Customer Reviews for

The Singing (Pellinor Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Spellbound!

The story continues as Maerad and Hem struggle to reunite and solve the mystery of the TreeSong. Maerad is a powerful yet tragic character. I held my breathe waiting to see how the tale would end. I loved this final book and was completely satisfied with the conclusion....
The story continues as Maerad and Hem struggle to reunite and solve the mystery of the TreeSong. Maerad is a powerful yet tragic character. I held my breathe waiting to see how the tale would end. I loved this final book and was completely satisfied with the conclusion.

posted by LadyHester on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ugh...what happened?

the first book was excellent and it went down hill from there. this one gets fairly boring. cadvan disappointed me and hem was a pleasant surprise, he became a worthwhile character here. maerad finally discovers that cadvan loves her at the very end and once her eyes ar...
the first book was excellent and it went down hill from there. this one gets fairly boring. cadvan disappointed me and hem was a pleasant surprise, he became a worthwhile character here. maerad finally discovers that cadvan loves her at the very end and once her eyes are opened NOTHING CHANGES until the epilogue, and then it still is not a satisfying conclusion.

posted by caffeine_high on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbound!

    The story continues as Maerad and Hem struggle to reunite and solve the mystery of the TreeSong. Maerad is a powerful yet tragic character. I held my breathe waiting to see how the tale would end. I loved this final book and was completely satisfied with the conclusion.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Fantastic book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ugh...what happened?

    the first book was excellent and it went down hill from there. this one gets fairly boring. cadvan disappointed me and hem was a pleasant surprise, he became a worthwhile character here. maerad finally discovers that cadvan loves her at the very end and once her eyes are opened NOTHING CHANGES until the epilogue, and then it still is not a satisfying conclusion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    And The End Has Come

    I must forwarn readers that the ending is not what I first expected and I was not sure if I liked it or not. However, The book is still a good read. Once one thinks deeper about the meaning the books as a whole were trying to acomplish one begins to realy appresheate the story told as a whole and the ending truly fits. Just not as action packed and concluding as I hoped the package of the tale would rap up as.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Singing

    The Singing is an amazing conclusion to the Books of Pellinor. I loved the first book and am pleased enough with the ending Croggon wrote. The whole book shows so many things that are true in our world as well as Maerad's. Croggon shows the horror of war, power of friendship and love, and the slow movement of recovery. The detail continues in this book letting you see and feel the whole story. I really liked how she keeps Irc throughout the fourth book because he lightens the fear and makes the story happier. I also like how there are a so many well known characters (like Irc), but Croggon still adds so many new people and personalities. Each character is well described by appearance and by the other characters' opinion if him or her. The book as a whole is well written and fulfilling, but the epilogue seems almost to perfect for me to love. The end wasn't bad, but I think that I was hoping for Croggon to have something even more extraordinary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    Stunning. Beautiful. Evocative. Thrilling. Satisfying.

    ...<insert synonym here>.<BR/><BR/>This book was one of the most satisfying, gorgeous conclusions to a series that I have ever read. The climax of the book was heartrending and breathtaking. I sobbed, even though it wasn't QUITE sad. It was more that it was so beautifully written, with such aching emotions that I HAD to cry.<BR/><BR/>My advice? Pre-order it here, or buy it from a UK seller and get it shipped to the US. You will not regret it, fellow Pellinor fans!<BR/><BR/>--RYR / Icelands<BR/><BR/><BR/>(join the SFF World community @ sffworld.com if you like the series)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Really good, except the ending was kind of... Well... NORMAL

    This book was an amazing ending to the Pellinor series. At the end, when Cadvan goes with "Somebody", I expected more romance. Hmph. Well, the plot was good but considerablt more darker than the rest of the books. I loved the emotional conflicts and the final resolution. Altogether, awesome read/5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great book

    I give this book 5 stars it is fantastic one of my favorites i may not have this book on my nook but before i got my nook i picked it out of a book store and read it plenty of times to know how amazing it is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    I loved it!

