Customer Reviews for

A Single Shard

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

This was one of the best books i have read. :) fasinating, adults and childern can both enjoy this book. It was filled with adventure suspences and love. Everyone should try this book.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Single Shard

The Newbery Award winning book, A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park, is a simplistic, enchanting tale of a young boy named Tree-ear. This book, like all books, has faults but also humorous and enjoyable points.
I found the cast of characters to be very unoriginal. There's...
The Newbery Award winning book, A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park, is a simplistic, enchanting tale of a young boy named Tree-ear. This book, like all books, has faults but also humorous and enjoyable points.
I found the cast of characters to be very unoriginal. There's the poor orphan boy who in the end, finally finds a true family. The wise old man who always has works of wisdom and speaks in paradoxes such as "While the scholars read the great books of the word. We must learn to read the world itself." The sweet, kind wife that has nothing else but love, comfort, and food to offer. And of course, the sour old man who has a hard outer shell, a scarred past, but has a deep caring side that finally makes an appearance at the end of the story.
Throught the pottery, the cliche cast, the paradoxes, and the active writing style I actually found some good themes. Some which include, that courage, perseverance, and patience are all things you need to reach your goals. This is because during the story Tree-ear showed all of these, which helped him reach his goals. Also that you should treasure everything that you have. These are just some of the many themes in Park's book.
I think that Linda's purpose of writing this book was to inform her audience of Korean culture and pottery, to teach life lessons and themes and to entertain. While I feel that she has achieved the first two, I feel that she has failed with entertaining me. I do have to admit that at some points I couldn't help but ponder the meaning of some of the vocabulary used and also the paradoxes. I also will admit to laughing at some points in the story, but it was hard for me to stay interested in the story as well. I feel that this is because in the story it felt like she had few major events and not much building between them. I also believe it's due to the way the characters showed very little emotions between each other, other than anger, very little love, and confusion. Such as the relationship between Min and his wife. It seemed like they never interacted together in the story. I don't believe that they even said anything to each other. This expressed weak love to me because I had to assume that they loved each other because they were married without any real evidence. It was also very hard to believe that a teen would act as mature as Tree-ear did. He was silent and answered every beck and call that an authority figure gave him without question. All of this made it difficult for me to figure the characters out and make a connection with them.
Park writes with effortless simplicity which makes the story's pace moderate and easy to follow. This simplicity also makes intense moments more captivating (not to mention there are so few). The down-fall of this though is making the story almost too easy to follow and making readers bored witht the story.
In my opinion, I believe that A Single Shard, is a tolerable book. I do believe that this book was not for my age group and was meant for the advanced 5th grader, a person interested in pottery and Korea, or someone looking fo a relaxing, unmemorable read. Would I pick it up at the library? No. Would I buy it for $7? No. Do I regret reading this book? No. If you're looking for a book that you would proudly display on te mantle and reread every year, than this book isn't for you.
-Terry

posted by Terry_Jr on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Best book ever

    This was one of the best books i have read. :) fasinating, adults and childern can both enjoy this book. It was filled with adventure suspences and love. Everyone should try this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Amazing. Loved it.

    I am ten and I loved it. It is full of daring and nerve and is slightly sad.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Single Shard

    The Newbery Award winning book, A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park, is a simplistic, enchanting tale of a young boy named Tree-ear. This book, like all books, has faults but also humorous and enjoyable points.
    I found the cast of characters to be very unoriginal. There's the poor orphan boy who in the end, finally finds a true family. The wise old man who always has works of wisdom and speaks in paradoxes such as "While the scholars read the great books of the word. We must learn to read the world itself." The sweet, kind wife that has nothing else but love, comfort, and food to offer. And of course, the sour old man who has a hard outer shell, a scarred past, but has a deep caring side that finally makes an appearance at the end of the story.
    Throught the pottery, the cliche cast, the paradoxes, and the active writing style I actually found some good themes. Some which include, that courage, perseverance, and patience are all things you need to reach your goals. This is because during the story Tree-ear showed all of these, which helped him reach his goals. Also that you should treasure everything that you have. These are just some of the many themes in Park's book.
    I think that Linda's purpose of writing this book was to inform her audience of Korean culture and pottery, to teach life lessons and themes and to entertain. While I feel that she has achieved the first two, I feel that she has failed with entertaining me. I do have to admit that at some points I couldn't help but ponder the meaning of some of the vocabulary used and also the paradoxes. I also will admit to laughing at some points in the story, but it was hard for me to stay interested in the story as well. I feel that this is because in the story it felt like she had few major events and not much building between them. I also believe it's due to the way the characters showed very little emotions between each other, other than anger, very little love, and confusion. Such as the relationship between Min and his wife. It seemed like they never interacted together in the story. I don't believe that they even said anything to each other. This expressed weak love to me because I had to assume that they loved each other because they were married without any real evidence. It was also very hard to believe that a teen would act as mature as Tree-ear did. He was silent and answered every beck and call that an authority figure gave him without question. All of this made it difficult for me to figure the characters out and make a connection with them.
    Park writes with effortless simplicity which makes the story's pace moderate and easy to follow. This simplicity also makes intense moments more captivating (not to mention there are so few). The down-fall of this though is making the story almost too easy to follow and making readers bored witht the story.
    In my opinion, I believe that A Single Shard, is a tolerable book. I do believe that this book was not for my age group and was meant for the advanced 5th grader, a person interested in pottery and Korea, or someone looking fo a relaxing, unmemorable read. Would I pick it up at the library? No. Would I buy it for $7? No. Do I regret reading this book? No. If you're looking for a book that you would proudly display on te mantle and reread every year, than this book isn't for you.
    -Terry

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome & Interesting

    The characters were well developed and the story was unpredictable. The writing flowed nicely, easy to read & hard to put down.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Good so far

    We are reading this in PACT class. It is good so far !

