Customer Reviews for

The Sinner (Return of the Highlanders Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Great Read

    'The oar that is close at hand, row with it" is a Gaelic proverb that serves as a rule of thumb in much of the action in The Sinner. Also the seer's prediction of three women that bring danger, deceit, and deep desire to Alex MacDonald plus the gift he receives being brightness itself weave theirs way through this action-packed, emotionally intense tale.

    Alex Ban MacDonald fights with surety, skill, and zeal. He loves a good fight. He is the same about loving the ladies (note the plural). He balks at being "leg shackled". His father reared him to believe that it is in his genes to need many women, that like his father, one woman could never satisfy his sexual appetite. Alex saw his father's blatant infidelity make a virtual battlefield out of marriage. His parents fought like cats and dogs, and Alex wants no part of that kind of life.

    Glynis MacNail, once the wife of the cruel, abusive Magnus Clanrandad, has been humiliated and hurt enough to last a lifetime. She never wants to marry again, but her father wants her to wed to secure an alliance with another clan. Consequently, when men from the MacDonald clan show up to parley, Glynis tries to disguise her beauty. However, fate, destiny, a mischievous fairy, or some such steps in to thwart both Glynis' and Alex's evasive actions.

    She remains steadfast in her determination to stay unwed but says to herself, "What was God thinking, allowing a man to be this handsome?" when she sees Alex. He is a "golden warrior", and looks like a blazing Viking marauder with breathtaking green eyes. He radiates a sensual heat. He is a rogue without question, but has a sense of humor that charms and a storytelling ability that enchants.

    The Sinner is replete with beautiful, expressive metaphors and imagery that awaken all the senses so the reader is pulled into the setting and propelled into the vicious fighting, the furtive planning, and the exquisite love scenes that are breathtaking.

    Margaret Mallory weaves history, superstitions, the plight of women in that era, greed for money and power, and the unique culture of the Scottish Clans into the story, all of which enrich the sparkling love story of Glynis and Alex. She creates strong secondary characters with personalities that add, intrigue, joy, humor, magic, disgust, and terror to the happenings. Two of Alex's past lovers create their share of chaos, each in her own way. However, the little girl Claire that appears in the prologue, a character that I almost forgot, changes priorities for many as she nestles her way into the hearts of most-but not all. To a few she is not wanted, creating intense scenes.

    The hero and the heroine's love shimmer and sizzles with scenes that make the heart sing and sigh with satisfaction. The Sinner is a keeper-a captivating read!

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Excellent read!!! Highly Recommend!!!

    Well written, action-packed, plenty of romance, you can feel the emotions between Alex and Glynis!!!! Love love love this read could not put my nook down!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Emotionally fulfilling and a highly recommended read!

    I¿ve felt, with every story Margaret Mallory writes, a strong emotional bond between the hero and heroine. I know that¿s mandatory for romance, but this author¿s books seem to ratchet it up a few extra notches. The Sinner is no exception. In fact, she has taken two people with strong reasons to dislike marriage and tossed them together in an emotional storm they can¿t deny¿no matter how hard they try. Add in some superb fight scenes and one particularly intense kiss (see pages 31 and 32) and I¿m in love yet again with Ms. Mallory¿s characters. And the teaser about Duncan¿s story has me anxious for the next story in this Highland warrior series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Very Enjoyable...

    Dont worry if you havent read the first book, the story supports itself. This author tells a very good story....and there is plenty of sexual liasons to keep you interested, if thats what your looking for. Looking forward to the next book due in November.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Really Great Read!

    “The Sinner”
    It’s actually the title that lead me to read the book, and sure enough I find myself reading this, just in one sitting. Sure, I’ve read a lot of historical romances, but this is my first time to be faced with a Highland romance.. and I say this definitely blow me up...

    I know this book comes in 4, and that this is the 2nd. I may not be able to compare it to the first, but since this is a stand-alone, I find myself totally engrossed with the story. For me, the book’s plot and intriguing storyline keeps me reading it until the end.

    I love the seer's prediction of three women that bring danger, deceit, and deep desire to Alex MacDonald which weave their way through this action-packed, emotionally-intense tale.

    I really enjoyed reading Alex and Glynis' story. They both grow and learn to love and trust even with their past experiences that led them to believe there’s no real love.
    From the minute I began reading The Sinner, I was absorbed in the story. I can’t believe, but I’m so into this.