    That was a good series and a good ending. I loved it! She made me really LOVE the characters - they were really good people. And, the plot was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Perfect teen book

    I purchased this series for my 13yr old daughter and she LOVES it! Read the whole series in days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Absolutely incredible - the best in the series!

    I picked up the first book in a library some number of years ago, without even knowing what it was about. I loved every bit of it. I kept a good lookout for the rest to follow, and although I loved the second and third books as well, the fourth absolutely blew me away. It's incredibly dramatic, and every minute I was left questioning what would happen. This is my favorite book in the series, (although the first one is just as incredible) and I couldn't put it down. A brilliant novel, and a great end to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Leaves you wanting more....

    I could not put down this book. It keeps you on the edge of your seat and you will want to read the remaining books in the Pellinor Series. You should read the books in order to make sure you understand the plot. I wish the author would write continue the story. I would love to find out what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Alison Croggon does great job on fourth bok of pellinor

    it was completely amazing, a perfect sequel to the crow, the riddle, and the naming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rushed and Disappointing Ending

    The fourth book of the series was a bit of a letdown. The climax of the story felt rushed and really kind of ended with a wimper instead of the expected explosion. I felt as if the author rushed to finish the story and just kind of gave up in the last chapters. The storyline conclusion had such potential but never reached expectations. After the previous three books made such a buildup regarding sister and brother's explosive powers, the fourth book dwindled to a less than exciting conclusion. I was left feeling as if the story was unfinished. Am still glad I read the series but feel as if I invested a lot of time in the story and characters only to be let down. I would recommend The Ranger's Apprentice Series, The Fablehaven Series and the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was alright...

    Seriously, this book was a bit of a disappointment. It was so long, and nothing interesting happened until the last fifth of the book. The writer used too much detail, and spent to much time explaining the background with no dialogue. Don't get me wrong, the descriptions of their travels and new characters was interesting, but there was just too much of it. I got bored during some parts. The first three books are a lot better.

    But, the last fifth of the book really was good! I thought it was a bit too short to end the series with, but it was alright. I almost cried when the procession of the dead walked up to Maerad and Hem and forgave them or honored them- especially when Hem saw Zelika! I also liked that the author wrote about the "history" of what happens after the epilogue. It was interesting to read about what Maerad and Hem did after they saved Annar.

    Three stars out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slightly disappointing ending to wonderful series

    This final installment of The Pellinor saga is filled with everything the last book in a series needs to have, but the conclusion left a slightly bitter taste in my mouth.

    After all Cadvan and Maerad have been through, I felt the conclusion of their relationship to be a bit less than what I had been expecting.
    The final confrontation was also a bit bizarre and locations seemed contrived, when hints of where they would end up could've been more foreshadowed in the other books.

    BUT OVERALL A GREAT READ! Enjoyed seeing how it all turned out, and having Maerad come into her full power was exciting and fulfilling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good closure

    This final book in the Pelinor Series wraps up all aspects of the story line well, returning momentum that was lost in the the second and third books in the series. I appreciate that this wasn't another "love changes everything" story, but acknowledges the power of darker characteristics as well. Above all it's an entertaining and creative read well worth its time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    Don't Waste Your Time

    I really enjoyed the series up til this book. In my opinion, it was poorly written and didn't resolve any of the issues that i wanted resolved. Don't waste your money on it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was a beautiful ending of the series of books but it could have beeen better.

    The story is touching, but the events happen too fast. The reader doesn't have the time to be cought in the atmosphere of what is going on, before suddenly something else happens. There are some key moments in the book which should have taken more time evolve properly in order to get the reader spellbound. Also there was a lot of confusion in this key events. Too much time was used to explain the confusion of the character and not enough, giving the reader a view of that character's feelings. Not allowing the reader to be able to relate to the character and enjoy the book even more.
    But all in all the story was pleasant and very entertaining. It takes your breath away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Classic!

    If you're a fan of Lord of the Rings, this series is one to add to your list of must-read books. It has all the elements necessary for a good fantasy novel: complex characters, a unique plot line, an unique world, and a taste of unknown!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5