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    *

    Its a good book at first i thought that it woulfd be the most boring book ever but then i kept reading and it was good

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Good

    First 50 pages are hard to get into, but the rest is amazing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Boring

    I'll give it a star but it is really boring. DON'T READ IT!!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Very boring book- I suggest you don't read it.

    An orphan boy named Tree-ear lives underneath a bridge with a man named Crane-man. Tree-ear goes to work working for a very skilled potter named Min. When an emissary came and suggested that Min walk all the way to Songdo and show him some pots there, Min said "no" because he was to old and weak to walk that far.Tree-ear offered to go for him. While Tree-ear was walking on a mountain he ran into some robbers who broke both pots. They also stole all the money Tree-ear had for food. Tree-ear had to decide whether he was going home or continuing on his journey. And if he goes on, what will he show the emissary?


    I disliked A Single Shard. I think it was really boring at the beginning. More than three-fourths of the book were not even a real story. If you are looking for a good read, then i suggest that you don't waste your time on this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Ummmm

    It was a great read once you got to the seventh or eighth chapter but its smart to read with agroup to get you to actually pick up the book. So the begining was dry but the the end was great!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Easiest Way Out

    The making of Korean pottery has been one of the true wonders of the world. Delicate celadon vases come to mind when picturing 12th century Korea.

    A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park written in 2001, is a story of a young orphan boy who's life of struggle and success is a model of a typical rags to riches tale.

    Park's book has such a beautiful simplicity. This simplicity makes to so much easier to comprehend themes of respect, courage, loyalty and perseverance. All of the characters in Park's book, especially Tree-ear the young orphan boy, embody these personal traits. Just like the beautiful simplicity of Park's writing the characters in her novel lead simple and modest lives with an undercurrent of complexity and wisdom.

    I believe Park tries to let her readers know that something good can come out of struggle. Also she attempts to inspire perseverance, and obviously teaches her audience about Korean pottery.

    Park's use of stylistic devices such as, symbolism, paradoxes and, and wisdom tales change up the flow of her novel. I feel that without the paradoxes and wisdom tales the book would loose some of its wit. The flow and clarity were the highlights of Linda Sue Park's artistic qualities.

    Throughout the novel the plot traverses many peeks and valleys. There are surprises, accidents, and a mending that alter the course of the story and or the character's lives.

    Tree-ear's optimistic mood, countered by Min's gruffness set the plot for the novel.

    The suspense comes just a little too late. The pace is slow through the last few chapters, except for a few spikes here and there. The end of the book finally beings to hold one's interest then, all of the sudden everything stops.

    I got the feeling that Park was just tired of writing and found the easiest way out.

    Personally A Single Shard wasn't as descriptive as i would have liked however, it taught mt several things about writing style. Even though i don't particularly enjoy the novel I could recommend it to young students who are patient readers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Celadon Orphan

    Lose yourself. Lose yourself in a fiery passion for art. Would you do anything just to have it in your life? You can escape your loneliness in it. Find yourself.Don't let others tell you can or should be. Because when you love something so much, nothing can stop you from having it.

    That's what Linda Sue Park portrays in her New Berry Award-winning book A Single Shard. It takes you on a winding journey of learning to cope with the bad in life. Park teaches you that it's okay to be lost sometimes. That you should broaden your horizons in culture and wisdom.

    In the book, Tree-ear, an orphan in the twelfth century, works to achieve his dreams and find out what he can be. He yearns for a family, for the sense of fitting in. Finding the good in life and working the hardest he can is most rewarding. Growing up in a small place and going through many hardships takes him from being a naive child to a wiser young man.

    Sometimes, you can find deeper meanings in something that was meant to be simple; for a child. When you are a child,, you don't question anything.Things are what they are and you accept it all. When you are an adult, little things make you wonder. In some ways, Park's book us mind-boggling and in others , you know. You just, know exactly what it all means.

    This is a riveting tale that teaches you so much in life. No matter who reads it-no matter their age, race, culture or view on life-you will get a little piece of wisdom and creativity of it. Everybody should read this book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Horridly boring

    Whos name is craneman. So dumb. Had to read it for school and was so boring. I hated it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Great book!

    This book took a while in the intro, but once into the middle of the book, it got exciting! I really liked Crane Man. He is very wise and funny at the same time. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    wilson

    This book is boring u could just say that treeman wants to become a potter. Also this book is just sad ,and whats with the dumb names treeman...... just dumb IF U READ THIS BOOK STOP ON THE FIRST CHAPTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    WROST

    WORST BOOK EVER!!!!!!! NEVER EVER READ!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Pretty good

    We are reading this is the 6th grade class pretty good:))

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Takes way too long to tell the setting!!

    This book has a nice story line, but it takes a long time to describe the setting of the story. I mean, just get on with the story!! It was not the funnest book to read and I wouldn't recommend it for a independent reading book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Not that good

    A Single Shard was an ok book. It was boring and not that much happened. It could not hold my attention for long. It is a 5th or 6th grade reading level but a 5th or 6th grader would probably not like it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Worst Book I have ever Read

    Worst book ever. I had it for summer reading one year and it was horrible. It is just not something kids are into. It talks about things that kids don't have any interest in. It was just very boring and very easy to put down. Since I had to read it I finished it but if I didn't have to I definitley would not have finished it. Our teacher asked how we thought it was and everybody in my class hated it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6