Customer Reviews for

A Single Shard

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

This was one of the best books i have read. :) fasinating, adults and childern can both enjoy this book. It was filled with adventure suspences and love. Everyone should try this book.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Single Shard

The Newbery Award winning book, A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park, is a simplistic, enchanting tale of a young boy named Tree-ear. This book, like all books, has faults but also humorous and enjoyable points.
I found the cast of characters to be very unoriginal. There's...
The Newbery Award winning book, A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park, is a simplistic, enchanting tale of a young boy named Tree-ear. This book, like all books, has faults but also humorous and enjoyable points.
I found the cast of characters to be very unoriginal. There's the poor orphan boy who in the end, finally finds a true family. The wise old man who always has works of wisdom and speaks in paradoxes such as "While the scholars read the great books of the word. We must learn to read the world itself." The sweet, kind wife that has nothing else but love, comfort, and food to offer. And of course, the sour old man who has a hard outer shell, a scarred past, but has a deep caring side that finally makes an appearance at the end of the story.
Throught the pottery, the cliche cast, the paradoxes, and the active writing style I actually found some good themes. Some which include, that courage, perseverance, and patience are all things you need to reach your goals. This is because during the story Tree-ear showed all of these, which helped him reach his goals. Also that you should treasure everything that you have. These are just some of the many themes in Park's book.
I think that Linda's purpose of writing this book was to inform her audience of Korean culture and pottery, to teach life lessons and themes and to entertain. While I feel that she has achieved the first two, I feel that she has failed with entertaining me. I do have to admit that at some points I couldn't help but ponder the meaning of some of the vocabulary used and also the paradoxes. I also will admit to laughing at some points in the story, but it was hard for me to stay interested in the story as well. I feel that this is because in the story it felt like she had few major events and not much building between them. I also believe it's due to the way the characters showed very little emotions between each other, other than anger, very little love, and confusion. Such as the relationship between Min and his wife. It seemed like they never interacted together in the story. I don't believe that they even said anything to each other. This expressed weak love to me because I had to assume that they loved each other because they were married without any real evidence. It was also very hard to believe that a teen would act as mature as Tree-ear did. He was silent and answered every beck and call that an authority figure gave him without question. All of this made it difficult for me to figure the characters out and make a connection with them.
Park writes with effortless simplicity which makes the story's pace moderate and easy to follow. This simplicity also makes intense moments more captivating (not to mention there are so few). The down-fall of this though is making the story almost too easy to follow and making readers bored witht the story.
In my opinion, I believe that A Single Shard, is a tolerable book. I do believe that this book was not for my age group and was meant for the advanced 5th grader, a person interested in pottery and Korea, or someone looking fo a relaxing, unmemorable read. Would I pick it up at the library? No. Would I buy it for $7? No. Do I regret reading this book? No. If you're looking for a book that you would proudly display on te mantle and reread every year, than this book isn't for you.
-Terry

posted by Terry_Jr on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Best book ever

    This was one of the best books i have read. :) fasinating, adults and childern can both enjoy this book. It was filled with adventure suspences and love. Everyone should try this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Amazing. Loved it.

    I am ten and I loved it. It is full of daring and nerve and is slightly sad.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Good so far

    We are reading this in PACT class. It is good so far !

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Good

    First 50 pages are hard to get into, but the rest is amazing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Great book!

    This book took a while in the intro, but once into the middle of the book, it got exciting! I really liked Crane Man. He is very wise and funny at the same time. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Pretty good

    We are reading this is the 6th grade class pretty good:))

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THe best book published! Really! You Have to read it . Honestly, it was great!!! (don't judge the book by its cover, if you do that, I gurentee you'll put it back on the shelf). READ IT!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Amazing!!!!!!!

    Truly amazing! Great book for students.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Catch up!

