Customer Reviews for

Sins & Needles

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Seeing how I have a nook and make most of my purchaes through B&

    Seeing how I have a nook and make most of my purchaes through B&N, I thought I'd leave a review here so my fellow nooksters can read another opinion bout Sins & Needles. First lemme say that if anyone is on the fence about purchasing this book, just get it and read it ASAP because you will NOT be disappointed! The main character Ellie is a con artist who has a huge set of female balls. I really thought I was going to dislike her character, but that was so not the case. Is she the perfect role model? Hell no. Does she always choose the right thing to do? Hello no. Is she anxious to meet others expectations and set a good example? Hell no. But maybe that's why I was drawn to her because despite all of her wrongs, she has so many rights. She is strong, independent, witty, sassy, and she is HUMAN! Meaning life is life and some people have to make the best decisions despite their circumstances. And Ellie has had a hard life. Her heart is also in the right place and that comes into play by the end of the story. Now I enjoyed Camden's character too, he knows how to deal with Ellie and he shines in his own special way, buuuut Ellie just steals the spotlight in my eyes. I was drawn to hear immediately and can't wait to see what happens to her and what choices she will make in the next book. This was an awesome read that I'm recommending to all my friends and it's a story that keeps rolling around in my mind because I think all us females have a little bit of Ellie in us- it's just alot of us keep her hidden away. Karina Halle has done an outstanding job telling the tale of girl who never had much of a choice to really pay attention to what her heart was telling her to do until it really, really mattered. And who can't respect that?! I await the continuation to this stellar book! Kudos!!! -- lorraine

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    HOLY FUDGEKNUCKLES!! I have been completely blindsided with thi

    HOLY FUDGEKNUCKLES!!
    I have been completely blindsided with this book.. Just when you think you have things figured out, BAMMM.. Karina switches it up and completely surprises you..Loved how nothing was predictable, or ordinary.. As I read every page it became apparent to me that the whole scenario was playing out in my head as a movie.. Which is an ultimate bonus in my book.. I must say Camden McQueen is sinfully delectable!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Sins & Needles created hype from the moment Karina announced

    Sins & Needles created hype from the moment Karina announced she'll be writing a contemporary romance, then again when the cover was revealed, then again when the first few teasers were released, then again when the book was released, then again when reviews started rolling in, and the hype is still going on and on. I am thrilled I got to be part of it all as both Karina's Cover Artist and one of her Advance Readers.

    Since I'm currently in a reading slump, I don't know if it's because of stress or my lack of time to read. But when I did get a chance to read, I was so glad it was to pick up Sins & Needles. It's one of those books that takes you from your boring reality into another reality that is dark, and gloomy just like a life with no ties, no friends, and no family you can trust, just an illusion of freedom and the faint haunting of your real name keeping you company in the darkest depths of your mind.

    That's the best way to describe Ellie Watt without giving away too much. Ellie Watt is our kickbutt protagonist, she's a con-artist. And she's so unpredictable even her family (meaning her uncle) is wary. Though I felt a connection with her character and loved her bluntness and attitude. I somehow saw more of her weak side. She's lost, scared, lonely, in pain, and so many other things. But there's

    something about Ellie, that makes you wish you could do something to help her.

    Luckily for us, Camden McQueen, her old friend from highschool shows up, transformed from a goth into a hunky, geeky successful tattoo-artist. The moment they were reunited, you begin to feel the tension between them and it doesn't stop there. It continues on until the end of the book. Camden has his own set of ghosts and it's almost as bad as Ellie's.

    Ellie is on the run from her criminal ex-boyfriend, and with that came the car chases, murder, kidnappings, fights, and a whole lot of other rich gang activities. It's frightening, but Ellie keeps it together, well almost. Ellie and Camden has one escape and that's each other. When they're together and being happy, it's almost like they're normal.

    As for the writing style, I'm in awe at how flexible Karina's it is. One moment she's writing about running away and filming all the paranormal stuff that happens to people, the next she's writing about being on the road in a band tour bus and now, she's writing about being a con-artist on the run. Karina, I know you'll be reading this, and right now... I'm bowing down to your brilliance. You never cease to amaze your readers.

