Customer Reviews for

Sink Reflections

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally- a plan that works!

    I signed up with the FlyLady's website, and really liked the system for getting my house clean and organized, along with organizing my life and creating PEACE where there was chaos. This book is a must read for any woman who has ever been exasperated and desperately wanted to have it "together" but had no clue where to start. FlyLady's euphamisms are a little folksy, but she makes you feel good about yourself, and is so encouraging- you really can get organized. Not overnight, not even in a month, but if you stick with it, you'll figure out your routines and all of the sudden, you'll look around and think, "Is this MY house?" That is a good feeling.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    A must for all SHE's (Sidtracked Home Executives)

    Marla has it down pat. The best way to get ahead is with Baby-steps: One 15-minute interval at a time. As a SHE with a disabled dh, 3 ds, 2 dd, 2 dogs, and a cat, my life (and house) are total CHAOS. I am a FLY-er who previously gave up, but recently came home to FLY-ing. Through all the clutter and chaos, I will survive! Thanks to Marla and her system!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    I love this book!

    I love this book! This book helped me organize my home and life! I've read just about everybook on the subject, but this one is a keeper, just a few minutes a day and my house has STAYED clean, with three kids and two dogs I thought it was impossible to always be caught up on laundry and dishes but it is possible! Everyone with children needs this book! Also, check out the website!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Fly Lady is right on target

    I love books that make a real impact - a REAL difference in my life. Sink Reflections has done just that. I'm not the best at following through on plans and while this book has helped me to get through the mess, I think it will also help me to stay on track. That's what I'm talking about!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    You can do this!

    This book is wonderful! It has become my 'bible' for showing me the way to organize my home. The author's approach is one of encouragement, hope, and simple routines to getting one's home and life to be managable. In a few short months, my home is so much better and I am 'FLYing!' (Finally Loving Yourself.) The book gives practical things you can do for only 15 minutes a day that will get you started on the adventure of a lifetime. It emphasizes the individuality of each person, encouraging the concept of 'babysteps', starting out slowly and emphasizing that you are not behind, and how you adapt this approach to your own family and home. Whether you are married, single, a stay-at-home mom or working at a job outside the home, this book is for you. It doesn't matter whether you live in a small apartment or a mansion, you will get everything you need from 'Sink Reflections.' This book has changed my life in more ways than I can say! Marla Cilley knows what it is like to live in C.H.A.O.S.(Can't Have Anyone Over Syndrome), so she immediately understands where the reader is coming from. She has shown me the path out of my own C.H.A.O.S. and I can't praise her or this book enough. 'You can do this!' is one of her sayings...this is real and it works. Thank you, Marla!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    Finally a book that is for me

    This book is absolutely the last self-help book you will ever buy or feel the need to buy! I am still a FlyBaby but I am making progress each and every day. Her suggestions and reminders through out the day are workable and fit into anyone's busy schedule. Marla is a true gift to all of us SHE's (Side-tracked Home Executives) and living in CHAOS (Can't Have Anyone Over Syndrome) is fast becoming something that isn't in my vocabulary any more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    The Answer

    I have also signed on with Marla Cilley's website and have followed the techniques outlined in the book. The difference between her techniques vs. all the others you will read is the difference between real wisdom vs. theoretical ideas. Her approach is an integrated, complete approach toward a constantly clean, organized house that is a haven of peace to live in. Things progressively become more organized and they stay that way, while routines maintain clean baths, dishes, clothes, etc. Pretty soon your house will be company ready all the time, and you'll find an surprising array of pleasant side effects with yourself, your family, friends, and your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Realistic, Helpful System Boosts Self-Esteen Too

    this realistic system is presented in easy-to-understand language with checklists and directives. If you follow the directions, your house will be cleaner and your days more organized. I've not done Spring Cleaning in 3 years, and my house is always clean (and usually tidy). This works for me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Don't Just Read-Do!

