Customer Reviews for

Sins of the Father

Average Rating 3.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Stop reading the detailed reviews. When you post a negative comm

Stop reading the detailed reviews. When you post a negative comment & give the author a low rating, it harms the books image. I'm not saying that I agree with people that posts spoilers; however, you're no better for what you do. I purposely do not read those excess...
Stop reading the detailed reviews. When you post a negative comment & give the author a low rating, it harms the books image. I'm not saying that I agree with people that posts spoilers; however, you're no better for what you do. I purposely do not read those excessively long reviews before I purchase & read a book because I know that they have spoilers. Why not consider doing that.

posted by JGRWriter on August 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

63 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

O

There is no need to get this free friday book noe thanks to harriet klausner and her cadre of plot spoiling reviewers. They ruined the book. Come on ppl. Dont go to all the trouble of downliading it, just read the plot spoilers. They tell you the entire story. Bn, when ...
There is no need to get this free friday book noe thanks to harriet klausner and her cadre of plot spoiling reviewers. They ruined the book. Come on ppl. Dont go to all the trouble of downliading it, just read the plot spoilers. They tell you the entire story. Bn, when will you ever do anything to put a stop to harriet klausner and her posse of plot spoilers? They ruin books. And before some smart aleck says dont read them...i dont, but when you have to scroll past yards and yards of posts, its inevitable that you see something that spoils the story. Besides it is a term of service violation.

posted by 8888649 on August 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly recommend!!!

    Excellent read. You will enjoy this one.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Interesting...

    Few typo errors, but overall pretty good...

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    What We Deserve

    When Angela Benson put on her blog the cover of Sins of the Father, and asked her readers to guess what the book is about based on the cover and the title, I obviously had no clue. My guess was of a child paying for coming in contact with the things her father did before and having to deal with it in order to overcome an issue of her own. I was partially right, but mostly wrong. It does not matter because I truly enjoyed the book anyway.

    I remember hearing a saying that parents should watch what they say or do because their children or future grandchildren would be the ones to pay for their mistakes. In Sins of the Father, everyone involved paid for the mistakes made by Abraham Martin, the father, thirty years before. Abraham had three children, but he openly acknowledged only the son he had with his wife, Saralyn. When Abraham tries to make things right, and bring together Michael and Deborah, the children he ignored, with Isaac, the son he raised proudly, he gets more than what he hoped for. Would any of his children ever forgive him for his past mistakes? Can they come together as one big dysfunctional family? Or will he lose all he had and ever wanted?

    Benson developed characters that I could easily see myself coming in contact with on a daily basis. I could envision myself as Isaac (yes, I know he is a male and I am not). He reminds me of myself and how I think. The emotions of all the characters are believable. I will admit I did not like the way the book ended, but I understand it. Benson's ending was more realistic and a better one unlike my fairytale dream of an ending. I know Benson writes in the Christian-fiction genre, but Sins of the Father did not read like a Christian-fiction book. It read more like contemporary fiction with a hint of religion. There was no over abundance of preaching that tends to bore some readers. With the good plot and the well-developed characters, I recommend Sins of the Father to readers who enjoy contemporary and Christian fiction.

    Jennifer Coissiere
    APOOO BookClub

    14 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not afraid to answer the tough questions

    She has done it again. Angela deals with hard issues, she doesn't back down from anything! In "Up Pops the Devil" her main character is a man just released from prison after serving 2 years for dealing drugs. In "Sins of the Father" we get to meet Abraham, his wife Saralyn and his son Isaac with his wife Rebecca (sound familiar?). Abraham is a VERY successful media mogul that has a secret... or rather HAD a secret. Oh, yes, he has a second family that he has only just acknowledged. That's right, a son and daughter that are adults now and Abraham decides he needs to make everything right.

    But can you really do that after a lifetime of neglect? And what about the damage to his wife and son? Can Abraham pull them all together and restore everyone to their rightful places? And what about when something happens to Abraham? What does it take to really forgive?

    I said that Angela isn't afraid to ask the tough questions, and she's not. She's also not afraid to answer them. I love Angela's style and her substance. I will read any book that she writes, I am impressed!

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What Would You Do

    In the drama-filled book, Sins of the Father, by Angela Benson, the reader will be engrossed in reading what happens, once Abraham Martin decides to "publically" acknowledge his children by a former girl friend 30 years after he walked out of their lives to marry Saralyn to help advance his business ambitions.

    This change-of-heart came about after finding a soul-awaking letter from his deceased mother urging him to do the right thing and form a relationship with daughter, Deborah, and son, Michael, before it is too late. Since business and financial success is all that he knows, Abraham decides to make amends the only way he knows, to give Deborah and Michael ownership in his company. As a man used to making decisions, Abraham puts his plan into action, but a health crisis has him wondering if he waited too late to make amends.

    In the meantime, each of the characters will have to decide what Abraham's decision means to them. Daughter, Deborah who readily accepts her father and his offer to run one of his business units, wonders if her happiness will now cost her relationship with brother Michael. Michael now wonders how this plan will affect his plans for revenge to financially ruin his father. Their mother, Leah, wonders if she is worthy of the love of the new man in her life and can she move on from the abandonment she suffered for so many years. Wife, Saralyn wonders if all of her sacrifices over the years were for nothing and Isaac, the heir now has a personal crisis that he wonders if it is worth resolving.

    I enjoyed this story as there was always more than met the eye and it kept me turning the pages as I wondered how this family was to resolve their issues of betrayal, rage and love for each other and to themselves. I recommend this book to readers who enjoy stories with themes of redemption, forgiveness and love within a family.