    Overall, Sins & Needles is one roller coaster ride filled with plot twists, unpredictability and a whole lot of jaw dropping moments, including the giant cliffhanger at the ending. If I could, I would send this book to all big movie productions, in hopes that it'll be read and be turned into an awesome movie production. Talk about climbing ladders! I think Karina skipped a few steps because this book is by far one of the best contemporary romances I've ever read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Like it

    I enjoyed the story line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Not your typical...

    Love story, but a love story nonetheless. Ellie and Camden's story will keep your head-shaking, heart-breaking, and toes-curling to the very end. Well worth the money. Only draw back? Waiting for more Ellie or Eden, Camden or Connor!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Loved it, cant wait til the next one comes out!!

    Ditto

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    My favorite Karina Halle book to date!

    Great characters and story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Wonderful Book

    This book was truly a wonderful read. I at first worried about being able to like a con woman as the heroine but was pleasntly suprised by how much i ended up liking her. All the characters in this book are real. They do not conform to an image if what you think the charcter is or who they are. They are real and alive breathing heartbreak and real emotion in every breath. I am actually truly excited about javier the villian in thus book. From the way the authir has set up her charcters i am hoping to see him in a diffrent light..wuth thus authir anything is possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    I really enjoyed this. Well written, good storyline and interesting characters. Great ending, I love a good cliffhanger, can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve wanted to read this book for a while since I first saw it o

    I’ve wanted to read this book for a while since I first saw it on my recommendation list and glad that I finally got the chance to do so. I had a feeling I was going to like this one because its right up my alley since I have a soft spot of messed up characters. And I was right. I love it!
    Ellie grew up with con artists as parent naturally ended up as one herself. After years in the business she finally decided (and hoping it would stick) to go legit. She chose to go back to where she grew up hoping no one will recognize/remember her anymore.

    She went to a coffee shop to apply for a job only to bump into Camden, her old high school friends. Camden who was once a high school resident goth, now a hot successful tattoo artist.
    Being her only friend when she was in school, she decided to give Camden her time by hanging out with him. As much as he liked him and wanted to go straight, her inner grifting tendency won out and she decided to scam Camden. Things didn’t go as planned and soon a foiled robbery ended up with them going on a run together when her past finally caught up to her

    I love that this book had a good balance of romance, action, suspense and humor. It kept me on my toes and gripped me from the beginning. I love that the POV shifted between the present (first person – female) and the past (third person). It made it easier to distinguish the time frame.

    I love both Ellie and Camden. Ellie grew up as a swindler and it was all she knew to do her whole life. She did some horrible things to people Camden included, but I adore her because she was so endearing and amusing.

    As for Camden, I love that he had his own secret and demons to run from. I love how much she cared about Ellie yet he had that little darkness in him that instill fear and question his trustworthiness.

    This is my first Karina Halle book and I’m loving her writing already.
    -Warhawke's Vault Book Blog-
    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2014

    Sins & Needles is a book that I've wanted to read for a very

    Sins & Needles is a book that I've wanted to read for a very long time, drawn not only to the very intriguing synopsis but to the cover as well, I was extremely excited to have a chance to read and review this amazing book with that ending that has me desperate to get onto the next book straight away.




    This is a contemporary romance that you won't soon forget, featuring a con artist heroine Ellie and a sexy badass tattooist Camden, both damaged and angry, each with issues, former high school friends who share sizzling hot chemistry.




    When Ellie attempts to rob Camden and gets caught she's blackmailed into helping him with a problem thatis right up her alley, but Ellie's past is about to catch up to her in a big way and Camden will find himself caught up in the middle.




    The flashbacks to Ellie's past show us a greater insight into the history of  her mistake that cost her Camden's friendship, we also get glimpses into her former relationship with Javier and how and why she came to be on the run from him.




    There are just so many things to love about this story, great characters, fantastic plot, the writing is so good and the story is just exceptional, this is the first of Karina's books that I've ever read but it certainly won't be the last.




