Customer Reviews for

The Sinister Pig (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee Series #16)

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    Very disappointed

    I used to be a great fan of Leaphorn & Co, but this book is like someone else published it under Hillerman's name. Nothing of that famous Navajo aura, a pretty unrealistic plot which does not play in Navajoland and could play anywhere in the world. I can't imagine Hillerman wrote this...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Sinister Pig

    I think this book was written for financial reasons. Leaphorn and Chee might have as well not been included in this story; their characters here are superficial at best. The the plot is extremely week with 'cookie cutter' mediocre villans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Sinister Pig

    I think Mr. Hillerman wrote this book to just get paid. Leaphorn and Chee might have as well not been included in this book; their characters here are superficial at best. The plot is extremely week, the villans are mediocre and the only exciting section of the book is when Chee finally ask Ms. Manuelito to marry him; and this is at the very end. This book should have never been published in its current state. Skip it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Hillerman has lost interest in his characters

    This is the weakest book Hillerman has ever written. I have read most of the others in this series dozens of times, but I got very little enjoyment out of this. Most of the short book is spent on a generic villain out of central casting, who is so powerful that he doesn't need to develop any of the complex, intelligent plans that were so challenging for the detectives in books such as THE DARK WIND. Hillerman apparently wanted to tell a story about this villain's relationship with his henchman; the Navajo characters have little reason to be in the story and don't do much. I wonder if this book came out of a contractual obligation to provide novels where Leaphorn and Chee appear. It's also grating when neither author nor editor cares enough to get names and incidents right from previous books, and when the publisher doesn't care enough to stem a plague of misplaced quotation marks that often make dialogue hard to read. If you're a completist and must read this book, try to wait for a later printing when maybe someone will have done some proofreading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    Not (unfortunately) Seldom Disappointed

    I'm afraid I have to agree with Libary Journal (the review)...I love Hillerman's other novels...have read all of his fiction twice...something I never do with other books. In this one, I'm afraid the 'magic' is gone...its just another mystery, with little of the Navajo lore/culture/country. Its like it was sort of last hurrah (hope not)..as if he had run out of ideas for Chee and Leaphorn. Please, Mr. Hillerman...bring back your magic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    Not Up to His Standards

    This book did not read like an authentic Hillerman book. Most of the story dealt with Washington politics and corporate crime. There was a little suspense since the conclusion was evident almost from the beginning. As a long time fan, I bought this book, but I hope that he will go back to his stories of the southwest and Navajo culture and to real mysteries, not political statements.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    Perhaps Tony Made All The Easy Choices

    The Sinister Pig by Tony Hillerman. Three Stars. Perhaps Tony bit off more than he could chew? Perhaps Tony made all the easy choices in plot and character development? Perhaps Tony does not choose to write as prolifically and beautifully about the Four Corners weather and colors and the native American customs as he did in past novels? No one is perfect. We still have Jim and Lieut. Leaphorn, Bernie, and Cowboy Dashee, their behaviors and interactions, to enjoy. No, there is no memorable bad guy here. But given what happens between Jim and Bernie we will hopefully next find out how Lieut. Leaphorn and Louisa resolve 'things.' Thanks for writing Mr. Hillerman. You still have a world of stories to tell. Please, please do continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Disappointed

    Up until this lastest novel I have thoroughly enjoyed Tony Hillerman's books. I just finished the Sinister Pig and thought that Mr. Hillerman 'mailed it in'. The plot was good but I felt that many angles were left undeveloped and that the novel would have been better had they been been completed and the book another 100 pages longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    a pleasant read

    I just read Sinsiter Pig in two days. I would not say that it was a cliff hanger, but it moved at a steady pace and had an interesting plot. Criminals are endlessly creative in their efforts to subvert the law. One of the things I like about Tony Hillerman's books is his soft focus on violence, making way for his emphasis on the human portrayal of his characters and the interweaving of information about the Navajo culture. I hope Tony keeps writing for a long time. Pack this book along with your suntan lotion before you head for the beach. This is definitly a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Tony Hillerman NEVER disappoints!

    Tony Hillerman never disappoints with his wonderful novels of the Southwest. I am Navajo and I really enjoy his books and he respects the people and cultures of the Southwest in all his writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    Not Hillerman's Best Effort

    Wait for the paperback!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Short on pages, short on development

    As a serious Jim Chee/Joe Leaphorn fan, I was disappointed in this one. Although I snatched it up as soon as I saw it, I wondered about the slenderness of the book. It turned out to be an indicator of the slenderness of the plot and characters. The story, while current - almost to the minute, just seems to be a standard detective story with 2 guys named Chee and Leaphorn. It did not capture my attention as did the previous Chee/Leaphorn mysteries. It was as if Jim and Joe met a weak version of Tom Clancy's Clark character - no chemistry, no interest. I am glad I purchased the book since it provided some relationship development but I hope the next one returns us to the core style that made the Navajo Tribal Police mysteries so gripping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    HILLERMAN IS MY HERO!

    TONY HILLERMAN BRINGS THE MODERN WEST ALIVE WITH HIS TALES OF THE NATIVE AMERICANS,AND HOW THEY WORK AND SURVIVE IN TODAYS AMERICA.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2