Customer Reviews for

Sippy Cups Are Not for Chardonnay: And Other Things I Had to Learn as a New Mom

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

A must-read for all new moms! The honesty is refreshing and most new mother's will related to what the author is going through.

posted by 4716826 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I want to like it, buts it's so inaccurate and negative about breastfeeding. Most of the writing is down to earth and funny.

I thought for sure I would love this book. And actually I really want to love this book because Stefanie is so funny, crass and down to earth. Not to mention it got some really great reviews. Almost every page made me actually laugh out loud hysterically. MY problem wit...
I thought for sure I would love this book. And actually I really want to love this book because Stefanie is so funny, crass and down to earth. Not to mention it got some really great reviews. Almost every page made me actually laugh out loud hysterically. MY problem with this book is I really don't like the way she handled the breastfeeding and doula chapter. Which was chapter 2 I believe, kind of jaded the whole thing for me. "whether you breastfeed or not, you need to be prepared to encounter the Tit Terrorists" or "If you are going to breastfeed, take lesson from experienced folk:You and your baby should work out a 'safe' word to deal with this kind of self imposed pain" And other things like "If you want to stop breastfeeding you must never call the LLL, they keep you on the line for a creepy amount of time and you almost think they are trying to trace the call to dispatch a lactation consultant right over" That said, if it wasn't for that chapter I would absolutely LOVE this book and give it to all my pregnant friends. I don't have anything against people who choose formula but, I just don't think something that portrays breastfeeding so inaccurately and negatively is something I would give to a first time mama.

posted by candleofthought on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    This was an awesome book. I am newly pregnant and truthfully was getting sick of information overload from pregnancy books. Stefanie is so witty and funny and really tells you straight. Obviously I haven't gone through childbirth yet, but I'm actually looking forward to it. She made it more funny and less intimidating. Even if you're not pregnant, have no intentions of becoming a parent, or have been a parent for years, this is a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    A must-read for all new moms! The honesty is refreshing and most new mother's will related to what the author is going through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Love this book

    One of the best books i have ever read . Stefanie puts into words what so many new moms like me are hoping are true facts. I love her sense of humor and found it very refreshing to read about another woman's journey into motherhood who doesn't take life too seriously. I was actually disappointed toward the end because i wanted it to keep going! I immediately purchased her next book regarding toddlers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Love it

    A funny read for new moms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    i LOVED it

    i thought it was absoulutely hiliarious! it was all about stuff that you wish you really could do when you have kids, but you know you never would. i just sat there and read it and laughed out loud! This isn't an advice book, just a fun to read and relate book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    What a great book. I couldn't put it down and read it cover to cover in one day. The entire book was hilarious but also contained great advice that is real-life practical and useful. I think I've found a new 'congrats you're pregnant' and baby shower gift! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Erma Bombeck passes the torch!

    My daughter was having the baby blues and I thought that The Grass is always Greener over the Septic Tank by Erma Bombeck would lift her spirits, but unfortunately what was relevant 30 years ago doesn't quite relate to the modern woman. I bought Sippy Cup for her based soley on the clever title and my choice was excellent. She called me hysterically laughing and began reading sections to me. What I learned from Bombeck, my daughter is learning from Wilder-Taylor. To hear her laugh again and be able to put her own life in perspective, is a joy. I would recommend this book to the entire new generation of mothers. They will laught until they cry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    Funny and Fun

    This book is a fun read. It's relief from all the other pregnancy and motherhood prep books I was reading while going through my first pregnancy. I received it as a gift from one of my girlfriends and read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I dont think there was a page in this book that didnt make me laugh hysterically and/or exclaim, 'That's sooooo true!!!' I am not one to write reviews for these types of things, but I've made an exception in this case. There isn't a baby book out there (that I've found, and I've read them all) that tells it like it is, and in such an entertaining way..... The book is brutally honest (which is very refreshing), sarcastic, touching and very real. I've never read about a baby experience that so closely resembled my own. Stafanie is my hero :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Loved it!

    A hilarious take on entering into the world of motherhood. I find it rare to laugh out loud at a book and was very hesitant when a friend gave me this book because I thought most of these comedic motherhood books would be too cheesy and I wouldn't relate... BUT this was definitely an exception. I think the best comedy is when someone clearly articulates what we've secretly been thinking or worrying about. The author does this perfectly. I drove my husband crazy reading excerpts aloud from this book. I will send this to every pregnant friend I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    Hilarious and Very True!

    I loved this book. The author comments on every aspect of new motherhood with humor and realistic viewpoints. Her stories brought me joy and relief to know that everyone else has been feeling the same way I felt as a new mom. Very reassuring and much needed comic relief for those stressful times throughout motherhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1