    So while I ponder on why it took me so long to pick this book up, I highly recommend that those who like their romances with a bit of action thrown in with characters you won't soon forget to give this a go, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Very good...

    What a rush! This was my first read from Ms. Halle and I enjoyed every page. I want to say that it dragged a bit at times but it really didn't because each chapter whether past or present was very crucial to the story, plus she didn't linger in the past like some authors do, she just gave us enough information to keep us in the know.

    I enjoyed Ellie's character but the adult Ellie not the teen Ellie, because the teen Ellie needed to get clocked in the face for being a hypocrite and turning on Camden the way she did...that was wrong on so many levels! Speaking of Camden, was he bipolar? I swear that boy's attitude and demeanor scared the crap out of me at times but after everything he went through in high school, with his father, as an adult with his ex wife's family, I guess he's entitled to act a bit crazy... Him and Ellie sort of compliment each other in a weird co-dependent, freaky, angry, sexual chemistry way....

    Overall, great start to what looks to be a promising series...FYI: ENDS ON A MAJOR CLIFFHANGER! BE PREPARED TO GO BUY NEXT BOOK IN SERIES!

    SR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It's been well over a month since I finished this book and I sti

    It's been well over a month since I finished this book and I still don't even know how to write this review. My mind is still all over the place after this wild ride. Full confession: I just finished the third and final book in the series a couple days ago and I *still* can't form coherent thoughts. When I think about this series, which I'm doing a lot because it rocked my world THAT much, all I can think is single words. Most of them are of the four-letter variety that Amazon won't allow in a review. Yep, this book... this series... is THAT good.

    It's difficult to pinpoint what I loved so much about this book because there are so many things that pop to mind immediately. First, it was completely unlike the books I generally read. I'm used to flawed characters, secrets, lies, manipulation, passion and redonkulously steamy sex scenes, but I don't typically read books about drug cartels and *real* con artists. I'm accustomed to tattooed bad boys with hearts of gold (and not!) but nothing prepared me for Camden. This isn't the first book with an unlikable main female character, but Ellie still stood out. Then there's the writing. Good God, Karina Halle knows how to write a story. This book was intense, action-filled and passionate, but it also came with a fair amount of emotions I didn't think I would be experiencing. By the end, I was as broken as the characters.

    The characters were complex and layered and bucked the stereotypes. They were so complicated. Like I said, I didn't love Ellie right away. I grew to love her over the course of the book however. She's a con artist and she's good at what she does. When she returns to her hometown and finds super successful Camden, her friend and crush from high school, she can't help herself. She sees money and wants it. What begins as a huge con turns into so much more. Camden was so f***ing sexy and sweet, I was furious with Ellie for trying to manipulate him. Their love seemed so real, I couldn't understand why she would want to throw it away. I wanted to reach into the pages and shake her. But then, come to find out, Camden isn't quite as perfect as I thought. They're both harboring secrets and they were imperfectly perfect together.

    If you're like me and you've seen this book around, but put off reading it for some reason, don't put it off anymore. I could kick myself for waiting so long to read it. Of course, I didn't have to sweat out the wait between books because all three of them had been published by the time I started the series. That's a huge bonus because, holy crap, I wanted to dive into the next book as soon as I finished this one.

    Oh, and one more thing. Team Camden. Absolutely no question.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    great book

    I would love to find more books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sins & Needles is the first book in The Artists Trilogy by a

    Sins & Needles is the first book in The Artists Trilogy by author Karina Halle. The trilogy includes the following novels (in the order published):
    #1 Sins & Needles
    #0.5 On Every Street
    #2 Shooting Scars
    #3 Bold Tricks

    As noted in the book synopsis, the female lead character is Ellie Watts who was raised and trained in the grifting lifestyle. In this story, she is coming back to her home town with a goal of turning legit. Sins & Needles is written in her perspective. The male lead character is Camden McQueen who she shared a friendship/connection with in high school until social and emotional turmoil caused a rift between them. Ellie can't seem to escape the consequences of her past from all directions and her mind automatically falls into the routine of grifting again when the pressure is put on to support herself legitamately. She is not "the victim" in this story but the reader gets a clear understanding of how she became the way she is; how she has been programmed to function in order to survive. In her viewpoint, "I'm not bad. The world is bad and I'm just trying to survive in it.” This story sucked me in and the 438 pages flew by effortlessly. Sins & Needles is a contemporary story with dark themes. It is sexy, suspenseful, angry, and sad, with some action including an awesome car chase scene. I think all the other books on my "to read" list will have to wait while I finish devouring this series!

