the best. People, i think, when they read this book compare it with #TFIOS, but it is nothing alike. True, has some similarities, but is way more different and way more best.

    The love between Beth and Derek, god, i wish i had that love, that respect, that affection. Yes, of course that i suspect Derek the whole time being a tricker, that is manipulate Beth in a bad way, but i was so wrong. And i'm glad for that. I still am a little upset on him for lying Beth so much, but i get his reasons. He wanted something real, for once.
    Beth... I kinda associated with  her. Is true, i never was bullied, but i know how it is to feel not worth it, beautiful and to question why a boy wants to be with you. And i know that i'm not the only one. :)

    And Scott, it is the type of true friend. Never let's go on Beth, always saving her, be with her, treats her like a true queen, and loves her so much. I think he is the only person that knows Beth better then her self. And also, he's so good looking. What can possibly you want more from him? I loved so much how he insisted on her, being cute and lovely and in the some time funny and goofy. That was the best part. 

    So if you ask me what team i am, TEAM DEREK or TEAM SCOTT...mhhh... I have to say TEAM DEREK, only because i discover him more than Scott. 
    Anyway, i don't wanna give to much because is more fun to go blind through this book. All you have to know is that this book is about beauty, ugliness, love, friendship and it's just caught you in his story. It pus a smile on your face when it has to, and a tear in your eyes when you think this isn't fare. It is like describing real life. And that makes her more lovely. You gonna devour it, like i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    This book will touch your heart in so many places it will hurt.

    This book will touch your heart in so many places it will hurt. A beautiful story with many layers.
    A girl's first love,school bullying, genetic diseases, a steadfast friend, a love for music; all interwoven 
    Into a story tgah will make you laugh, make you mad, make you sigh, and finally make you cry. Bravo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Ava Ravely

    I cant begiin to explain what this book did to me. Let me start out by saying ""WOW". I am twelve and one of the top readers in my grade level. I have read my share of books that make you cry but never have i ever read a book that pulled strings on my emotions like this one did. I usually dont cry during movies or books, but this was not the case. I got this after reading gregor the overlander Code of Claw. It was recomended so i was rxpecting more of a childrens book. Well i was sadly mistaken. From the beggining i had rooted for beth. She made me laugh and cry and smile and scream with rage. I have always wanted to write a book like this and cannot give enough applause to the author. She will always have the privaledge of being the author of my favorite book. Congradulations on your great success of creating not just a book, but a masterpiece to be charished for all of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Romance + Singing= Tears!!

    Why cant books today be like this?????? I dont get it!!!! Its all about vampires. I want kore books like this!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Omg

    Okat the beginning was good middle kinda boring... but i stuck with it bc the end kept me waiting. I knew wha was going to happen.. but i didnt expet the outcome to hit me so hard. I havent cried so much in a long time. I really needed it. What a great book. 237 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    A Heart Wrenching Love Story

    When I first borrowed this book from the library, I was captured by the cover. It seemed a little cliche but I grew to love it.

    The main character is known as a beast and sings as an alto in her choir, though no one knows her potential of being a soloist. When problems arise in the group, she is transformed from Beast to Beauty.

    At their competition, Beth captures the eye of a male group's soloist who is head over heels for her voice. He of course is much more of a bad boy than expected, but once again, very cliche. Their relationship had it's limits when Derek always seems to be disappearing and hiding something...

    This book had me sobbing at 1 A.M. because I couldn't find it in me to set the book down to sleep. Definitely a recommended book and one that other hopeless romantics should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Heart touching

    Had me in tears! I really wish that it hadn't ended the way it did. I prefer happily ever afters, though the book was very realistic the ending was so terrible but beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    This book is probably one of my favorites. The main character, Beth, is so relatable! It broke my heart that Beth never truly chose Scott...by the way, Scott is amazing, and if I was Beth I would totally be in love with him. But anyway, this book is amazing and lovely and heartbreaking all wrapped into one! Please read this...like go buy it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Best book

    this was the best book i have ever read LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent.

    This book completely caught me by surprise and blew me away. It was written so expertly, and...just wow. A great read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I loved the main character, and her love for singing and music, which I could relate to, because I love music too. Even so, a very passionate story and very beautiful. Very much recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    I have never had a book touched me in my heart the way this one did. Not only was the love beautiful, but the meaning behind it all, the selflessness of it, had me crying...literally. She has always been picked on since the day of her birth, called so many names and she took it all in. Then one day, she changed. She became something more and fell in love. Only the love did not last.

    So when I started reading this book I felt angry. The kids in the book were mean and vile. I felt for Beth but admired her strength and willingness to endure school everyday. She face it no matter what. Her voice is beautiful. And the way she sang that old gospel song had me lose my breath. She sung with such emotion and passion, you had to stop and listen.

    Finding her first love Derek is touching. You see them get along and fall in love quickly. What I failed to see was what brought them together in the first place. They both put on show for everyone but really on the inside they hide a secret. Derek's secret and fall is heartbreaking. I cried as I heard Beth sing her heart out for Derek. Her amazing strength to stand by him was beautiful.