    Its already september 29 2014!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Awsome

    This book was not only a great read but it spoke to the heart of the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Awesome book

    This is an awesome book. I am reading this book in class right know with four other girls in my class. If i had to ratethis book know in the middle I would give it 4 1/2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    CInr Cant wait to read

    I hope this is good book #lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    excellent story, engaging read

    This is such a wonderful book for any artist, ceramics art student or hobbyist, and/or people interested in the history of Korea. I recommend this book to parents of adopted Koreans as it meant so much to our family. The story is told from the point of view of a boy who has lost his parents and is living under a bridge. It is the amazing story of how his life changes due to his passion for learning about clay/ceramics. Takes place many centuries ago but reads well for today's children ages 10 (maybe) and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Set in about 1200 and about an orphan, you would think this coul

    Set in about 1200 and about an orphan, you would think this could hardly be an interesting story, but the author researched the time period  and was able to weave an excellent story based an the culture of the time. A great middle  school read, and I suggest this to anyone who works with clay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Good book

    I read this book for book club and i really liked it. It is sad when robbers throw Treeears pots off the mountain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Anymous

    A really good book from a 6th grader perspective! It is very interesting and has alot of details. I would highly recommened this book, i have a fun time reading this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Good

    Reading in class REALY good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    The angry person

    So I read the book this time, unlike all the other times I've gotten angry at the idiots who don't know how to read!! I'm trying my hardest to keep my cool, but that's a little difficult when SOME PEOPLE CAN'T SAY A DESCANT THING ABOUT BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I realize some people have already payed heed to my warnings such as in the Artemis Fowl sieries, "I WILL HURT YOU" is the name of that post. So I end with a warning, IF YOU POST THAT YOU HATE A BOOK, THEN YOU DARN WELL BETTER HAVE READ IT OR I WILL HUNT YOU DOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    By: Angry Person

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Stupid haters

    You hater are a **** ( the **** means that word is really bad like worser than stupid ) by the way you **** **** ***** ***** im south korea if you call me chinise or japanesse or any asia county that is the law or i will do the most worse thing to with my thinging and if you hate south korea same here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    School Book Review By: R.C.

    Pottery is one of the most ancient arts, dating back at least eight thousand years. In the novel A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park, the talent of making pottery is conveyed cleverly through the characters. The novel articulates powerful human relationships, where devastating agony and conflict are defeated by dedication and determination.
    This novel takes place in a small village on the west coast of Korea, in mid-to late twelfth century. She uses all the literary devices of character, plot, figurative language, point-of-view, and setting to communicate the theme of courage and perseverance. This is portrayed in the book when Tree-ear fights through difficult times to fulfil his duties of a potter's assistant.
    The three main characters are Tree-ear, Crane-man, and Min. Tree-ear is an orphan and a homeless bridge-dweller who lives with Crane-man. Tree-ear is fascinated with pottery. He occasionally sneaks behind a tree and secretly watches a respectable potter in the town of Ch'ulp'o. His name is Min. He then starts working for the potter and goes on a journey that will change his life dramatically.
    Crane-man is a caring crippled man that has devoted his life to taking care or Tree-ear. He continually shares his vast practical wisdom with Tree-ear through his sayings. For example - "Scholars read the great words of the world. But you and I must learn to read the world itself." (Pg. 7)
    Min is a master potter that gradually affects Tree-ears life by making him stronger so he can cope with the hardships of life.
    The pace of the story starts out slowly, but quickens throughout the course of the novel. Even though, by some, this book might be categorised as dull and boring, it is quite the contrary. The plot is simple yet effective, and takes time to slowly evolve, so that in the culmination the theme has a greater impact.
    The self-pride, honesty, and diligence are palpable from the beginning to conclusion of the story. Whoever reads this book is in for some surprises near the end. The book then concludes open-ended for your imagination to take over.
    I think this book is appropriate for all ages, but I would personally recommend this book only to readers in grades five and up who are calm, and like art. This is a very subtle and tactful novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4