    Reviewed By Beverly
    APOOO BookClub
    July 12, 2009

    9 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    All My Children

    When Abraham Martin publicly acknowledged his two children, Michael and Deborah, after ignoring them for 30 years, he expected them to easily acclimate into his world. He offered them access to his multimillion dollar business empire, a gesture that could be a serious mistake. While Deborah, who always appeared to be searching for a father figure, accepted Abraham's gesture, Michael could not put aside his anger and vowed to destroy Abraham. In Angela Benson's newest novel, Sins of the Father, Abraham's revelation and the subsequent consequences makes for a drama-filled read with many twists and turns.

    Abraham knew his wife, Saralyn, would not be accepting of his "other" family, but he did not anticipate the lengths she would go to protect her son's, position as the first born son. Her animosity towards Michael, Deborah and Leah only added fuel to the raging fire between the families. Then, a medical crisis caused all the family members to look within themselves and decide if they actually liked what they saw. Can or will they put aside their differences and help save the life of a loved one?

    I have always thought of Angela Benson as a Christian-fiction author. In this novel, she steps back and offers a more contemporary, drama-filled novel. I was interested in the plot, and kept turning the pages to find out what was going to happen next, however, I just could not muster up any empathy for the characters. Sins of the Father is a good read for those who enjoy family sagas with a lot of drama. I would recommend this novel for your summertime reading list.

    Jeanette
    APOOO BookClub
    Motown Review Book Club

    8 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    Karma Has A Way

    Abraham Martin is a successful media mogul, heading an empire with humble beginnings tied to his wife, Saralyn's, family. Abraham and Saralyn's only son, Isaac, is their only child and sole heir, or so he thinks. Enter Leah, Deborah and Michael, Abraham Martin's "other" family, and all hell breaks loose. The Martin family ties are on shaky ground and so is MEEG, the media and entertainment conglomerate that has sustained Abraham, Saralyn and Isaac for years. Now adults, Abraham attempts to reconcile the relationships with his "outside" children and their mother, Leah. Abraham Martin quickly learns that he cannot please everyone, especially his wife, Saralyn, and his stepson, Michael.

    Author, Angela Benson, adds twists and turns to the story that will leave the reader wondering just how things will pan out for this blending family. Sins of the Father deals with marital and familial issues, the affects of absent fathers on their children, and allows readers to examine the morals and values of each character. I was happy to see a burgeoning relationship between Abraham, Isaac and Deborah by the end of the story. Admittedly, Ms. Benson left me hanging with Saralyn and Michael's characters. I do wonder if they will ever come to a meeting of the minds. I also am uncertain about the future of MEEG.

    This was a good read. The book flowed well for me and I'd read another selection from this author.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Family Drama

    When I bought this book I thought it was a religious book. What a surprise. The characters are great and the author puts you right into the action. This book about family problems is quite a read. We must always be careful of what we do because our actions affect our children. The father messed up big time...quick read. Enjoy I know I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Very easy read

    Great book, easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I put the book down only when I had something that needed to be done and read the book in a day. Thanks B&N for making this a free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    WOW!!!! I really loved this book! The unexpected twists and tu

    WOW!!!! I really loved this book! The unexpected twists and turns, the way that Ms. Benson develops her characters, and the way she weaves multiple story lines with ease kept me turning the pages. The only reason that I didn't give it 5-stars is because the book wasn't predicable until the last couple of chapters....almost like she was on a deadline to end the book now. But honestly, it was still a really great read that I thoroughly enjoyed while on vacation. I'd even read it again if the mood hits me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Great read

    I found this to be an enjoyable book, well written and interesting characters. Thanks free fridays fo giving us this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Good Book

    I really liked this book except for the ending. I want to see what happens to each couple. Please write Sins of the Father II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    A Convoluted Tale of a Dysfunctional Family

    It was difficult to find any one of the family members profiled and followed throughout this story worthy of our admiration. Nearly all of them involved in this wild tale had faults and warts enough to write off as minor characters, or as scheming opportunists looking to cash in on a family upheaval. Yet the whole story held our interest as things seemed to develop from bad to worse for each member of the group (except for the one lawyer who, in my humble opinion, managed to skate through it al relatively unscathed). A wealthy and successful man tries 30 years too late to right a wrong, and learns to his dismay and that of all of his wife and kids and former mistress that it can get very hot in Atlanta!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Good Book

    I purchased this book on my Nook. It makes for a pretty good read. I was uncertain in the beginning if it could hold my attention, but it did. It is one of those books that you keep reading to find out what happens next. It is about 2 families and how their lives are linked together and what happens when each family finds out about the other..
    I recommend it.
    It's not a thriller or anything but a book that definately holds your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Recommend

    I truly enjoyed this book. It is thought provoking, parts are sad, parts are funny. I will read more of this author's writing. Thanks for the good choice for "Free Friday".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    If you like some family intrigue, check this one out.

    Although I have not finished this book at this writing , it is keeping me interested. The writer has captured the reader's attention with the family's secrets and resulting animosity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great read - very engaging

    It took me a few paragraphs to realize the familys with the haves and have not were African American. I took it as quite a twist with the characters. Portions were a little predictable but still a good read. I'm hoping for a sequel, wishing the story continues...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    good book, recommend for a rainy day

    Quick read about a father trying to finally do the right thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    First time reading anything by this author. A very well writte

    First time reading anything by this author. A very well written story. Almost like watching a movie. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4