Customer Reviews for

Single Latina Female: Tale of a Toxic Friend

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

we've all had one or at least know of one.

On the author's website it states that this story is taken from the author's personal experience. It is a story of a dramatic friend turned enemy. She is very descriptive in telling about how Melinda and Monica met and how their friendship developed. She also takes you ...
On the author's website it states that this story is taken from the author's personal experience. It is a story of a dramatic friend turned enemy. She is very descriptive in telling about how Melinda and Monica met and how their friendship developed. She also takes you inside Monica's past experiences as well which she believes shaped her into becoming this mistrusting, possessive and jealous friend. Then she takes you down the road of where their friendship unravels with Monica's over the top demands, antics and lies. It's a touching and good story told in that makes you aware of heeding to the warning signs of "friends" like this.

posted by Love2ReadLibros on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I tried to like it but...

I thought this book was going to be interesting and exciting but unfortunately it was very dull. I've heard more dramatic incidents from people in real life. I can not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by JC823 on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    we've all had one or at least know of one.

    On the author's website it states that this story is taken from the author's personal experience. It is a story of a dramatic friend turned enemy. She is very descriptive in telling about how Melinda and Monica met and how their friendship developed. She also takes you inside Monica's past experiences as well which she believes shaped her into becoming this mistrusting, possessive and jealous friend. Then she takes you down the road of where their friendship unravels with Monica's over the top demands, antics and lies. It's a touching and good story told in that makes you aware of heeding to the warning signs of "friends" like this.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Why This Book Is So Great...

    This is one of the greatest friendship drama books i have ever read! I was very entertained & excited throughout the entire story & was kept glued to the book all night just to see what crazy dilemma was to follow. I would recommend this book to teens as well as adults. It can relate greatly to much of teen life which is based on friendships and relationships. This book really inspired me and opened my eyes to the signs that shed light on our "friends". I give my heart & my thanks to the author for sharing with the world her experience that taught me a lesson on who our true friends are. *****your fan always and forever - EDDIE -*****

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Enjoyed book a lot.

    Why? Because I felt as if Melinda were talking directly to me in sharing her story. The characters in this novel were entertaining and the dialogue was well written. This book captured the tone of real conversations and real people plus the story flowed smoothly. I really enjoyed reading this book alot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    be careful in the company you keep

    Single Latina Female is about a friendship that goes terribly wrong. Monica is a friend with posessive ways who is a drama queen. Melinda is the naive victim that doesn't place much importance on Monica's shenanigans. Well once Monica finds out that Melinda is friends with people she tried to keep her away from ~ crap hits the fan. This crazy girl's jealousy goes overboard. I can't give away the details but it was very good and makes you think twice about excercising better judgement when it comes to the friends you keep company with who have needy ways.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    you only live life once so live it to the fullest

    It's a sad thing to see when people with jealosy issues can't cope with a friendship. This book is as real as it gets with the characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    drama

    This story is crazy and dramatic! It's about this friend that loves and lives her life for drama named Monica. She puts her friend Melinda through all kinds of changes because of her jealousy of wanting her friend to herself. This story is from the author's experience of a friend like this. After reading the book you definately come away with something from it. Which is to be careful of the needy and jealous friends you keep because there may be more to them than meets the eye!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    I tried to like it but...

    I thought this book was going to be interesting and exciting but unfortunately it was very dull. I've heard more dramatic incidents from people in real life. I can not recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    You won't be able to put it down!

    I read this book up in two days only cuz I did have to stop and feed kids LOL! I couldn't put it down! It grabs you from the start and you have to keep reading! It's also a book you can relate to. I felt like I was sitting and having a conversation with the author! Definitely a MUST READ!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I ENJOYED IT

    Very good book that I enjoyed reading. It has alot of drama and deception in it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    would highly recommend

    This was a very good book that had alot of drama going on from start to finish. Worth reading. Would highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    unusual friendship

    Hi, this was a very unusual friendship to read about. Monica is definately not the type of friend to keep close but Melinda soon learns this on her own. I enjoyed this book very much and would recommend to others interested in stories about volitile frienships.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    Really interesting

    This is the story of a friendship that turned all into the opposite way. I think that we have always had one or more than one friend like this, but not someone who got to the point to involve the justice or something like that. I couldn't leave it from the moment I started reading it. Totally recommendable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    drama queen's rage

    This would be a great book to turn into a film as a modern spinoff to Single White Female. I LOVED this book and felt like the author was speaking directly to me. Great writing approach and drama drama drama. Even though Monica was la vida loca~I couldn't help but like her also. She truly is the queen of drama. The drama queen who eventually faces reality and the consequences in the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    wow

    This is my first time reading a book by this author and wow! Talk about having a phychotic friend. Story was very well told and the characters were believable. Although, I wish it could of been longer because it only took two days for me to finish reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Oh boy. This book bounced around from past tense to present tens

    Oh boy. This book bounced around from past tense to present tense and back again.  It was very confusing and distracting to read.
    The grammar was pretty bad too!  For instance, the author writes,"Monica and I was was one a couple of years apart."  It should read " Monica and I WERE a couple of years apart." 
    There were numerous mistakes, too many to list here. Speaking of too, the author needs to understand the differences between two, too, and to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    this book was very interesting and was a story many of us girls

    this book was very interesting and was a story many of us girls can relate to. except the part where the friend really goes crazy. thats something i hope to never get that bad in a friendship!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1