    My favorite quotes:
    “Not that it was a crazy complicated skill, but operating an espresso machine during high traffic could be added to my repertoire along with card tricks and how to fire a Colt .45."

    “'Is the gun really necessary?' 'No,' he admitted. 'It's just fun to have one.' 'Like an extra penis,' I mused. He smiled unkindly. 'Something like that.'”

    “Do you think because you can’t see my scars that they don’t exist? That's the trouble with pain, Ellie. If you're lucky, you can wear it for all the world to see. Most people have their pain deep inside them, in places no one ever goes. Not until it’s too late.”

    “I have to live with my mistakes, but I don’t have to regret them. I regret my actions but I can’t regret the consequences. We all make our own paths in life. Everyone we meet, everything we do, it changes us. It makes us who we are. And, if we’re lucky, we’re given the chance to make things right again.”

    “You can find art and beauty in everything, if you look hard enough.”

    "He'd been mine once. He'd broken my heart once. And he was here to kill me. He only needed to do that once, too.”

    "What happens to love when it turns to hate? Was this it? Did it turn to death?"

    Grifting: a group of methods for obtaining money falsely through the use of swindles, frauds, dishonest gambling, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Awesome!

    Amazing author! You won't be disappointed! I can't wait until October when the 4th book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Kept me up all night.  It was worth it.

    Kept me up all night.  It was worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Great book

    I could not put this down! Can't wait for the sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    LOVED THESE BOOKS!!!!

    I read both On Every Street and Sins andNeedles. I loved the storyline! Eventhough I'm sure everyone hated Javier, I liked his persistence, and I cant wait to read book 2!!! I loved Ellie, she is a survivor! I justhope the second book is not long in coming out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    8 (yes 8) Stars! If you have yet to read anything by Karina Hal

    8 (yes 8) Stars!

    If you have yet to read anything by Karina Halle, I would suggest Sins & Needles as a starting point. Unless you are a youngin' then this one is not for you, 18+ please. Halle has a talent for creating characters that are deeply flawed, utterly unique and incredibly readable. It is a talent that brilliantly shines through in Sins & Needles.

    Ellie will have you loving her yet screaming at her throughout the book. She is tough and brave yet incredibly insecure at the same time. You feel for her and the trauma she's been through but her decision making skills will have you pulling your hair out. She's had a rough go of life and is always looking for an easy mark to scam whatever it is she needs. It's a talent learned from her parents during a childhood of conning anyone they crossed paths with. An extreme situation landed her at her uncle's farm during her teen years. Now, years later, she's returned to the farm in hopes of a fresh start.

    Camden knew Ellie, as much as anyone ever could anyway, during her high school years. He too is back in town trying a different life and running from his own personal demons. Ellie falling back into his path should be happy circumstance; but when two troubled and damaged people collide, happy doesn't really have a chance.

    Camden is the local wierdo-goth-boy turned tattooed hottie. He's grown out of his awkwardness but not his obsessions. He comes off as such a sweet and nice guy to start but boy...screw with this guy and you see a whole other side. His extremes work for him, make him more intriguing by bringing out a dangerous vulnerability.

    Their pasts are catching up to them both and when these two team up it turns into one thrilling adventure with an ending that will have you screaming for the next chapter.

    There is no sweet fluffiness here, if that is what you look for in a book ~ look elsewhere. Here you will only find a dark and secretive thrill ride with betrayal abound. Sins & Needles is unlike anything I've read before. It's deadly sexy, thoroughly exhilarating and absolutely engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2