    Margaret Mallory wonderfully weaves a story, full of facts and historical figures that is both compelling and thrilling. There’s no dull pace in the story, it’s either full of revelations, fighting scenes, steaming romances, or Alex and Glynis’s constant battle of wills…:D

    As a woman, or should I say a girl, definitely I’m on with Glynis’ side, I could feel the constant nagging thought of Alex’s infidelity, but I came to a point to hate her, when she mistook Alex action, she should have listened to her heart and Alex’s explanation, instead she followed her overflowing jealousy and doubt…( Sorry I get carried away)…. With this, I think Alex is more likable than Glynis..;)

    Don’t get me wrong I love everything about the book, but what I love most, are the Gaelic sayings scattered within, it resembles the characters’ actions and enlightens readers too.

    The book also comes with historical facts at the back pages, stating where some of the characters came from. And also the 3rd book’s excerpt..it really sound promising…

    Full of action, passion, romance, sacrifice, pride, destiny, honor , this book is a must read for any historical-romance lover…

    Ms. Mallory is an author to watch out for…I can’t believe I’ll be snooping again for her other books, but sure I will..:)..I can’t wait to read her future books.. Count me in, I’m one of The Highlanders fan now too!lol

    The Sinner is a delicious book any romance, historical lover would crave for…Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Story With Plenty Romance!

    Margaret Mallory's The Sinner is the second book in the series, The Return of The Highlanders. Although it is part of this wonderful series, it does a great job as a stand alone book as well. I really enjoyed the love story between Alex MacDonald and Glynis McNeil. I found their story sensual, spell binding and overall a fascinating read. Mallory is a wonderful writer and she really brings to life her characters. Alex is a strong, sexy and skillful warrior who has way with women. Glynis is a sensual, smart and refreshing heroine. The combination of the two are what really got me hooked to the story. Mallory does a wonderful job including details to the story that are for the most part accurate to the time, helping the story become tangible and real. My only complaint with this book would be Glynis MacNeil's past. It seems strange for the time period that Glynis would be re-marrying again.This detail did throw me off a bit, but it was easy to overlook it compared to the overall story. I look forward to reading the next book in the series from Margaret Mallory called The Warrior which is set to release in May 2012. It's a shame we have to wait so long!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Loved

    Loved this book could not wait to hear alexs story and it was good better then I thought it could have been

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Enjoyed very much!

    I enjoyed this book very much. I read the story of Ian and couldn't wait to read Alex's story. Well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Get swept away

    Fantastic read! Glad I happened to run across the Highlander series...you will also get swept away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    Great read! I love Alex. I started out of order in the series, b

    Great read! I love Alex. I started out of order in the series, but this is a stand alone. I have read the others since but this is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A must read!

    Alex always had more them his share of beautiful women waiting for his touch until he meet Glynis. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Great series

    This is new series I found- it is a good start. The story was a little slow in the begining but gets much better and the other books in the series are fantastic. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Good!

    The first of this series was great. This one was good. It tied in nicely with the first book. I can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    A must read!!!

    Great. I really like her new series. Can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    great read

    like the first one this book is an easy read and takes you away to the highlands of Scotland. bits of history in it and heros

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an action-packed historical thriller

    In 1515 Lady Glynis MacNeil has one failed marriage to her name and no plans to test those waters again although she prays for a kinder protector than the hag she currently has. Alex MacDonald is a highly regarded warrior who vowed to never marry.

    Her father wants Glynis to have an alliance with his clan so he proposes a marriage between his feisty but obstinate daughter and one of the MacDonald brood. Duncan MacDonald asks his cousin Alex to wed the pox padded Glynis. When he rescues her from pirates, they forge a bond as they trek to safety. Forced to marry, they fall in love, but she distrusts his faithfulness; while her former husband and an enemy of Alex combine their plans to cause trouble for the newlyweds.

    The second Return of the Highlander sixteenth century Scottish romance (see The Guardian) is an action-packed historical thriller. Glynis is a refreshing protagonist as she goes to incredibly excessive lengths to get her point across; but that fascinating trait also slows down the otherwise fast-paced story line as she fails to move passed her beliefs regardless of the counter evidence. Still fans will enjoy The Sinner and his redeemer as this couple is made for each other to the delight of their clans and readers.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3