    I stumbled upon Martha's website on a friend's recommendation, and was hooked. As a born SHE who never finished a project, became easily overwhelmed during marathon cleaning projects, and couldn't get a grip, this lady spoke to my heart. I have begun implementing the process, and more importantly, the thoughts behind the process. I can't wait for more from her!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2003

    SAVED BY THE BELL!!

    This is a book that you want to purchase as soon as you finish reading this review. One of the best pieces of advice in it is that "you cannot organize clutter," you simply have to get rid of it. Marla Cilly's recommendations on how to "declutter" our lives are user-friendly, ready-to-apply-immediately lifesavers! Her "27 Fling Boogies" and "5 Minute Room Rescues" are the best!! Who doesn't have 15 MINUTES PER DAY (and she means just that!) to implement these suggestions? Applying them has changed my life and brought peace and blessings to my home. Using a timer or some type of clock, set for 15 minutes, is highly recommended in the book. When the bell rings, on to the next thing! This is one of the best investments you will ever make in your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    Help at Last...

    This book has really produced a change in my life. Though the focus would seem to be on being organized and keeping a warm home for your family, its message touches upon every aspect of life. It has taught me to take everything a little bit less seriously and to be able to more appropriatly estimate the true size of tasks by breaking them down into "baby steps". It drives home the point of self love. It is written by someone who understands chaos, has been there, and has been blessed with a path out that she ever so graciously has chosen to share with us all. A must read for those suffering from the stress of perfectionism and over doing everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Absolute Must Read!

    I love this book and plan to keep it as a reference! This book is great for all Flybabies and everyone else who may have never heard of Flylady before. Once you start the babysteps to FLYing you will never want to stop! Great book and tool for all of us SHEs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    always cheers me up

    Gentle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    This book is amazing ! If you aren't someone who gets side track

    This book is amazing ! If you aren't someone who gets side tracked this book may not be for you, but reviews with no comment, low stars and Anonymous shouldn't be allowed!!! It brings the rating down and is probably from a competing author.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    The best

    Real life answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Great Book

    Helps anyone and everyone who is organizationally challenged. Maria Cilley really motivates and inspires - makes you want to "get dressed all the way to lace-up shoes", jump in and get started on those routines. Just remember what Flylady always says..."babysteps"! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    Baby steps to a new attitude

    Marla Cilley shares her own life experiences, her humor, her wisdom and her warmth for everyone in this life changing book. I recommend it for anyone who struggles with housework and self-acceptance. Marla helps you discover the place in you that shines to your family, your world and yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Wonderful System

    This book is wonderful because it is so easy to follow. She breaks it down into such small steps that you can't help but say, "Well, I can do THAT." There are so many awesome tips and honestly the very first one, silly as it sounds, is what keeps me coming back to the system when I 'fall off the wagon' so to speak. She details cleaning your kitchen sink and how to keep it clean. "Shine Your Sink" is her mantra and it really is a great feeling to walk into your kitchen and see that pretty, clean sink with no glass rings or dirty pots in it. Makes you WANT to keep your sink clean, which makes you want to keep the kitchen clean, which makes you want the rest of the house to look like the kitchen....and it just snowballs from there. The only complaint I have (and I admit it is small and a little petty) is some of the cutesy language is a little hard to take after a while. It's bubbly and meant to be positive and encouraging, but I found myself thinking 'enough already'. BUT, as long as it keeps me on the road to a de-cluttered house, I can live with the bubbles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not My Cup of Tea

    Though I find the system, overall, usable... The style of writing in the book and the way she presents it comes across a bit heavy on the religious side. That is not to say that I am not a spiritual person, but come on... is GOD going to come clean my house for me?!? NO! I have to do that for myself, and no amount of "God Breezes" will change that.
    The book she based her system from (Sidetracked Home Executives, available on this site too) is much lighter on that front and a bit more of a "walk-through", not to mention humorous. I found it much easier to work with.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Fantastic!!!

    Great book! Someone told me about this book, which made me pick up a copy and I am truly glad I did! This is the book of home organization for the rest of us! I learned that any kind of housework done 'blesses my home' and that a few focused minutes a day make a huge impact. Want to enjoy your environment at home? Do yourself a favor and read this one soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3