    I am glad that in the end Beth had Scott. Now while this may seem strange since I'm sure some of you have not read the book but its not at all what you think. If anything I love Scott too. He did what Derek ask him since he knew what would happen. Derek knew where he stood and the selflessness he had in him to protect Beth had me crying. Scott is a good friend to Beth and they deserve each other.

    I can not began to tell you how you need to read this book. The love in it will leave you gasping for air. The singing will touch your heart and the sacrifice in the end will make you cry. I have never read anything like this. But I am glad sure that I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Fantastic!!!!

    I was in my school library and I randomly selected this book off of a shelf and I LOVED it!! It was defintly a heart-touching book. I did cry at the end though. I'd defintly read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Miraculous

    This book will change your outlook on life, love, and voice! It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heart Wrenching + Beautiful

    I'm honestly at a loss for words on where to start, I know the synopsis can give you an overview more catchy than I. So I'll settle telling you what the book did to me.

    Sing Me to Sleep was one of the most beautiful books I have ever read in the YA genre.
    Angela Morrison successfully weaved a story about family, friendship, love and trust all into one great book. I truly had no clue what I was getting when I picked up this book. From beginning to end I held a story I couldn't put down. It wasn't until I read the last page that I realized that I never expected such a well written, heart touching, story.

    With references of Beauty and the Beast, the beast being good-natured and peer-tormented Beth, and the Beauty being a male song bird brought into her life, Derrek, the love story between these two, and the loyal best friend, Scott, was nothing what I expected. With a common passion for singing, each others voice and song lyrics it is a common theme within this book, making the whole plot possible and giving it exceptional depth.

    One of my favorite things about this book was the voices and good nature of some of the main characters, even when they were far from perfect. Each character had their own secrets whether it be their past, their possible future, or the person they loved. For each secret you had the real and sometimes heart wrenching emotions to go with it. The characters read realistically- no corny dialog, outlandish actions, or situations that simply would never happen. This book and it's characters were real.

    Sing Me to Sleep is a book you easily find yourself involved in, living. Toward the end of the story I felt like I was there, astonished by the actions of those around me, feeling the same feelings the characters were experiencing. The tears sliding down my face proved my involvement.

    Outstandingly Fabulous this is a story worth reading. Just make sure to grab a box of tissues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Story!

    Beth is a relateable character for anyone who has ever felt like an outsider. The beautiful connection she has with Derek and the passion she feels for music is unbelieveable and touching. It's not only a story about hope, it is also a story about music, a transformation and facing your fears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I would recommend this to anyone

    I dont know why i chose the book to begin with but while on vacation i decided to grab some books since i have been reading alot this summer and i am glad this is one of the books i did get becasue i really enjoyed it...it was emotional for me but a great book to read. it is something that could happen to anyone....def. an A for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Touching and romantic

    SING ME TO SLEEP, by Angela Morrison, was a remarkable and heart-breaking story of love and music. This book literally tore me up inside but in the best way. Beth was always the Beast, but her physical transformation was just the beginning. With her new appearance she was able to accomplish her dreams of being a soloist and being loved by another, or two others. A new life was introduced to her, but complications arose when she had to make her choice between Scott or Derek.

    This book was unlike anything I have ever read. There was mystery, romance, suspense, heart-break, I could go on and on. The synopsis of the book does not even hint to the magnificence that is this book. I liked the added element of singing. The lyrics that were created were extraordinary and emotional. And the makeover for Beth was extreme but definitely matched her internal beauty.

    Beth was a really great character to read. She was not given an easy life, in terms of her looks, but she always knew what she wanted to do, and that was to sing. Even when life gave her lemons, she made lemonade.

    It was very hard to choose whose 'side' to be on in the love triangle. Both Derek and Scott were so different and they appealed to different parts of Beth. Scott knew Beth from when she was the Beast and he still loved her. But Derek did not know of Beth's past so she was able to start their relationship with a clean slate. They were both devoted wholly to Beth and her happiness, but in the end she made her choice based on her heart.

    This book had me sobbing the last six chapters, and I do not easy cry over books. The secret that Derek was hiding from Beth was nothing I would have expected. But I don't want to spoil it, so I definitely recommend you go out and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    Touches the Heart

    Angela Morrison writes beautifully. She writes novels that are both poetic and lyrical and this book "Sing Me to Sleep" is absolutely wonderful. The story is about a girl named, Beth (essentially the "beast"), who is horribly bullied and pretty much friendless, except for one boy named, Scott. When it's discovered what a beautiful voice she has, she gets a major transformation and becomes a "beauty" and gets the lead solo in her choir.

    Meanwhile, Derek, who is also a singer in a choir hears Beth's solo on the web and falls in love with her voice and sets out to meet her. When the two meet, the love story is captivating. Derek has a secret that when revealed just touches the heart!. It's a beautiful love story that you don't want to miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3